• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OCCT says error on 8700k even when mobo is at full stock default settings

Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#1
normal? i let it run 2 hours, was fine for around 1 hour in.

temps are great less than 65 celsius on all cores.


should i just ignore this?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,407 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,572
Location
AK, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X - all cores 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) XFX RS RX 480 GPU @ 1288 MHz - 1.040 mV from 1.175 | GDDR5 @ 2075 MHz
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) IP2362 OCed refresh rate - 76Hz (Freesync supported over HDMI with CRU)
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 (dead)
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire FPS
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#2
Did the mobo turn on MultiCore Enhancement by chance? My Asus Z97 always turned it on if you touched the XMP option.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,841 (4.12/day)
Likes
6,921
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#3

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,198 (5.62/day)
Likes
7,358
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
When is the last time it was updated?

Get yourself hardware monitor by CPUID (CPU-Z creator)

Get yourself Blender and the Ryzen Module here follow those directions.

https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/...zen-blender-benchmarks-at-200-samples.228686/

Get 7zip and a large compressed file, set 7zip to utilize all cores and threads.

Get Unigen Heaven/Valley.

Get the Latest 3DMark tool.

1. Have Hardware Monitor on Screen.
2. Run Ryzen Blender with those settings. If it completes successfully post your Voltages and temperatures here. If it freezes then a voltage might be too low, for my 8350 it was vcore at one point.
Post hardware monitor screenshot.

3. Run 7zip and decompress a large zip or 7z file, then compress it, with max cores/threads. Have hardware monitor open. Post images. If it freezes, check settings.

4 Run unigen tests and 3dmark. No freezes you are ok.

If everything doesnt freeze/bsod, ignore occt.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#5
Did the mobo turn on MultiCore Enhancement by chance? My Asus Z97 always turned it on if you touched the XMP option.

Yes, it is on. 4700 and no downclocking by default.

So do I just ignore the error?

@Solaris17 ty I will run it now. looks like I can just ignore the error message though, since i guess maybe it is normal if turbo boost is on
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,407 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,572
Location
AK, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X - all cores 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) XFX RS RX 480 GPU @ 1288 MHz - 1.040 mV from 1.175 | GDDR5 @ 2075 MHz
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) IP2362 OCed refresh rate - 76Hz (Freesync supported over HDMI with CRU)
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 (dead)
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire FPS
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#6
You said full stock default settings in the thread title so that got me wondering. Anyways your overclocking, have you tried without MCE? I only asked because you could running be into instability that OCCT is picking up on.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#7
You said full stock default settings in the thread title so that got me wondering. Anyways your overclocking, have you tried without MCE? I only asked because you could running be into instability that OCCT is picking up on.
thanks mate. will turn off xmp, and MCE, and let it OCCT run over night, if no issues then i will turn on MCE but leave XMP off, see what happens. if clear then I know its the ram, if not then i will keep going down the list, and try no MCE but XMP on
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#8
OCCT passed 12 hour run at 5ghz -2 avx 1.39v and offset of +0.40. I never had an offset before until now, so I guess it just needed a little more voltage, heh.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,932 (0.47/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
TEXAS
System Name It's broken right now
#9
OCCT passed 12 hour run at 5ghz -2 avx 1.39v and offset of +0.40. I never had an offset before until now, so I guess it just needed a little more voltage, heh.
That's degradation at work friend. It will slowly want more voltage over a year or two. Just the price you pay for more mghz
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#10
That's degradation at work friend. It will slowly want more voltage over a year or two. Just the price you pay for more mghz
doubt it, lot of factors involved. my 2500k was 4,8ghz 24/7/365 for over 5 years. and still runs great at same everything in bios. its stable now, i just was doing something wrong and/or the MIS turbo enhancement in bios wasn't stable. when i say stock, i meant MSI stock which included the turbo boost to 4.7 no downclocking. msi just released a bios update stabilizing voltages too, so yeah its all related.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#12
Not all Silicon is the same, if your chip requires even a small voltage bump over its VID that is the very definition of degradation.
I didn't know that, thank you.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,198 (5.62/day)
Likes
7,358
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#13
Yup hence why some chips can handle hard ocs and others can't. The better the cooling you have on the cpu, vrms and even on back of board where the cpu socket and vrms sit, even where the nb/sb are the better it will survive.

What version is occt up to?

Also after doing a clear cmos you should load optimized defaults.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#14
when you say VID is too high, is this what you mean? even tho my temps are good and everything is stable my VID is too high on all 6 cores? this is stock MSI bios btw with turbo boost on lol

please advise if i need to turn this off. none of my manual oc's are stable.

