1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OC Q6600 on 790i FTW

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by surfsk8snow.jah, Jun 20, 2011.

1. surfsk8snow.jah

surfsk8snow.jah

Thanks Received:
    Hey guys,

So with a lot of good advice from TPU'ers, I got my system back up after a mobo crash. Now time to OC :cool: (This is my first actual OC attempt on any system btw).

System Specs in Signature - IC7 between TRUE & CPU

I could use a little advice, as this is my first time OC'ing, although I think I did pretty well. After much research, 2hours, and multiple iterations of upping voltage, then fsb, then dropping voltage, I got the following to run stable on this last iteration with Prime95 no errors for 24min (and counting) :

CPU Freq, 2.4MHz: overclocked to 3.6 GHZ (50% OC seems awesome to me)
    FSB (QDR), MHz: 1600
    FSB - Memory Clock Mode: [linked]
    FSB - Memory Ratio: Sync mode
    Actual FSB (QDR), MHz: 1600
    x MEM (DDR), MHz: 1600
    Actual MEM (DDR), MHz: 1600
    CPU Multiplier: [x 9]
    **System Voltages**
    WithoutVDroop
    CPU Core: [1.400]
    CPU FSB: [1.35]
    Memory: [1.9]

Avg/Max Temps Under Load From Core Temp [Core0,Core1,Core2,Core3]: [67/72, 65/72, 57/59, 57/59]
    IDLE Temps: [45-50, 45-48, 37-45, 37-45]
    The TempDelta on those Cores of over 10C seems a little high to me... is this normal? How do these temps look overall?

Also, with Prime95, as of current test, the cores are at very different progress levels [14 Tests , 7 Tests, 3 Tests, 20 Tests] -- This discrepancy seems odd as well, most especially that Core 3 is stuck on 3rd test for 20min. Just stopped tests and 0 errors, 0 warnings, but still odd. Thoughts?