• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Official Halo 2 for Windows Vista system requirements released

Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#1
For over three years, dedicated Halo fans have been waiting for the next installment of the Halo series to finally hit the PC. Whether or not it is an ugly port like the last one was, here are the official system requirements for Halo 2 on the PC.
  • Windows Vista™
  • 2 Ghz Pentium 4 class processor
  • 1GB RAM
  • 7GB hard disk space
  • DX9 graphics card: WDDM driver, PS 2.0/32BPP, At least nVidia 6000 or ATI x700 or above
  • DVD-ROM drive
  • Internet connection for online play
Show full news post
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
5,358 (1.10/day)
Likes
106
Location
Seattle
Processor X2 3800+ @ 2.3 GHz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty SLI-DR
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9500 LED
Memory 2x1 Gb OCZ Plat. @ 3-3-2-8-1t 460 MHz
Video Card(s) HIS IceQ 4670 512Mb
Storage 640Gb & 160Gb western digital sata drives
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen LCD w/ DVI 5ms
Case Thermaltake Soprano
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 softmod@Audigy 4, Logitech X-530 5:1
Power Supply Coolermaster eXtreme Power Plus 500w
Software XP Pro
#2
Not even Halo fans are "waiting" for this turd. I played Halo 2 on launch day, midnight November 9, 2004. Its taken way too damn long for the release, and it has a ridiculous OS restriction.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.74/day)
Likes
663
#3
Hopefully some one will be able to bypass the os restriction ;)
 

Rodster

New Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
155 (0.04/day)
Likes
0
#4
LMAO at the hardware requirements. A three year old game I can play on my Xbox 360 without having to buy Microsoft's garbage Vista. :nutkick:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#5
Hopefully some one will be able to bypass the os restriction ;)
I think it's more related to online play. If you bypass the OS restriction, you very well may bypass the ability to play online. But who knows really. If worse comes to worse, I'll just dual boot.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,159 (3.89/day)
Likes
1,416
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#6
It's total bullshit that its a DX9 game. They have been betraying it as a DX10 game all year then they release it as a old school game. An old school game that must only be played in Vista not XP I mean WHY??? Its not DX10 so why can't we play it in XP. And from what people have been saying it looks like shit a Xbox 1 game with higher resolution.

Sorry for the rant but it's all true.
 

JC316

Knows what makes you tick
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Messages
9,370 (2.16/day)
Likes
982
System Name Budget Gaming
Processor AMD FX6300
Motherboard Gigabyte 880GMA-USB3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212+
Memory 8GB Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) HD7850 1GB
Storage 1TB Sata2
Display(s) Acer 24" LED
Case Generic black
Audio Device(s) Stock onboard
Power Supply FSP Aurum Gold 650W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#7
Not even Halo fans are "waiting" for this turd. I played Halo 2 on launch day, midnight November 9, 2004. Its taken way too damn long for the release, and it has a ridiculous OS restriction.
Exactly, I was playing it on November 9th, who gives a damn about it now?
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#8
This game is awesome! I still play it on my Xbox 360 and Xbox every week (almost 10,000 online matches played!!!!!), but even I wouldn't get this for PC. It took way too long to get there, only Vista, and the same graphics just higher res. Not that many great reasons to get it IMO.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#9
i'm 100% sure that patch, which will allow to play on WinXP, will appear in just a few days after release of halo2
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.34/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
#10
It's total bullshit that its a DX9 game. They have been betraying it as a DX10 game all year then they release it as a old school game. An old school game that must only be played in Vista not XP I mean WHY??? Its not DX10 so why can't we play it in XP. And from what people have been saying it looks like shit a Xbox 1 game with higher resolution.

Sorry for the rant but it's all true.

It is an xbox 1 game with higher resolution... lol... and halo2 with directx10? Wouldn't that basically be a new game.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#11
F*** MS and their, and ATI, and Halo.



I ma slightly drunk and pissed off. And really I hate MS on times like this, they kept stroking us for al of this, and all they deliver is mediocrity at bets.



