• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Old PC CPU Upgrade

Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
901 (0.21/day)
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @3.2ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Stock cooler :(
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb / 4gb Samsung DDR2 6400 2x 2gb = 8gb Total
Video Card(s) Kfa GeForce GTX 770 2gb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply 650w
Mouse Razer Diamondback
Keyboard Backlit USB Cheapo
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores very poor
Hi all ,not been involved with PC's for a good few years, kinda lost interest,but anyway...

I'm running a rather old system with
Q6600 @2.4
Asus PK5 Premium Motherboard
4gb ram ddr2
nVidia gtx 750 ti 2gb

Used to have it overclocked a few years ago to 3.2ghz for a long time then it started crashing on anything above default 2.4ghz, My question is now would it make "much" difference if I was to chuck a Q9650 @3ghz in over my Q6600?
I think its the fastest CPU my board will take and maybe 1 of the fasted socket 775 CPU's available anyway, would it make much difference, i do a little gaming obviously nothing new,but hoping it would improve frame rates a little.

I've no interest in building a new PC, to be honest and just a little speed boost would be all I need, dont have to time or money to build a new system, but a cpu upgrade and possibly a slightly better gfx card if it would help.

thanks for any suggetions :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
669 (2.81/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3733 C16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
If it’s struggling to maintain a basic overclock or 3.2, I think your motherboard may be on its way out. I don’t think a Q9650 would run very well on it. Set your Q6600 to 333 FSB (3 GHz) and see if it’ll run. If not, the 9650 won’t either as that’s a 333 FSB chip.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
570 (1.63/day)
Don't bother.
The core performance of that chip is completely outdated at this point.

Save your money and think about getting something more modern, even if in the middle-to-low-end side.
For example, a Ryzen 3600 would be orders of magnitude faster than that ancient CPU.
If that is too much, an 1600 would still serve you well and can be had for very cheap today.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,441 (3.24/day)
If it’s struggling to maintain a basic overclock or 3.2, I think your motherboard may be on its way out. I don’t think a Q9650 would run very well on it. Set your Q6600 to 333 FSB (3 GHz) and see if it’ll run. If not, the 9650 won’t either as that’s a 333 FSB chip.
Could be voltage.
@xubidoo
Have you tried bumping up your voltage one or two steps to see if it helps? As long as you don't go crazy, you won't hurt it.
Don't bother.
The core performance of that chip is completely outdated at this point.

Save your money and think about getting something more modern, even if in the middle-to-low-end side.
For example, a Ryzen 3600 would be orders of magnitude faster than that ancient CPU.
If that is too much, an 1600 would still serve you well and can be had for very cheap today.
That was not a useful suggestion. While you're not wrong, the OP did not ask if the system was out-dated, they asked for help getting it running. Context is important.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
901 (0.21/day)
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @3.2ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Stock cooler :(
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb / 4gb Samsung DDR2 6400 2x 2gb = 8gb Total
Video Card(s) Kfa GeForce GTX 770 2gb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply 650w
Mouse Razer Diamondback
Keyboard Backlit USB Cheapo
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores very poor
ok had it running at 3ghz and so far fingers crossed , ran a few games and older 3d mark a few times and so far seems ok...

I know the system is totally out dated and doesnt hold a candle to modern systems, but ive seen a few Q9650s going for around £35-40 on ebay and wondered if it would make much if any difference.
To get a better chip such as a ryzen, would mean new board,cpu,memory etc and to be honest ive no inclination at all to do it.

Im assuming a Q9650 @3ghz would still out perform my Q6600 @3ghz ?and maybe bumping my gfx up from a 750 gtx to something a little better as long as its cheap :)

If its pointless and i wouldnt see any gains then i wont bother ,just thought as they are cheap...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,441 (3.24/day)
Im assuming a Q9650 @3ghz would still out perform my Q6600 @3ghz ?and maybe bumping my gfx up from a 750 gtx to something a little better as long as its cheap :)
Yes, and yes. A Q9650 would have high headroom for a solid OC as well. Those can effortlessly go to 3.6ghz(9x400mhz FSB) on a minor bump of voltage(1.375 to 1.4). Additionally, a GTX770 would be an excellent and inexpensive upgrade as well. The gains would be worth the price of admission for those two items.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,608 (0.64/day)
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Your MB might be able to run a Modded Xeon CPU the Xeon E5450 LINK support chipset LINK
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,608 (0.64/day)
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
That is a very involved process. Can't recommend that for a non-geek, which the OP doesn't seem to be.
ah OK OK well works fine on my system and I'm a geek so :pimp: well at least with my Q6600 I was able to go @3.3 and that's it. Anything higher would crash/restart
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
669 (2.81/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3733 C16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
I wouldn't bother changing the Q6600 to the Q9650. The IPC increase isn't worth it, especially if you aren't wishing to upgrade the system anyway.

