• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Official Halo 2 for Windows Vista system requirements released

Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
2,717 (0.67/day)
Likes
445
Location
Blighty
System Name Skylake / Sandybridge
Processor i7 6700k@4.8 / i5 2500k@4.6
Motherboard Asus Maximus VIII Ranger / Asrock z68 Extreme4 g3
Cooling EK Supremacy MX, CoolGate 240,EK D5pwm Revo Res/ EK Supreme, swiftech 240 rad, D5 non vario
Memory 16gb G.Skill Trident Z 16gb cl16 / 16gb Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400@2133cl9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1070 / Powercolor R9 390 PCS+
Storage Samsung SM961 256gb,BX100 250gb ,kc400 512gb/ 120gb Corsair Force GT, HyperX Savage 240gb,
Display(s) Panasonic 50dx700 tv + Dell u2515 / Dell u2312
Case TTake Suppressor F51/F31
Power Supply EVGA 1000 P2 / EVGA 650 G2
Mouse G900 / G700s
Keyboard Roccat Suora FX Brown / Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Win 10 / Win 10
#26
Confusion-mongerers are M$ indeed. Hopefully it all goes tits up and it only sells 244 copies like they did that polished turd fista!
fista, lol
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
1,044 (0.22/day)
Likes
42
Location
Belfast...N. Ireland mate!
System Name Jezebelle
Processor FX6300 @4.5GHz
Motherboard Biostar A880GZ
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 2x8GB Ballistix Sport
Video Card(s) VTX3D HD 7870 Tahiti 2GB
Storage Sandisk Ultra II 480GB, Sammy 1TB F3
Display(s) BenQ Xl2411Z
Case Acer Aspire T180 stealth case
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek 7.1 HD, does the job!
Power Supply Enermax Infiniti 720W
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software 7 Pro
#27
That's what they're doing to consumers so I'll rebrand the OS as I see fit :D
 

Casheti

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
4,421 (1.04/day)
Likes
29
#28
Twats at Microsoft making people buy Vista just to play a game.

They're just ASKING for piracy..

(And I had Halo 2 AAAAAAAAAAAAGES ago on XBOX)
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#29
They say the reason Vista is a requirement has to do with the networking capabilities of the OS, and the game taps into some of the additional features. Meh, whatever. I may still get it either way. I just found out I can get Home Premium for $20 thru a work discount.
 

Zero Cool

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
1,197 (0.30/day)
Likes
6
Location
Prague, CZ
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Manchester BOX, 939 OC @ 2.7
Motherboard DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert - nForce4 SLI
Cooling 3D Galaxy II, Gigabyte CPU idle below 35C
Memory 2x 1GB KINGSTON DDR Dual Channel
Video Card(s) EN7900GTX EXTREME EDITION 2DHT 512MB
Storage Seagate 200GB 7200rpm
Display(s) ASUS MW221 < 22" WideScreen / 1680x1050
Case Sunbeam Samurai Gaming Case, Half broken by mum
Audio Device(s) Intergrated within the Mother Board 7.1 surround sound
Power Supply Chieftec 500W MODEL: CFT-5000-A12S
Software Windows Vista Ultimate
#30
Its still shitty Vista (BETA) in a way
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,605 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,282
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#31
I honestly believe the only True reason for vista is how much they stepped up copy protection ...The Hollywood folks got together and had a lot to do with vista , and that just shows you who really has the power ! lol and everyone seems to think its M$
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#32

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#33
DX9 on Vista kinda defeats the purpose for a new video game.... :p.
I'd say needing Vista to play a DX9 game kinda defeats the point of Vista :p Think M$ are hinting at their precious Vista isnt so DX10 friendly? I shall also be joining the long line of "fuck Halo 2" people, it looks wank. Plus you can kinda tell it will play like crap, a 3yr old game needing 7GB of HDD space? :wtf: I smell bugs, crap game code and sloppy uncompressed data ahoy. M$ need to learn many lessons.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#34
I'd say needing Vista to play a DX9 game kinda defeats the point of Vista :p Think M$ are hinting at their precious Vista isnt so DX10 friendly? I shall also be joining the long line of "fuck Halo 2" people, it looks wank. Plus you can kinda tell it will play like crap, a 3yr old game needing 7GB of HDD space? :wtf: I smell bugs, crap game code and sloppy uncompressed data ahoy. M$ need to learn many lessons.
Smells like something the EA programmers might crank out... :D
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#35
lmao, its funny because its true :D
 