F dem I say. And more Jim Beam.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,675 (0.36/day)
Likes
149
Location
Minneapolis, Mn
System Name Livingston
Processor i7-4960HQ
Motherboard macbook prp retina
Cooling Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta (240mm x 120mm x 80mm)
Memory 16Gb
Video Card(s) Zotac Arctic Storm Nvidia 980ti
Display(s) 1x Acer XB270HU, 1x Catleap, 1x Oculus
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/770087
#12
I had no hopes for this game from the beginning, now im not disappointed. I guess I should lower my standards for everything to stay happy...oh no, wait, I can just not like halo then it all works out. :)
 

Dark Ride

Mushkin Rep
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
514 (0.11/day)
Likes
28
#13
F*** MS and their, and ATI, and Halo.



I ma slightly drunk and pissed off. And really I hate MS on times like this, they kept stroking us for al of this, and all they deliver is mediocrity at bets.



F dem I say. And more Jim Beam.
What's ATI got to do with all this ? :wtf:
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#14

Zero Cool

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,197 (0.30/day)
Likes
6
Location
Prague, CZ
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Manchester BOX, 939 OC @ 2.7
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert - nForce4 SLI
Cooling 3D Galaxy II, Gigabyte CPU idle below 35C
Memory 2x 1GB KINGSTON DDR Dual Channel
Video Card(s) EN7900GTX EXTREME EDITION 2DHT 512MB
Storage Seagate 200GB 7200rpm
Display(s) ASUS MW221 < 22" WideScreen / 1680x1050
Case Sunbeam Samurai Gaming Case, Half broken by mum
Audio Device(s) Intergrated within the Mother Board 7.1 surround sound
Power Supply Chieftec 500W MODEL: CFT-5000-A12S
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#15
Vista only??? are you fucking me??? I got well over the rest of the requirments
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2006
Messages
5,100 (1.18/day)
Likes
1,255
Location
AZ
System Name Thought I'd be done with this by now
Processor i7 4790K 4.4GHZ turbo currently at 4.6GHZ at 1.16v
Motherboard MSI Z97-G55 SLI
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev B (SCMG-2100), stock on gpu's.
Memory 8GB G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series DDR3 2400MHZ 10-12-12-31
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760 Superclocked replaced HIS R9 290 that was artifacting
Storage 1TB MX300 M.2 OS + Games, 4x ST31000524NS in Raid 10 Storage and Backup, external 2tb backup,
Display(s) BenQ GW2255 surprisingly good screen for the price.
Case Raidmax Scorpio 668
Audio Device(s) onboard HD
Power Supply EVGA 750 GQ
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores no one cares anymore lols
#16
lol's at a game only payable ona dx 10 os, yet a direct 9 sm 2.0 x700 can run it?:wtf:
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#17
lol's at a game only payable ona dx 10 os, yet a direct 9 sm 2.0 x700 can run it?:wtf:
yes, from what i heard the game will be playable with dx9, so the only thing we need to do is fix *.exe file to override os checking
too much drunk ppl here today :roll:
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#18
Microsoft... This better be good. But I have to say, DX9 ftw!
 
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
158 (0.04/day)
Likes
14
Location
Sofia, Bulgaria
System Name Ales Alitis
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
Motherboard Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Cooling Xigmatek RED SCORPION-S1283; 2*120 + 1*140 case fans
Memory 4GB Kingston Hyper X DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ALBTRON 8800GT 512MB
Storage 2*Seagate SATA 160GB RAID 0; Seagate SATA 320GB; Samsung 500GB on eSATA
Display(s) KTC K-W2205S-T 22"
Case Cooler Master CM 690
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Auzen X-Plosion
Power Supply Chieftech CFT-650A-14C
Software Windows 7 RC x64
#19
well, we all know why MS did this, don't we?
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
1,455 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Location
The 13th room on the 13th floor of the 13th buildi
Processor custom dupont risk chip cpu prototype
Motherboard custom ibm x5 solid state carbon mainboard
Cooling industrial technologies prototype dupont custom heat transfer unit
Memory 6x 2gig prototype ecc hnc ddr4
Video Card(s) prototype low energy version nvidia 9 series unnumberd card
Storage 1tb solid state hdd
Display(s) 44 inch samsung plasma screen tv/monitor
Case custom ibm mobile home server case
Audio Device(s) custom Yamaha sound processing processor in spm format
Power Supply 1200watt deli cord custom made dupont type psu
Software sun unix/windows type v
#20
for the first time i have to upgrade my os in order to pay a game not the graphics card lol.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,143 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,286
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#21
well.....where do I start?

