1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official 2010 Chimp Challenge Thread

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    EVGA has officially won the CC as of the 12pm update. They are truly a powerhouse, but some of the members are childish and poke fun at the lesser teams. Very poor sportsmanship in my opinion. Keep up the great folding and let's continue our march to 20 million!

    [​IMG]
     
    HammerON, KieX, hertz9753 and 2 others say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,598 (8.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,700
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    ...and that's what sets us apart from the pack. :toast:

    CONGRATS EVGA, Keep up the great folding folks :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. HeroPrinny

    HeroPrinny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    73 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    best of luck you fools, the beavers will beat you :p sadly our ppd is tanking hard or everyone else is increasing there ppd
     
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,891 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,160
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    Next time we are surely going to need a larger team :D Or they need to find a way to equalize the playing field instead of basing it just on total points earned.

    My i7 is back to WCG, I'll leave the GPUs to continue in the march to 20mil.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,232 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    We lost....awww....well I am still at full speed. I know I am not in the tops of our team, but I am still sitting at 19000 PPD.

    P.S. I have 4 failed work units for my GTX 260 out of 50, should I be concerned?
     
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,598 (8.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,700
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'm still going till we hit the mark :toast:
     
    theonedub and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    I would not worry about failed WU's, unless you are O/C'd on the GPU. What are you temps and fan speeds?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,232 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Factory OC, nothing more (listed in Sig). Temp for the GTX 260 was 63C last I checked, fan is manually set at 75% now.

    I just kinda wrote it off as a failed to download WU thing, but I have never been able to monitor it before so I was just wondering what would cause it besides the obvious.

    Oh, and the 5200+ finally overheated at 92C and shut the computer down. It is not folding, but seems to be in one piece.
     
  9. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,738 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,320
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I have 3 cards that cause me problems.

    First, A GTX 260 that during this challenge has completed 48 and failed 2 times.
    Second, An 8800 GT that has completed 37 and failed 1 time.
    Finally, a GTS 250 that has completed 37 but failed 2 times.

    As long as these card have the same pass/fail rates I'll keep them. The 8800 GT of course and the GTX 260 have many miles on them not the GTS 250.
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  10. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,738 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,320
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    Updated ChimPowerUp points...

    My points have been the same as posted on the official page but one hour behind. So there isn't any confusion I decided to adjust the hour.

    Column 1
    0 Stanford Date/Time Challenge Points PPD
    1 May 05, 2010 at 1 PM 33,199 796,776
    2 May 06, 2010 at 1 PM 980,565 941,280
    3 May 07, 2010 at 12 PM 1,851,291 925,796
    4 May 08, 2010 at 12 AM 2,358,775 943,807
    5 May 08, 2010 at 12 PM 2,809,127 936,296
    6 May 08, 2010 at 1 PM 2,843,085 934,635
    7 May 08, 2010 at 2 PM 2,938,441 953,044
    8 May 08, 2010 at 3 PM 2,971,379 950,838
    9 May 08, 2010 at 5 PM 3,041,273 947,957
    10 May 08, 2010 at 6 PM 3,073,313 945,817
     
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,891 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,160
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    That's odd to me for the cards to have so many failed units. I almost never see failed units unless I am trying a new OC and never at stock. My 275s have gone through over 50WUs with 1584shaders without 1 failure between them.
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,232 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    My CPU and the 8800 GTS G92 have 0 failures between them. The GTS was at 38 units before the overheat and reboot and the CPU has only a few units since I restarted it yesterday.

    I will double check the temps and bump up the fan a little more to see if that makes a difference. I will also put my area fan over there to help circulate some air.
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2010
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Nope. I get around the same total ppd with or without the 4870X2 running with 1 or 2 of it's gpus. Under a 1000pt difference. It really kills the cpu client. I even have all the system variables entered. I figure if I only get 1000 extra points in the best case scenario, it's not worth the extra electricity. That's a whole lot of wattage for a measly 1000pts.

    So the verdict is, gpu only on the AMD rig?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,934 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,316
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    I have a 3200+ babysitting a 4830. My vote is for GPU only with ATI.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    7,345 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,647
    Location:
    Up North
    So what are you folders that are running SMP2 with a i7 920 getting for PPD???
    Are you using VM?
    Just curious~
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,317
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I get 15,000 PPD on my Xeon at 3.6 using smp2.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  17. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    With the i7 920 @4GHz,VM running -bigadv, i get ~24,000 PPD
     
    HammerON says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,232 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Does VM help AMD Quads?
     
  19. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    482 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    SMP2 client no VM 16k PPD i7 920 @ 3.6
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,498 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,317
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    No.:(
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  21. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    482 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    The reason it doesn't help is you need 8 threads or 8 cores to run a bigadv which means even amd's x6 can't.

    So an i7 with hyperthreading and a VM will get you into the 20-25kppd range.
     
    hertz9753 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,968 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,639
    Location:
    Port St Lucie, FL. U.S.A.
    I'm curious if Thuban scales better in a VM with an A3 core, or if SMP2 is the way to go? I know Bogmali has a x6 1055t chip and will wait for his opinion on it's production.


    New user's, check your client user names. Someone if folding under "Chimpoweup"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,767
    Location:
    Denmark
    It is not me :), double checked after my first wrong-spelling
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. crush3r

    crush3r

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    18-18.5k ppd @ 3.8 on smp2, no vmware as I don't understand it :p
     
  25. Nick259

    Nick259

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
    I need a new cooler to OC my phenom x4 B50 :( I bought a vendetta 2 but it overlaps the RAM slots and the ram doesn't work in the other slots ;'(
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)