1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Odd behavior I can't explain. Help needed guys and gals

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Tallencor, Jul 14, 2014.

  1. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    So I hit the pc to play some games tonight and first noticed that I couldn't switch to my headphones through the audio manager. Re seated the card and tried reinstalling the driver. No go it is an Asus xonar dg. Reset bios to optimized defaults because on reboot it prompted me to with a boot error and tried again to no avail. It just wouldn't recognize the card being there. I figured I would wait until tomorrow and just play on my onboard via audio, loaded the game( Grid autosport) and my save file is corrupted and it started in windowed mode. Now, I am all for it being a bad pci slot on my mobo(it is my second mobo after a bad pcie slot) or a fried sound card but the bios prompt and corrupt save has me baffled. Any ideas on what may have happened? I am baffled.
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,892 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,243
    Location:
    Oregon
    Well I don't think the PCi slot or driver is related to the save game so sounds like some corrupt data on your drive. From what not sure. Check your event log

    After you BIOS reset check your SATA settings
     
    Tallencor says thanks.
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    You fed your Magui after midnight didn't you?

    Card damaged from first mobo slot going bad?...BIOS needs reflashed? game save file is picky and recognizes different hardware profiles?..I dunno..maybe just an odd sequence of unfortunate events...it happens

    Reinstall motherboard chipset driver
     
    Tallencor says thanks.
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,069 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Location:
    US
    2nd mobo same issue kinda makes it sound like some thing else is making the problems. I be looking for a new PSU in this case, unless the sound card been faulty all along.. Well hopefully every things under warranty still.
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,641 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,214
    Psu. Power outlet/home. Faulty card.
     
  6. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    Checked them when I was prompted all in order.
    Edit: Event log underway.
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,641 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,214
    Please combine your 2 posts into 1
     
  8. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    <Data Name="ErrorCode">3221225864</Data>
    Prefetch error. This is popping up all the time in my event log.
     
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,932 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,763
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    It may not solve your problem at all, but get rid of Asus' horrifyingly out of date, and terrible, drivers. Then go and download the custom BrainBitz drivers, which will make life a million times easier, and your sound card not a nightmare. Best thing I ever did with mine.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7,892 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,243
    Location:
    Oregon
  11. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    Cool Thanks guys I thought a 3.5 yr old driver was a tad messed up for something they sell in such quantities. I will dl after work and see if it helps. I gave up pretty quick last night. Twas tired.
    Here seems to be the updated site:http://maxedtech.com/
     
  12. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    I have tried what I believe to be everything. The xonar is reccognised as being there in device manager and I even tried to use safe mode. The installer fails to detect the card could it be a bios setting as Jetster mentioned? [​IMG]
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,069 (4.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,574
    Location:
    US
    Any chance you can extract the drivers and manually instal them ?. Might want to check the card in another system too if possible.
     
    Tallencor says thanks.
  14. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    Tried to use 7-zip as per instruction on the modified site http://maxedtech.com/ to no avail. Alas I sold my old p.c. to my in laws. I can remember having a hard time with the Xonar when I first got it but a restart or two later it just worked. Now its being a right bugger it is.
     
  15. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
  16. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,083 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Uninstall all drivers for the hardware including ghosted drivers and try again.

    Remove Ghost Hardware:

    Open CMD as Administrator
    Type or Copy Pasta
    SET DEVMGR_SHOW_NONPRESENT_DEVICES=1

    Then start Device Manager by typing:
    devmgmt.msc

    Then in "View" click "Show Hidden Devices"
    Click on the device tab and remove the "Ghosted" Hardware....It will be the gray translucent device

    Do Not Uninstall the Device Software Unless you are 100% you don't need it...
     
    ne6togadno and Tallencor say thanks.
  17. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,866 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Sounds like a corrupt hard drive to me.
    Try doing a windows repair from your OS disk in bios.
    Also check your drive for disk errors in the same area.
     
    Tallencor says thanks.
  18. Tallencor

    Tallencor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    644 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    776
    Location:
    N.S. Can.
    Thanks Guys. I have yet to figure this out yet. I will try each suggestion when I get home tonight. The thing is though, The guy at my local shop where I buy all my gear mentioned that it sounded to him like an overwritten hardware id (hmmmmm) and offered to rma it for me. He is one of those trained by microslut fellers so lets hope he is wrong. Lol. I am doomed to use on board VIA for who knows how long if it is sent back. If either of these ideas work I owe ya big time.
    Edit: Update. Thank you Very Much! jmcslob, worked like a charm!!!!!!!!!! Drivers installed after using your advice on the first shot.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)