Azn Tr14dZ

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.23/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#36
I just noticed while PC (Vista) users will play Halo 2 for the first time, I'm going to play Halo 3 (Beta)...Halo is the best shooter on Xbox (360), just not quite for PC.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2006
Messages
7,404 (1.73/day)
Likes
663
#37
I just noticed while PC (Vista) users will play Halo 2 for the first time, I'm going to play Halo 3 (Beta)...Halo is the best shooter on Xbox (360), just not quite for PC.
is there a NDA on the beta???... i wanna see some screenies :pimp:
 
Joined
May 31, 2006
Messages
1,153 (0.27/day)
Likes
108
System Name Alienware laptop
Processor intel i7-3610M @ 2,30Ghz
Motherboard dell?
Cooling 2 built in laptop cooling fans
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) AMD Mobility Radeon HD 7970 2GB GDDR5 850/1200 No overclock yet
Storage 1TB hard drive 1.5TB external
Display(s) laptop screen 17.3" 1920x1080 + LG 22" inch LCD HD 1920 x 1200
Case My laptop back pack case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster
Power Supply laptop brick
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#38
ok i bot vista and i cant wait for halo 2 i have only played it ones for about 5mins on a x box and it looked kinda crapy GFX wise and im buying it the day it comes out :p
 

bigboi86

New Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
1,442 (0.34/day)
Likes
30
Location
techPowerUp!
System Name Just getting started....
Processor Athlon II Propus 620 @ 3.51ghz (quad core) L3 cache enabled
Motherboard ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 (great heatsink, 40c max load overclocked)
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR31600 4gb 2x2
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4850 by XFX
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue WD3200AAKS 320GB SATA
Display(s) Acer 21.5 inch viewable G215H 1920x1080p, AOC 22inch 1680x1050
Case Antec 300, stock for now
Audio Device(s) Onboard, Turtle Beach headphones / crappy logitech desktop speakers
Power Supply Corsair 650 watt PSU <3
Software Windows 7 x64
#39
ok i bot vista and i cant wait for halo 2 i have only played it ones for about 5mins on a x box and it looked kinda crapy GFX wise and im buying it the day it comes out :p
I seriously doubt it will look any better on PC besides higher resolution.

For an original xbox game it looks good, to be played on a 733mhz processor with geforce2 based graphics, and 64mb ram.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#40
I honestly believe the only True reason for vista is how much they stepped up copy protection ...The Hollywood folks got together and had a lot to do with vista , and that just shows you who really has the power ! lol and everyone seems to think its M$
AnyDVD HD already broke that.
 

paulpep

New Member
Joined
May 6, 2007
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#41
ATI x700 i have 9950 ati would i need to get a change of graphics card this is only shader 2.0 do i have to get shader 3.0 yours paul
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
9,066 (2.09/day)
Likes
287
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane @ 2.8GHz (224x12.5, 1.425V)
Motherboard Gigabyte sumthin-or-another, it's got an nForce 430
Cooling Dual 120mm case fans front/rear, Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro, Zalman VF-900 on GPU
Memory 2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire X850XT @ 580/600
Storage WD 160 GB SATA hard drive.
Display(s) Hanns G 19" widescreen, 5ms response time, 1440x900
Case Thermaltake Soprano (black with side window).
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Live! 24 bit (paired with X-530 speakers).
Power Supply ThermalTake 430W TR2
Software XP Home SP2, can't wait for Vista SP1.
#42
You need a new graphics card.