1. regarding the patch to make Halo 2 playable on XP I part of me says theres 98% chance thats not going to happen because Halo 2 runs off some features/architecture that are specific to Vista. Im not saying that its totally undoable but there will be loads of problems trying to get vista EMULATION working on XP & even then I doubt it will ever be completely bug free, there is already a program that can load like a windows 98 OS while your in XP but im not sure what that programs called. I think somebody would have to come out with a program similar to that. & since Vista isnt as black & white as say creating a patch to make programs use dual core instead of single core. also somebody will have to be willing to take their vista apart to come up with the software so maybe some nerd programmers will come out with the program (nothing wrong with nerds, in fact I salute you!) so It seems that vista emulation within windows XP is really the way to get over this without breaching copyright infringements & also waving the ability to play online possibly as somebody mentioned

2. I dont have a console, Im a non-console orientated person, Ive played on xbox's, xbox360's, PS1's, PS2's, PS3's & PSP's but the FPS game type has to be the most wank idea if youve spent most of your life playing on your pc. dont get me wrong, most of my mates have xboxs & ive invested a lot of time trying to get the feel of halo 1,2,& 3 but have insane difficulty trying to get into grips with the whole control thing with the 1 analog stick to look around & the other to move, I cant get around it let alone get the cross hair to stop exactly on something that I can kill. therefore I hate the xbox's.

call me a perfectionist asshole but im not going to waste 5mins of my time trying to zero in my cross hair just for 1 kill.

& I know some will say otherwise & argue some very valid points. but at the end of the day Im a pc man. I will live & die slumped over the keyboard with my hand on my G7 gaming mouse!!!!

3. IMO its a waste of time releasing halo 2 on pc as halo 3 has been out for xbox for so long they probably got another halo game planned & ready to go. definitly a game that wont be joining my collection. even tho I have vista Im still running XP so bill gates can suck my gingerbreadman if he thinks im going to move on to a buggy, unsupotted by a few main software companies to play his gaylo 2 on his vista

Ive said enough....If ive offended any of you with this post I apologise
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#22
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#23
Confusion-mongerers are M$ indeed. Hopefully it all goes tits up and it only sells 244 copies like they did that polished turd fista!
 

regan1985

New Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
1,450 (0.34/day)
Likes
23
Location
Coventry UNI England
Processor yorkfield core 2 quad Q8200 3.2ghz 1.26v
Motherboard asus p5Q SE
Cooling akasa ak965
Memory Kingston 1066 2x2gb 1104mhz 2.2v
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE HD 2600 XT DDR3 857/1078
Storage 2X Samsung spinpoint 500GB 7200 4x 1tb samsung eco 5400
Display(s) 2xSamsung P2270 22" Widescreen
Case NZXT Hush Quiet Case in Black
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 500w Silent Power Supply
Software windows 7 64
#24
i think this is a plan my microsoft coz i was thinking it would be a dx10 game and i was under the impression that it would look as good as it does on the 360, but i was wrong its going to looks like a improved halo 2!!

i think the plan is make people buy a 360 or vista!!
 

WarEagleAU

Bird of Prey
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
10,809 (2.59/day)
Likes
529
Location
Gurley, AL
System Name Boddha Getta Boddha Getta Bah!
Processor AMD FX 6100 @ 4.432Ghz @1.382
Motherboard ASUS M5A99X EVO AMD 990X AMD SB950
Cooling Custom Water. EK 240MM Kit, Supreme HSF - Runs 35C
Memory 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance White LP @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 6870 980/1100
Storage WD Caviar Black 1.0TB, WD Caviar Green 1.0TB, WD 160GB
Display(s) Asus VH222/S 22: (21.5" Viewable) 1920x1080p HDMI LCD Monitor
Case NZXT White Switch 810
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 5.1
Power Supply NZXT Hale 90 Gold Cert 750W Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Profession 64 Bit
#25
Why have Vista and then only require a DX9 card? You all make good points albeit in huge paragraphs that dont need to be said, but in the end, its new os with old tech. Doesnt make much sense at all to me.