1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Occasionally computer 'hangs' on startup?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Huxley2k7, Jun 16, 2007.

  1. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Hey guys,

    Its me again, coming round for my 100th question! Anyway, i hadn't thought of this as such a big problem, since it occurs occasionally and hasn't seemed to be doing any harm. Basically, sometimes i can turn my computer on or restart it, and the screen will hang at the 'Gigabyte' screen with the logo. My motherboard is a Gigabyte 965P DS3. This has happened since i've had this computer, a month or so now. Anyone got any ideas?

    Operating System: Windows XP Pro - Service Pack 2
    Motheroard: Gigabyte GA-965P DS3 Bios F10
    Graphics Card: SAPPHIRE_Radeon X1900XT 512MB - Stock Speeds.
    Processor:Intel E6600 Duel Core - Stock speeds.
    RAM: 2X 1GB sticks, 2084 MB Crucial Ballistix 800Mhz ram.
    Hard Drive: 80 Gigabyte MAXTOR 6L080M0 (SATA)
    Power Supply: Hiper Technology Type R(Blue) - 580 Continuous Wattage.

    Thanks a lot,

    Hux.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Have you tried updating to the newest BIOS?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    There are 2 updates available which don't really do anything for me;

    F12: Add support for new super IO version

    F11: Fix PCI-E overclock issue
    Support Intel E6420 & E6320 CPU

    Do you think i should get them? I'm a little hazey when it comes to Bios updating, mainly because i have only ever done it once. :rolleyes:

    Any other ideas mate? Thanks for the reply, i appreciate it!

    Hux.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Most BIOS updates address minor bugs as well, but they don't mention them. I say flash to the newest BIOS.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    614 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    i have the same motherboard and have had the same issue at times. i have a 6420 so i flashed to F11. The system only seems to hang when i try to overclock the cpu by raising the FSB. As a temporary fix i just leave the cpu at stock speeds.

    I think i can blame the problem on my somewhat underpowered PSU. it only runs at 420W and im using a 20to24 pin adaptor for my motherboard. So i can see how OCing could stress it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    But everything i have is at stock speeds, nothing is overclocked or tampered with. It's done this ever since i got it a month or so ago. Also, sometimes when i turn the PC on, all the lights and stuff light up and turn on, then it all turns off again, then all turns on again and goes to windows. Is that like a safety feature or something?

    P.S - Where can i find a guide for flashing my Mobo's bios? I couldnt find anything on the manufacturers site.

    Cheers,

    Hux.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    I think your board comes with the @BIOS softare (on the cd) This allows you to flash through Windows which is great if you're nervous about it.

    You can also download @BIOS from their website
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Thats awesome since i think the bios update i downloaded is a simple exe file. Shall i just run it? Will there be any possible consequences?

    Hux.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    shouldnt a bios update be a .ROM file...?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I got that file which is attached - FLASH895.exe

    And another two files; autoexec (MS-DOS Batch File)
    965PDS3.F11 (F11 File)

    Will i need to just run the exe?
     

    Attached Files:

    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    im pretty sure that your supposed to (if your flashing bios in windows) run the gigabyte bios updater program (@bios?) and it will tell you what file it needs to update the bios. If its anything like the asus bios program it will check the bios before updating it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. TooFast New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    391 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    montreal quebec
    i have the same problem???
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,193 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    I'm assuming you have a speaker and are getting a normal POST beep when it works..

    Do you get a POST beep when it hangs? and does it use a fullscreen image? Try disabling it to see the detailed screen hidden behind.

    Also, is there a PATTERN?

    I.e. cold boot every time the first time? Or warm reset? etc etc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    I can be both, cold boot or warm reset. Randomly happens. I dont hear any beeping as far as i remember, it just sticks at the boot screen with the Gigabyte logo.

    Hux.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,193 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Visually inspect all of your capacitors. They should all be level on the top..

    [​IMG]

    Those can cause something like this if they are warped/exploding..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Sorry to sound a more of a noob but which ones are the capacitors? :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,193 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Huxley2k7

    Huxley2k7

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    457 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Thankyou matey you've been a big help and i appreciate it! :D

    I'll check those out tomorrow after college, if they are actually okay and there's no problems there, ill run the Bios update utility and see if that helps. Then i just gotta wait for the startup to hang to find out if it worked - i'll let you know how i get on.

    For now though, good night!

    Cheers,

    Hux.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Im not sure about the specifics on this but its something to consider.

    With my xp, the driver for the DVD drive was dodgy.
    Not only did this stop the DVD drive operating in Windows, but it caused considerable lag on boot. Im not exactly sure what stage drivers are loaded at boot, but if they are loadingf at that time, a dodgy driver might be something you want to look into...

    I had to physically remove the drive to prevent lag on boot - which cut boot up time from 3 minutes to around 25 seconds. I think that it has something to do with the OS waiting for the driver which doesnt load, causing a timeout in which you have to wait a pre defined amount of time before the rest of the system loads.

    I might be talking out of my ass here, because im not very well knowledged on software and the like, but i DO know that my DVD Drive wasnt at fault for the lag I got at boot, so it HAD to be software related... So definately give that some thought :)

    Essay over.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,193 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    Oh yeah.

    Sometimes a failing drive can cause hanging like this too. Or bad jumpers. (wrongly set)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)