• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OEM PC Upgrade, Help Needed (Monitor Not Reading System)

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,748 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,161
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#26
hell itx, matx and anything smaller than ATX have no expansionability. Ive dealt with failed boots many times by removing the board out of the case, i now do a bench run of components new so if any are bad i can just box em up and take em back.
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#27
hell itx, matx and anything smaller than ATX have no expansionability. Ive dealt with failed boots many times by removing the board out of the case, i now do a bench run of components new so if any are bad i can just box em up and take em back.
poor guy spent 899 on a pc that cant get good fps on second life, if i paid 899 for a pc id expect atleast a gtx 650 or hd 7770, but oems screw you over

and today he spend 420 dollars a on gtx 660ti and 600 watt psu which gets 23aMPS on 12v1 and 20a on 12v2, the 660ti evga bozx says minium is 24amp 12v
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,665 (1.09/day)
Likes
953
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC / Miner
Processor i5 8600K @4.5Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970 / i5 2500k
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3/ P67 Pro 3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903 / Stock
Memory 16Gb Nighthawk 3000 MHz/ 4GB DDR3 / 16gb DDR3 / 12 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT / 2x1060 + 1080
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO/ 250gb Mechanical
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV/ None
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240 / Custom
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W / FSP 850 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#28
I often get this problem when re-seating my video card to clean the fans. It also sometimes happens when I mess with the HDDs.

On my HTPC it happens when i mess with the RAM.

In the first case, reseating the video card again and again or clearing the CMOS usually works for me. Sometimes just having one HDD in and getting it to boot before adding the other 3, works.

In the second case, I just play around with 1 stick of RAM, get it to boot, then move to 2 sticks, then to 3. So far, I haven't been able to install all 4 sticks and get it to post, but 3gb on my HTPC is fine.

As others have said, your best bet is to unplug everything and just add 1 stick of RAM and the Video card, after clearing the CMOS, see if you can get it to post. Then start adding the rest 1 by 1.
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#29
I often get this problem when re-seating my video card to clean the fans. It also sometimes happens when I mess with the HDDs.

On my HTPC it happens when i mess with the RAM.

In the first case, reseating the video card again and again or clearing the CMOS usually works for me. Sometimes just having one HDD in and getting it to boot before adding the other 3, works.

In the second case, I just play around with 1 stick of RAM, get it to boot, then move to 2 sticks, then to 3. So far, I haven't been able to install all 4 sticks and get it to post, but 3gb on my HTPC is fine.

As others have said, your best bet is to unplug everything and just add 1 stick of RAM and the Video card, after clearing the CMOS, see if you can get it to post. Then start adding the rest 1 by 1.
having a pc with problems is like borrowing a nintendo cartridge from a friend, only that friend knows how to make it work
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,748 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,161
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#30
poor guy spent 899 on a pc that cant get good fps on second life, if i paid 899 for a pc id expect atleast a gtx 650 or hd 7770, but oems screw you over

and today he spend 420 dollars a on gtx 660ti and 600 watt psu which gets 23aMPS on 12v1 and 20a on 12v2, the 660ti evga bozx says minium is 24amp 12v
ugh the guy needs education on parts selection
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,416 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,550
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#31
OEM mobos suck man, all of them have limited upgrade potential
I find that hardly true in the real world. Usually the only thing lacking on OEM boards is overclock options and BIOS options to turn features on and off. But any H61 board, OEM or not, will not have any overclocking options and people buying OEM machines generally don't care about turning off features they never knew existed anyway.

But when it comes to upgrade potential they aren't that much different than a board you'd buy from newegg.

And really, for $900 the CM6630 is not a bad machine, especially considering it uses an off the shelf board with a custom BIOS. I mean just put the parts together yourself and it comes pretty close to $900. Plus, most pre-builts in that price range don't even come with a discrete graphics card, so consider yourself lucky. Games might be bad on the GT630, but they'd be a hell of a lot worse on the Intel HD2500.

i7-3770 = $300
Mobo = $50
GT630 = $75
RAM = $65
HDD = $75
OOD = $20
CASE + PSU = $50
Win7 = $100

Add that together and it is $735, add shipping and the price goes to $750 just to get the parts to my door, and that isn't even considering the time to assemble and install Software(I charge $200 for this, or 2 hours labor time). Granted, ASUS isn't paying their workers in China or wherever $100 an hour, but they are paying them something, so add labor and the profit margin is pretty damn slim.

And the board has a PCI-E slot to take any graphics card you want to put in it, and it will take any 1155 processor in existence. The one and only flaw when it comes to upgrading would be only having two DIMM slots, but that is how cheap boards are, it doesn't matter if they are OEM or bought off the shelf.
 
