• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Offset won't go under 1.296-1.315V AsRock Z370 Taichi

Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,496 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
I was wondering at what voltage my i7-8086K would do 5GHz on all cores bit with a stable offset of -50 I still see CPU-Z reading os 1.296-1.315V and a little drop to 1.264V.

I was wondering do I really need a fixed voltage to try to go down to 1.225-1.250V to test if my i7-8086K can do 5GHz at that voltage?

I am not complaning about my Cinebench R20 core is around 3794pts but I want the voltage down to reduce heat on my 240mm AIO Fractal Design Celeius S24.

I am running bios P3.20 modded by @R-T-B waiting on a newer release by him since I do not use Intel MEI.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,965 (1.10/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, 1xWD4005FZBX, 2xWD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li PC A05NB
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Behringer Xenyx 302USB
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse on Corsair MM600
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
I have the same board as you and I think there are a good bit of bugs with it that do not effect the stability of the board but do impair some of the overclock fine tuning. My Z370 Taichi acts strange with offset voltage too. I don't remember the specifics but I seem to remember it not moving voltage in a granular way with offset, it was harder to dial in as a result because it wouldn't change even with +/- 100 according to my sensor software. I also can't overclock my uncore beyond 4300, it simply doesn't change past that point. I can change my uncore all I want in Windows using XTU and go quite high with it, like 48X no problems, but not in bios, not past 4300, any additional uncore multiplier does nothing even if my CPU multiplier is above that amount.

Overall I can't complain, its a stable system that has never blue screened on me and my 8600K sits at 4.6 all cores no avx offset, 46x, and voltage sits at 1.15 in most games, 1.18V peak AVX. It overclocks ram really well too. Everything runs really fast, responsive, stable, and cool.

Also my onboard audio has a ground loop that picks up the mouse movement, but I use a USB audio card instead.

Edit: Also my vdroop could be better, even if i run a high LLC setting it droops a good bit, almost as though the LLC doesn't exist.

These issues don't really matter to me, I like having a system that never crashes ever. If I was a hardcore overclocker, however, I'd be frustrated.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,496 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
I use a Creative Sound Blaster Z with my Audio-Technica A550Z if I use onboard all audio even with mods sounds horrible because the ALC1220 cannot drive these headphones.

Hmm I wanna play around with this more because I do now want to run like 1.225-1.250V on my CPU 24/7 I don't think that's good for it.


Looks like -80 gives me around 1.264V so maybe going to -100 will make it around my target of max 1.250V without getting unstable.

But I am glad to hear @Vario I am not the only one thinking this is weird.

Just made a cinebench r20 run with a offset of -110 that gets CPU-Z to 1.248V under load with no crash at 5GHz on all cores if I do -120 in offset the CPU-Z just freezed out during Windows 10 so I guess I hit the end of the line unless I wanna go under 5GHz.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,965 (1.10/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, 1xWD4005FZBX, 2xWD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li PC A05NB
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Behringer Xenyx 302USB
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse on Corsair MM600
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
I use a Creative Sound Blaster Z with my Audio-Technica A550Z if I use onboard all audio even with mods sounds horrible because the ALC1220 cannot drive these headphones.

Hmm I wanna play around with this more because I do now want to run like 1.225-1.250V on my CPU 24/7 I don't think that's good for it.


Looks like -80 gives me around 1.264V so maybe going to -100 will make it around my target of max 1.250V without getting unstable.

But I am glad to hear @Vario I am not the only one thinking this is weird.

Just made a cinebench r20 run with a offset of -110 that gets CPU-Z to 1.248V under load with no crash at 5GHz on all cores if I do -120 in offset the CPU-Z just freezed out during Windows 10 so I guess I hit the end of the line unless I wanna go under 5GHz.
Guess so! I think 1.25V is perfectly safe, if its anything like past generations, you need to worry more about temperatures. Also check your VCCIO and VCCSA to make sure they are not overvolted. 1.05 V should be adequate for these, the specification is around 1.0 V for them. Sometimes these things get overvolted to 1.1 V and beyond.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,496 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
VCCIO is set up auto and shows a reading of 0.950V and VCCSA is also set to auto and shows a reading of 1.05V.

I guess I am going here and no need to set a value.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Location
Austria
Have a look in Intel's datasheet.
VCCIO: 1.2V +/- 5% (1.14V-1.26V).
VCCSA: 1.05V.
On "Auto" some motherboards will pump too much voltage into the CPU. To protect your CPU from your motherboard set the Long Duration Power Limit and the Short Duration Power Limit to 95 or less.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,496 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
@Pantidria when readings show what they show at auto why change them¿
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2019
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Location
Austria
With HWMonitor you can read out the System Agent Voltage and the IO Voltage of your system. On "Auto settings" they go up to over 1.3V with my motherboard.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,277 (5.04/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Guess so! I think 1.25V is perfectly safe, if its anything like past generations, you need to worry more about temperatures.
Yeah, I've always been under the impression that anything under 1.3v is safe, as long as you've got the cooling to handle it.
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,965 (1.10/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE CPU HSF, Arctic MonoPlus VGA HSF
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, 1xWD4005FZBX, 2xWD10EZEX
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 2560x1440 165Hz
Case Lian Li PC A05NB
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Behringer Xenyx 302USB
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse on Corsair MM600
Keyboard Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Red
Software Win 10 LTSC 1809
With HWMonitor you can read out the System Agent Voltage and the IO Voltage of your system. On "Auto settings" they go up to over 1.3V with my motherboard.
1.3 for those two is too high. I assume you are not running that Auto setting.