 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,975 (2.44/day)
Likes
8,917
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 10734:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16266163 TS 8154:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4331316
#15
Unfortunately, I always set a static voltage and so don't have much advice here, but I would run the Intel Diagnostic tool at stock settings. If that fails you can always attempt an RMA.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,932 (0.47/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
TEXAS
System Name It's broken right now
#16
what i would recommend for you to do is to comb over a few pages of this thread over on OCN

http://www.overclock.net/forum/5-intel-cpus/1639998-i7-8700k-overclock-results-settings.html

when i'm trying to dial in an overclock typically i'll look at other peoples overclocks and voltages used to get a general idea of were the voltage curve for a certain model processor is at. take note of who has the lowest voltage for said clock and who has a very high voltage for the same clock. then mark down what seems to be the "average" voltage that most people are hitting around.

if you do this for 3 - 4 frequency levels ie: 5ghz, 5.1, 5.2, 5.3 you can plot yourself out a curve of what voltage "should" be required for what ever frequency level your aiming for.

once you figure out your curve its time to test. start at the bottom and work your way up, after figuring out how much voltage your chip wants for each frequency level you can gauge how good of a chip you actually have and start aiming higher with that knowledge and basically "predict" how much voltage you should need for a given OC, obviously you'd want to test your settings but you get my point. just keep in mind that all processors have a frequency wall where you need a significant amount more voltage to maintain said clock, that's where you should aim for, just under that frequency wall.

as far as testing goes, your using the right tool a 30 minute non AVX test should suffice (unless your 3d modeling with blender, then use AVX) as stable followed up by a 12 hour aida 64 stress test (or world community grid), followed by another 12 hours of straight idling. if your rig does not blue screen during those tests i'd call it stable personally.
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,466 (5.40/day)
Likes
11,781
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#17
if your chip requires even a small voltage bump over its VID that is the very definition of degradation.
No, it is not. Requiring a voltage bump for an overclock is not degradation.

when you say VID is too high, is this what you mean? even tho my temps are good and everything is stable my VID is too high on all 6 cores?
I wouldn't worry too much about the VID, it is always read high on my 8700K, pretty close to what yours is, even though the vcore is only 1.25v. The vcore is what you should be worried about, the VID hasn't really been worth looking at for casual overclockers in years.

And as long as your overclock is stable and your temps are acceptable, that's all that matters really.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,932 (0.47/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
TEXAS
System Name It's broken right now
#18
No, it is not. Requiring a voltage bump for an overclock is not degradation.



I wouldn't worry too much about the VID, it is always read high on my 8700K, pretty close to what yours is, even though the vcore is only 1.25v. The vcore is what you should be worried about, the VID hasn't really been worth looking at for casual overclockers in years.

And as long as your overclock is stable and your temps are acceptable, that's all that matters really.

If your cpu is unstable at stock speed and requires a small voltage bump what would you call that then?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,466 (5.40/day)
Likes
11,781
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
If your cpu is unstable at stock speed and requires a small voltage bump what would you call that then?
If your processor was unstable at stock speeds and requires a small voltage bump, and it is a new CPU or has always been like this, then I call that defective, not degradation.

Of course, his CPU wasn't at stock speeds, it was overclocked from the very first boot, so that point is moot.

Degradation is when a processor is completely stable at a certain clock speed and voltage, but over time becomes unstable at that clock speed and voltage.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
6,314 (4.22/day)
Likes
5,160
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#20
If your cpu is unstable at stock speed and requires a small voltage bump what would you call that then?
Keep in mind that while the specs under his name say 4.7 Ghz, in the case of an allcore boost that is still an OC.

Even turning on XMP on its own, is an OC for the CPU.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#21
ty all cheers

I figured out the issue, I was running Beta BIOS for the mobo which "tweaks cpu voltage", I went back to the last known stable BIOS, and 0 issues... 5ghz -2 avx, 1.40v, prime 95 small FFT for 3 hours now 0 issues. and before that 3 hours of OCCT 0 issues. lol. my bad mates.
 

R4k4n0th

New Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2017
Messages
22 (0.06/day)
Likes
14
#22
normal? i let it run 2 hours, was fine for around 1 hour in.

temps are great less than 65 celsius on all cores.


should i just ignore this?
Can you please test your CPU with other software as well? Such as IntelBurnTest and Prime95.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,563 (1.07/day)
Likes
714
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#23
Can you please test your CPU with other software as well? Such as IntelBurnTest and Prime95.
ah this topic can be closed... as I said it was a beta MOBO bios...

and yeah i run prime 95 12 hours and AIDA64 and OCCT all 3-6 hours each multiple times, and a 24 hour run. its all fine now. :) temps do get to about 80ish celsius area at 5ghz -2 avx offset and 1.40 volt with 0.015 + offset.

which is fine, but in gaming temps rarely go past 65 celsius.
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2016
Messages
83 (0.09/day)
Likes
32
#24
That's degradation at work friend. It will slowly want more voltage over a year or two. Just the price you pay for more mghz
Huh, Bullshit x100000

It can be a lot of things and its definitely not cpu degradation after a couple of months with a mild OC like this one.

ah this topic can be closed... as I said it was a beta MOBO bios...

and yeah i run prime 95 12 hours and AIDA64 and OCCT all 3-6 hours each multiple times, and a 24 hour run. its all fine now. :) temps do get to about 80ish celsius area at 5ghz -2 avx offset and 1.40 volt with 0.015 + offset.

which is fine, but in gaming temps rarely go past 65 celsius.
Glad you found your problem :) nice purchase btw the 8700k is a beast.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1,932 (0.47/day)
Likes
1,040
Location
TEXAS
System Name It's broken right now
#25
Huh, Bullshit x100000

It can be a lot of things and its definitely not cpu degradation after a couple of months with a mild OC like this one.



Glad you found your problem :) nice purchase btw the 8700k is a beast.
Times 100 thousand huh? go ahead and prove me wrong by adding half a volt to your over clock and report back in a couple of months. Did you even bother reading the whole thread? It's pretty obvious op already found his solution so you don't need to keep bumping this thread because you disagree with what I said.
 
Top