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Lake Mission Viejo, Ca
System Name Latest Build
Processor I5 3570k
Motherboard Asus p8z77-v
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory 16Gb Corsair Vantage
Video Card(s) MSI GTX670 N670 O.C.
Storage Samusung 840 series 250Gb / Samsung F3 hd103sj 1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245T
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) Razor Barracuda / Denon AVR-3802 / Infinity Full 5.1 surround Velodyne 10" Sub
Power Supply Thermaltake Blackwidow 850w
Software Win/7 64bit
#32
T4C
Can you post up when Best Buy gives you the prognosis ? :confused:
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#33
T4C
Can you post up when Best Buy gives you the prognosis ? :confused:
yea ill try, ill be there with the geek squad, plus im a nosey person ill end up asking them if they know about techpowerup, then ill tell them im the gpu database editor there lol

good times
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#34
I find that hardly true in the real world. Usually the only thing lacking on OEM boards is overclock options and BIOS options to turn features on and off. But any H61 board, OEM or not, will not have any overclocking options and people buying OEM machines generally don't care about turning off features they never knew existed anyway.

But when it comes to upgrade potential they aren't that much different than a board you'd buy from newegg.

And really, for $900 the CM6630 is not a bad machine, especially considering it uses an off the shelf board with a custom BIOS. I mean just put the parts together yourself and it comes pretty close to $900. Plus, most pre-builts in that price range don't even come with a discrete graphics card, so consider yourself lucky. Games might be bad on the GT630, but they'd be a hell of a lot worse on the Intel HD2500.

i7-3770 = $300
Mobo = $50
GT630 = $75
RAM = $65
HDD = $75
OOD = $20
CASE + PSU = $50
Win7 = $100

Add that together and it is $735, add shipping and the price goes to $750 just to get the parts to my door, and that isn't even considering the time to assemble and install Software(I charge $200 for this, or 2 hours labor time). Granted, ASUS isn't paying their workers in China or wherever $100 an hour, but they are paying them something, so add labor and the profit margin is pretty damn slim.

And the board has a PCI-E slot to take any graphics card you want to put in it, and it will take any 1155 processor in existence. The one and only flaw when it comes to upgrading would be only having two DIMM slots, but that is how cheap boards are, it doesn't matter if they are OEM or bought off the shelf.

Bullcrap, thin PCP, cheap capacitors/VRM's terrible passive cooling. you want me to go on? Some OEM boards have a VERY HIGH failure rate. For example: A lot of OEM boards made for Phenom's went poof. Don't take it personal, but I would not take newtekie1's advise if my life depended on it. Cheap means cheap no matter how you cut it. Most OEM boards are made at Foxconn and the factory has very poor working conditions/ environment and quality control is terrible in that sector. They mass produce them with a lot of dust(you heard of the dust explosion at Foxconn)and cheap labor(very cheap). OEM boards are the bottom of the heap.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 20, 2013
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Lake Mission Viejo, Ca
System Name Latest Build
Processor I5 3570k
Motherboard Asus p8z77-v
Cooling Cooler Master 212
Memory 16Gb Corsair Vantage
Video Card(s) MSI GTX670 N670 O.C.
Storage Samusung 840 series 250Gb / Samsung F3 hd103sj 1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245T
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) Razor Barracuda / Denon AVR-3802 / Infinity Full 5.1 surround Velodyne 10" Sub
Power Supply Thermaltake Blackwidow 850w
Software Win/7 64bit
#35
yea ill try, ill be there with the geek squad, plus im a nosey person ill end up asking them if they know about techpowerup, then ill tell them im the gpu database editor there lol

good times
I dunno if I have too much faith in the "geek squad", I'd be rather surprised if they even know as much as you do! None the less, still love to find out the resolve. Good Luck !!!
:peace:
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2011
Messages
1,240 (0.49/day)
Likes
503
#36
? how will this help?

I did remove all of those thigns of course when I removed the powersupply but when I installed the new shit I plugged everything in right away then turned on
Sorry, I was only trying to help.

It's happened to me many times at the early years that I accidentaly connected one of the case's buttton in a wrong way at reassembly, or a malfunctioning fan prevented the PSU to start working, etc. You have two PSUs, and it's unlikely that both are dropped dead at the same time, so I though it's the best to start from the very basics.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,416 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,550
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#37
Bullcrap, thin PCP, cheap capacitors/VRM's terrible passive cooling. you want me to go on? Some OEM boards have a VERY HIGH failure rate. For example: A lot of OEM boards made for Phenom's went poof. Don't take it personal, but I would not take newtekie1's advise if my life depended on it. Cheap means cheap no matter how you cut it. Most OEM boards are made at Foxconn and the factory has very poor working conditions/ environment and quality control is terrible in that sector. They mass produce them with a lot of dust(you heard of the dust explosion at Foxconn)and cheap labor(very cheap). OEM boards are the bottom of the heap.
PCP? Is that what you're on? Can I have some? Pay attention to the topic slick, none of that has an effect on their upgrade potential, which is what we are talking about. I never said they were built well, I said their upgrade potential isn't limited. Furthermore, those problems aren't limited to OEM motherboards, the same problems plague cheap boards weather they come in an pre-built or you buy them from newegg. I really don't care if you wouldn't take my advice, since you rarely have a clue what you are talking about, no one here really listens to you.