You should be able to run at the Intel specifications or slightly above. I run mine at VCCST 1.05, VCCIO 1.0. I might also be able to lower my IO to the Intel .95. That is with 3200C14 B-Die on 1.35VDRAM.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,212 (6.02/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I have the same board as you and I think there are a good bit of bugs with it that do not effect the stability of the board but do impair some of the overclock fine tuning. My Z370 Taichi acts strange with offset voltage too. I don't remember the specifics but I seem to remember it not moving voltage in a granular way with offset, it was harder to dial in as a result because it wouldn't change even with +/- 100 according to my sensor software. I also can't overclock my uncore beyond 4300, it simply doesn't change past that point. I can change my uncore all I want in Windows using XTU and go quite high with it, like 48X no problems, but not in bios, not past 4300, any additional uncore multiplier does nothing even if my CPU multiplier is above that amount.

Overall I can't complain, its a stable system that has never blue screened on me and my 8600K sits at 4.6 all cores no avx offset, 46x, and voltage sits at 1.15 in most games, 1.18V peak AVX. It overclocks ram really well too. Everything runs really fast, responsive, stable, and cool.

Also my onboard audio has a ground loop that picks up the mouse movement, but I use a USB audio card instead.

Edit: Also my vdroop could be better, even if i run a high LLC setting it droops a good bit, almost as though the LLC doesn't exist.

These issues don't really matter to me, I like having a system that never crashes ever. If I was a hardcore overclocker, however, I'd be frustrated.
I recognize this behaviour using the vcore Offset as well on my AsRock Fatality Z370. Which is practically the same board.

What you will find, probably, is that the offset vcore is governed by a third parameter: the actual frequency the CPU runs at. An offset still follows the voltage curve per multiplier as set by Intel. If you knock 200 mhz off and keep everything else the same, you will likely monitor a lower vcore as well.

At least, that is my take on this behaviour and I can reproduce it like that. Another big factor is of course the LLC setting wrt your load voltage. I am getting best results with looser setting (level 4/5), and it also keeps me away from (exceeding) the -100 offset, because high LLC will force you to lower the actual vcore/offset value.

Still is preferable to the fixed voltage though. There is quite a voltage reduction to find between tweaking the LLC level, offset value and the turbo clocks itself. I ended up dropping 100mhz just so I could end up a good bit lower on vcore and hit my sweet spot in heat/perf. If I wanted 4.8 Ghz all core, I'd be pushing 1.28-1.3v instead of 1.26v now (with level 5 LLC!), which makes my OC 'summerproof' as well :) My peak AVX load temp equilibrium is 83-85C, in a very warm room.

VCCIO/SA, yes they should be FAR lower than 1.3V. 1.2V and downwards, with 1.2V-1.25V being for serious memory OC's. You can usually drop SA a tad lower than IO. I run XMP 3200C16 2x8GB on 1.1V. Any lower and the system would run 'stable' (no BSODs or visible errors) but then you look at event viewer and notice that something is constantly throwing errors at you. So do check that too if you go low on VCCIO and SA. A CPU generating errors (OCCT is also very good at showing that in testing) will hurt performance in the end.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
13,396 (2.80/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER XC ULTRA
Storage Mushkin Pilot-E 2TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) VGA HDMI->Panasonic SC-HTB20/Schiit Modi MB/Asgard 2 DAC/Amp to AKG Pro K7712 Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (yes, it's legit.)
Benchmark Scores www.3dmark.com/fs/23478641 www.3dmark.com/spy/13863605 www.3dmark.com/pr/306218
I am running bios P3.20 modded by @R-T-B waiting on a newer release by him since I do not use Intel MEI.
Thanks for the reminder, btw. Will get working on a beta build for z370/z390 taichis today...
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,496 (1.00/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT Pulse 8GB OC / Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition 8GB
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:2xWD 4TB, 1xWD 10TB & WD 1TB
Display(s) Asus XG27UQ 4K | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Cougar Conquer "HaYaBuZa style"
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica ATH-A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro UK x64 (2004)
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
1.3 for those two is too high. I assume you are not running that Auto setting.

You should be able to run at the Intel specifications or slightly above. I run mine at VCCST 1.05, VCCIO 1.0. I might also be able to lower my IO to the Intel .95. That is with 3200C14 B-Die on 1.35VDRAM.
As I said AUTO is fine HWMonitor reports VCCST 1.032-1.040V and VCCIO 0.960-0.968V.

I don't expect to change anything this is during Cinebench R20.
 
Top