Let the Q6600 ride strong. It was an amazing CPU back in the day, and I was so happy when I finally got one... this brings back good memories. :D
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
570 (1.63/day)
ive seen a few Q9650s going for around £35-40 on ebay
That is exactly why I've told you to save your money.

That 35-40 quids are wasted money, paying for something that already belongs to your city's pile of household waste ( even if £35 seems little )

Yes, the chips were amazing for the time and I also had some WOW moments, for example when I managed to overclock my Q6600 to 3.75 Ghz (Yes, 56% overclock !).
However, the massive difference to today's chip means that even at that clock the "Core2" architecture is slower than what a modern "Lake" (Intel) or "Zen" AMD runs at minimum (idle) clocks.

Keep those 40 quids, put them in the piggy bank, put some more the next time it's raining and you don't go out... and get a proper system for 2019-2020 when you can (or when your current Q6600 dies completely... which I doubt it will, mine still runs to this day, even after that 3.6-3.75 Ghz torture)
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,608 (0.64/day)
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Would y'all think the Xeon E5450 was a good buy for me? I just wanted to try a Xeon after All. I could switch back
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
669 (2.81/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3733 C16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
You would need to modify your motherboard, your BIOS, and make a few pin modifications. You can’t just plug them in. It’s not that simple. Save your money!
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2012
Messages
1,608 (0.64/day)
System Name N/A
Processor I3 3.5GHZ (3150)
Motherboard ASRock B85M-ITX
Cooling stock
Memory 8GB
Video Card(s) XFX GTX750Ti 2GB
Storage 1TB WD and 1TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 21.5" LCD IPS
Case CoolerMaster
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Rosewill 610WATT
Mouse R.A.T3
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
No no it came like this. Look my link above. They have applied the hack/mod and it actually worked. Just curious if I made the right choice but as I said I could easily go back to Q6600

There's videos on YouTube that people show how to do it manually but Aliexpress has our backs
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
1,026 (0.24/day)
Location
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Processor i7-3770K
Motherboard Biostar Hi-Fi Z77
Cooling Swiftech H20 (w/Custom External Rad Enclosure)
Memory 16GB DDR3-2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Alienware GTX 1070
Storage 1TB Samsung 850 EVO
Display(s) 32" LG 1440p
Case Cooler Master 690 (w/Mods)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 750-TX
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard G. Skill Mechanical
Software Windows 10 (X64)
The good thing about upgrading to a Q9650 would be that it wouldn't depreciate much, if you decided you wanted to go in a different direction after trying it. You could probably put it right back on eBay or sell it locally for a similar price.

I personally went from a Q6600 to a Q9550 a number of years ago and while it was a noticeable upgrade, in terms of performance, it was nothing like the increase I got by going to a Core series CPU.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,461 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Capped off tbf.

Time for an upgrade.

No matter how much you cpu upgrade you are too far behind. A Ryzen 3 1400 is a viable upgrade.
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
47,394 (8.63/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 2700X (stock/XFR OC)
Motherboard Asus B450-i ITX
Cooling Corsair H110 W/ Corsair ML RGB fans
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS mod to Gaming Z) w/ Corsair H55 AIO
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000 Pro NVME
Display(s) Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 144hz curved) + Sony KD-55X8500F (55" 4K HDR)
Case Fractal Design Nano S
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G903 + PowerPlay mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
you wont feel any performance boost by upgrading, since the best for that socket is still really weak by todays standards. Q6600 was the king of its era, and lasted many years longer than it should have.