I challenge you to try to pull some bullshit out of your ass about why any of the issues you described would limit upgrade potential.
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#38
Bullcrap, thin PCP, cheap capacitors/VRM's terrible passive cooling. you want me to go on? Some OEM boards have a VERY HIGH failure rate. For example: A lot of OEM boards made for Phenom's went poof. Don't take it personal, but I would not take newtekie1's advise if my life depended on it. Cheap means cheap no matter how you cut it. Most OEM boards are made at Foxconn and the factory has very poor working conditions/ environment and quality control is terrible in that sector. They mass produce them with a lot of dust(you heard of the dust explosion at Foxconn)and cheap labor(very cheap). OEM boards are the bottom of the heap.
if "made by foxconn" makes you not buy stuff, you're in the wrong business. :wtf:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,416 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,550
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#39
if "made by foxconn" makes you not buy stuff, you're in the wrong business. :wtf:
I wonder if he even realizes the irony in the fact that he went on that big rant about Foxconn being so bad and how boards manufactured by them are terrible, yet Gigabyte has been using them to build their boards since 2004, so his Z77-UP7 motherboard was manufactured by Foxconn...:rolleyes:
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,203 (2.95/day)
Likes
2,394
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#40
you will need to crack the bios. usually these things are locked from the BIOS.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
762 (0.18/day)
Likes
138
Location
Australia
#41
The machine may have a case open switch which is preventing normal post.
other than that it sounds like a RAMK/video card reseat.

hope you win.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#42
if "made by foxconn" makes you not buy stuff, you're in the wrong business. :wtf:
OEM yes. Will not buy. Much different than other stuff. mass produced, cheap component. :slap: i sold too many boards to persons with OEM pre-builts that failed.....

PCP? Is that what you're on? Can I have some? Pay attention to the topic slick, none of that has an effect on their upgrade potential, which is what we are talking about. I never said they were built well, I said their upgrade potential isn't limited. Furthermore, those problems aren't limited to OEM motherboards, the same problems plague cheap boards weather they come in an pre-built or you buy them from newegg. I really don't care if you wouldn't take my advice, since you rarely have a clue what you are talking about, no one here really listens to you.

I challenge you to try to pull some bullshit out of your ass about why any of the issues you described would limit upgrade potential.
LOL PCB LOL. I think you have the jest of it though. I think I am listened too by many. I just refuse to say and agree that OEM boards are the same as others. They are not. everything about them has cheap components and suggesting it is...... Blasphemy!.
 
Last edited:

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#43
Mass produced with cheap components.. That describes most electronics. I get your point though, but i do not agree with it.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,416 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,550
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#44
LOL PCB LOL. I think you have the jest of it though. I think I am listened too by many. I just refuse to say and agree that OEM boards are the same as others. They are not. everything about them has cheap components and suggesting it is...... Blasphemy!.
And again, you have completely ignore the fact that I never said the components used weren't cheap and the fact that cheap non-OEM boards have the same crappy components and most importantly that the cheap components has no affect what so ever on the upgrade potential of OEM boards.
 

T4C Fantasy

CPU & GPU DB Maintainer
Staff member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
1,240 (0.60/day)
Likes
609
Location
Rhode Island
#45
And again, you have completely ignore the fact that I never said the components used weren't cheap and the fact that cheap non-OEM boards have the same crappy components and most importantly that the cheap components has no affect what so ever on the upgrade potential of OEM boards.
well thats not necessarily true if the caps are cheap they can rupture when upgrading it which would render that board limited to what could be upgraded to it or vrm shorts, ill let you guys know what freak squad says, my quess will be the mobo died somehow, i had high hopes for the problem being as stupid as the case needing to be closed in order to boot it.. but when that failed i said fuck it.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,416 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,550
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#46
well thats not necessarily true if the caps are cheap they can rupture when upgrading it which would render that board limited to what could be upgraded to it or vrm shorts
But, again, that is an issue with inexpensive boards with weak VRM setups regardless of if they are OEM or not, and there are plenty of non-OEM boards with weak power setups. And actually, this is only an issue with AMD AM3 boards. Even the weakest 1155 board can take the highest i7 without issue thanks to Intel's great power efficiency, and any FM1/2 board will take any processor available as well.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,748 (5.12/day)
Likes
5,161
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#47
Lets Keep on Topic, The Machine on hand is going to geek squad for diagnosis. If they repair it problem solved.

Otherwise T4C i would definitely recommend an APU Setup (Handles Pretty well)

heres the Min/Rec Specs for Second Life

http://secondlife.com/support/system-requirements/
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#48
OEM yes. Will not buy. Much different than other stuff. mass produced, cheap component. :slap: i sold too many boards to persons with OEM pre-builts that failed.....



LOL PCB LOL. I think you have the jest of it though. I think I am listened too by many. I just refuse to say and agree that OEM boards are the same as others. They are not. everything about them has cheap components and suggesting it is...... Blasphemy!.
It's not even an oem board it's a P8H61-M PRO which uses
100% All High-quality Conductive Polymer Capacitors
http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/P8H61M_PRO/#specifications
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#49
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,665 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,017
#50
If you read the thread I was commenting on his response. So you kinda fail on that one.
Yes which started out talking about the rig the OP posted about, I think you're the only fail in this thread as it seems you're just itching to get into an argument with anyone who will bite. Grow up.