• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OCZ Introduces New DDR2 8GB Quad Kits for Advanced Gaming Systems and Workstations

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
OCZ Technology Group, Inc., a worldwide leader in innovative ultra-high performance and high reliability memory, today announced the 8GB Platinum PC2-6400 “Quad” Kit. These high-density, optimized kits offer users the option of both high speeds and high capacities needed for their demanding gaming PC and Vista-upgraded desktops in a unique 4 x 2048MB solution.




Show full news post
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
300 (0.08/day)
Likes
31
Location
Ambugaton
Processor Intel Skylake i5 6500 3.2 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3p
Cooling Stock Intel
Memory HyperX Fury Black 32GB DDR4 2400Mhz CL15 1.2v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1070 G1 8GB GDDR5 256bit
Storage ADATA Premier Pro 240GB & NAS - 4Tb Raid 1
Display(s) 22" Dell 2209WA A02 E-IPS
Case Cooler Master CM Silencio 452
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC /w Microlab Solo 6C Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-620 EVO Bronze 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#3
I am curious of one thing.. If you had so much memory would you still need a swap file?
There are IT experts that say that a page file is still required no matter how much physical memory you have. Why is that?
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
2,481 (0.63/day)
Likes
340
Location
Your house.
System Name Jupiter-2
Processor Intel i3-6100
Motherboard H170I-PLUS D3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Mushkin DDR3L-1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage 512GB Corsair SSD
Display(s) BENQ 24in
Case Lian Li PC-Q01B Mini ITX
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 450W
Mouse Logitech Trackball
Keyboard Custom bamboo job
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Finished Super PI on legendary mode in only 13 hours.
#4
I am curious of one thing.. If you had so much memory would you still need a swap file?
There are IT experts that say that a page file is still required no matter how much physical memory you have. Why is that?
Well, I don't know about most systems, but I have heard thatthat Windows will try and use a swap file no matter if you have enough memory or not. Something about the way it's set up.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
538 (0.12/day)
Likes
31
Processor Intel i7 920
Motherboard ASUS RAMPAGE II Extreme
Cooling CM v10
Memory Corsair 3 x 2GB TR3X6G1866C9DF
Video Card(s) Nvidia XFX 8800GT Stock
Storage Seagate ST3500320AS, 2 x Samsung HD103UJ
Display(s) 2408WFP
Case Corsair 800D
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
#5
Well, I don't know about most systems, but I have heard thatthat Windows will try and use a swap file no matter if you have enough memory or not. Something about the way it's set up.
I wonder if linux does the same
 

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#6
price?
 

effmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,327 (0.35/day)
Likes
72
Location
Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
Processor Core Duo T2250 1.73 GHZ
Memory 2 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GEForce Go 7600 256 MB
Storage 120 GB
Display(s) 17 inch notebook
Case metallic grey
Audio Device(s) Creative xmod (though that doesnt really count as a sound card lol)
Power Supply power plug and battery
Software Lots of it
#7
You should know by now that their not going to tell us the price:slap:

They are just going to talk about how good and powerful it is and leave the prioce out just like a bunch of other stories that make it into the TPU news section
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#8
I wonder if linux does the same
Yep. Linux needs swap space too.

As far as Windows, the OS itself will run fine with no page file, but some apps will not. Many apps require the page file.

But, with this much ram, you could set up a virtual drive in ram, and run your page file off of that.
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#9
What OS could use so much damn ram?
 

Nemesis881

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2006
Messages
690 (0.16/day)
Likes
32
Location
Dawsonville, GA
System Name Nemy's comp
Processor AMD Athlon x2 4200+ @ 2.61ghz
Motherboard ASUS A8M2N-LA
Cooling 1x250mm (side), 2x120mm (one front and back), 6000+ stock cooler
Memory 3Gb Corsair value select PC2-4200 (2x512mb and 2x1gb))
Video Card(s) XFX HD7770
Storage 320gb Seagate Baracuda / 160gb western digital
Display(s) ASUS 19" widescreen LCD. 1440x900
Case Apevia Jupiter-JR S-Type
Audio Device(s) on-board. Audigy died D;
Power Supply Ultra 600W X-pro
Software Vista Home Premium
#10

effmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2007
Messages
1,327 (0.35/day)
Likes
72
Location
Rocket City, Alabama (Huntsville)
Processor Core Duo T2250 1.73 GHZ
Memory 2 GB DDR2
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GEForce Go 7600 256 MB
Storage 120 GB
Display(s) 17 inch notebook
Case metallic grey
Audio Device(s) Creative xmod (though that doesnt really count as a sound card lol)
Power Supply power plug and battery
Software Lots of it
#11
They mean well when Vista always uses $50% or more of your ram its only meant to help you out better. If im not mistaken it has something to do with the way it predicts what your computer use patterns are for it to predict what your going to to open up when you come home from a long day from work, whether that be opening up IE7 to watch porn along with WMP or whether it be Photoshop, or even be MS Mail to check your email with.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#12
Swap is good. Up to the point of when you run out. :D
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,528 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#13
YES!! With 8GB's of RAM, I can FINALLY run Windows Vista!!