• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OCZ Blade ST 1600Mhz don't want to go over 1616Mhz :O

Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#1
Hello after having some problems with my previous ram kit, I'm currently overclocking my new config:
Gigabyte 790XTA-UD4
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Be C2
OCZ Blade ST 12800 DDR3 1.65V

At first, I wanted to know ram limits: It is supposed to be run at
7-8-8-24/1600Mhz/1.65V
Okay, the only way to be stable was to put the CPU-NB voltage at 1.3V
But when I put the FSB further than 202, it will be prime95 unstable.
So, is my ram showing its limits at 1616Mhz ??

I saw a topic where a guy was a 1.71V ram voltage but at 6-7-6-21/1600Mhz
Am I making a mistake ?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Try adding RAM voltage. 1.71v is perfectly safe with an AMD system. It's possible the RAM you have just isn't capable of doing much overclocking.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#3
Well as I said i saw someone going to 6-7-6-21 1600 at 1.71V
On another topic I can read :"OCZ Blade ST with Elpida BBSE IC's that can reach 1600 6-7-6 easily"
And effectively Elpida BBSE seems to be a terrifying chip.

Even at 1.71V I can't be prime stable at 7-7-7-24 1600Mhz
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#4
RAM goes through a lot of revisions, and the number 1 revision that they go through is a change of IC's. You might not have BBSE's.

This is a far from complete, and not perfectly updated, but helpful guide:

http://ramlist.i4memory.com/ddr3/
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#5
Yes i read this guide and my ram is not listed :(
I'm becoming crazy, only 16Mhz of overclocking is unbelievable. Do you think that lowering timings might be useful ?
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#6
Lowering timings means higher performance. They are often referred to as "tighter" timings to imply that they are faster, rather than "lower" timings.

Many kits out there today are binned extremely well so that they won't overclock much, but the manufacturer can offer different price points for RAM.

For your system, I would recommend leaving the RAM as it is, and focus on overclocking the processor. It's a BE, so all you've got to do is raise the multi and voltage on it, and you should be good to go.

Also, keep in mind that Your Mileage May Vary with any overclocking. Just because Joe clocked his sticks to whatever doesn't mean your kit should do the same.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#7
When saying lowering I effectively wanted to say tightening, being french, English can be an obstacle in technical language :p

I can understand chips are different but i could not imagine that puting the fsb at 203 instead of 200 might make the ram unstable ..
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,555 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#8

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
I can understand chips are different but i could not imagine that puting the fsb at 203 instead of 200 might make the ram unstable ..
You also increase northbridge speed when increasing the cpu's bus, so it might not have anything to do with the memory at all.;)
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#10
sounds like a 790FX board and C2 chip combined with PSC. what revision are your memory and whats the manuf. date

OCZ Blade SuperTuned 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SD...

that kit is not BBSE that kit is PSC.
Hm I don't really understand the problem. For the revision, I don't know :D and the manuf date is last january, dimms are brand new and coming from Taiwan after a RMA.


You also increase northbridge speed when increasing the cpu's bus, so it might not have anything to do with the memory at all.
I don't think so because I'm currently prime stable with a 2600Mhz CPU-NB and 3700Mhz CPU with my ram at 1600. Furthermore when I put the FSB at 250 but lower the multi and desynchro the ram at 6.66x to test, everything is prime stable.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
886 (0.24/day)
Likes
137
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor Intel Xeon X5670 Hexa-core @ 4.6GHz @ 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD7
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 6GB (3x2GB) G.Skill Trident 2000Mhz + 6GB (3x2GB) Corsair 1600Mhz DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 SC
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) Samsung BX2440 (24" LED Backlit)
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)
#11
Do you think that lowering timings might be useful ?
Yes, you might have to back off on the timings to increase clock speed. Sometimes you have to compromise.

Try 8-8-8-24 and see where that gets you.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,555 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#12
Hm I don't really understand the problem. For the revision, I don't know :D and the manuf date is last january, dimms are brand new and coming from Taiwan after a RMA.
ram is PSC what BIOS revision is your board on
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#13
I'm on the last F3 bios
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
Try 8-8-8-24 and see where that gets you.
not if they are PSC chips. you need to run at least a +1 tRCD for IC for stability;)
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,555 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#15
not if they are PSC chips. you need to run at least a +1 tRCD for IC for stability;)
they aren't fun on AMD i would bet that the chips wont be stable over 1600 he can try 7-9-7 and see were that goes.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#16
I agree, most PSC sticks are super tuned to Intel rigs.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#17
7-9-7-24 1T @1.71V at 1620Mhz is not prime stable :S
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#18
wait...you're testing ram with Prime? Try memtest86+ ver.4.2

Also are you changing anything else with the ram clocking? 1620 is an odd number, seems to me multiple things are changing at once.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#19
Well, with the HT at 205Mhz, if I put my ram at 6.66x to be sure it is not the cause, I can prime blend during 8 hours. Then, when I get errors at 8x I effectively conclude it is the ram fault.

Effectively it is 1640 and not 1620: 205*8
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,623 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,345
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#20
ahh I got ya now.
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom X4 955 BE
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory OCZ black edition 12800 2*2Go
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD5850
#21
Hmm 7-9-8-24 at 1640Mhz seems more stable as prime doesn't return errors ftm.
Anyway when I'm benching my ram, results in read, copy, write at 7-8-8-24 1600 are quite the same as 7-9-8-24 1640.
Is the second option preferable as it lets me play a little more with the HT?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,555 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#22
Hmm 7-9-8-24 at 1640Mhz seems more stable as prime doesn't return errors ftm.
Anyway when I'm benching my ram, results in read, copy, write at 7-8-8-24 1600 are quite the same as 7-9-8-24 1640.
Is the second option preferable as it lets me play a little more with the HT?
you could try 6-9-6 also and for HT clocking there isn't any reason to do so but you could just drop the ram speed
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#24
Have you tried CL8?
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
26,555 (6.38/day)
Likes
7,460
Location
Houston
System Name Team Blue
Processor 5960X@4.8 1.42v
Motherboard Asus X99M-WS
Cooling EK Supremecy EVO, MCR220-Stack+MCR220+MCR320, D5-PWM+EK X-RES 140
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200 CL16
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's+ EVGA reference 1080Ti soon to be under water
Storage Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron
Keyboard Thermaltake Poseidon ZX
Software W10P
Benchmark Scores Zoom zoom mofo
#25