Todays equivalent is likely the ryzen 3600, if you do plan to upgrade.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
184 (2.04/day)
System Name Ryzen Pea's
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard Asrock AB350m Pro4
Cooling Wraith Max
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) AMD RX 580
Storage Seagate Barracuda 4TB
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case Tin box
Power Supply Corsair CX 550w
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 1024x768 32bpp @ 30FPS
A 120/240gb ssd would breath more life into that old system than the q9650, the extra 600 mhz is negligible with such an old cpu, a small cheap bump in gpu power would also be worthwhile and another 4gb ram, after that there's no point doing anything else and your next upgrade would be a new system, I did something similar with an old hp compaq a few weeks ago and went from barely running windows 7 basic with a dual core E6850, 2gb ram and 160gb hdd to running Windows 10 x64 now with 4gb ram, q9450 and 120gb ssd

Bare in mind I would only do the above upgrades if they cost next to nothing for good working used parts.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,441 (3.24/day)
@xubidoo
Seems to be alot of opinions poopooing the idea of an upgrade from your Q6600. The reality is if you go from that to a Q9650(or even a Q9550) you bump your stock FSB from 266 to 333, bump the stock speed from 2.4ghz to 3ghz and vastly improve your OC potential. Having owned both I can confidently tell you that you will notice an improvement. Keep in mind, a new CPU means new RAM and new motherboard, if you don't want or can't afford those required upgrades, a Q9650 or Q9550 and GPU will serve you well.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
234 (0.98/day)
System Name PowerEdge R730 DRS Cluster
Processor 4x Xeon E5-2698 v3
Cooling Many heckin screamy bois
Memory 480GB ECC DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) Matrox G200eR2
Storage SD Card. Yep, really no other local storage.
Display(s) It's probably a couple of boring Dell Ultrasharps and a sacrificial laptop.
Case 39U 6-rack server room with HEVC and 44KVA UPS
Mouse Maybe
Keyboard Yes!
Software ESXi 6.5 U3
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
As dumb as it sounds suggesting you spend real money on an old DDR2 platform, if you can get a Q9650 for £35 it's not a stupid idea. At the very least it will confirm whether your motherboard is dying or not, at which point you can either keep the Q9650 or sell it on again for a small loss. At least if you find out your board is dying you have a heads up and can start saving to replace it.

The alternative is to buy a whole new platform - something like an Athlon 200GE, A320 board, and 2x4GB of DDR4 for around £130 total. That's going to be better than a Q9650 but it's also four times the price.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
184 (2.04/day)
System Name Ryzen Pea's
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard Asrock AB350m Pro4
Cooling Wraith Max
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) AMD RX 580
Storage Seagate Barracuda 4TB
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case Tin box
Power Supply Corsair CX 550w
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 1024x768 32bpp @ 30FPS
I Looked at a q9650 and couldn't justify the £35 cost for the age of the platform, I got a q9450 for £12 which was a much easier pill to swallow and not too far off the performance of a q9650 in all honesty my use case is different in that this is an oem machine and I can't overclock so it's 300mhz or so in difference which won't be missed, still stand by ssd advice for such an old platform that will be like a night and day improvement imo
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
901 (0.21/day)
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @3.2ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Stock cooler :(
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb / 4gb Samsung DDR2 6400 2x 2gb = 8gb Total
Video Card(s) Kfa GeForce GTX 770 2gb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z200 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply 650w
Mouse Razer Diamondback
Keyboard Backlit USB Cheapo
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores very poor
Thats my main problem ,buying a cpu for £35 and then maybe another 4gb ram for £9 and whatever a reasonable gfx card would cost ,added up probably would be over £120 , but like i said earlier , ive no inclination to build a PC as its not used that much to be honest.

Even if i skip the gfx card and just stick with cpu+ram its still around £45 ish , decisions decisions lol ,maybe i should just not bother doing anything and leave as is ....arghh!! :D
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,461 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thats my main problem ,buying a cpu for £35 and then maybe another 4gb ram for £9 and whatever a reasonable gfx card would cost ,added up probably would be over £120 , but like i said earlier , ive no inclination to build a PC as its not used that much to be honest.

Even if i skip the gfx card and just stick with cpu+ram its still around £45 ish , decisions decisions lol ,maybe i should just not bother doing anything and leave as is ....arghh!! :D
2 choices,

Leave it alone

Save up and get a legitimate upgrade.

C2D/Q has ran its course.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2019
Messages
184 (2.04/day)
System Name Ryzen Pea's
Processor AMD Ryzen 1600x
Motherboard Asrock AB350m Pro4
Cooling Wraith Max
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) AMD RX 580
Storage Seagate Barracuda 4TB
Display(s) Acer ED242QR - 24" Curved 1080p 75Hz Freesync
Case Tin box
Power Supply Corsair CX 550w
Benchmark Scores Minesweeper 1024x768 32bpp @ 30FPS
Thats my main problem ,buying a cpu for £35 and then maybe another 4gb ram for £9 and whatever a reasonable gfx card would cost ,added up probably would be over £120 , but like i said earlier , ive no inclination to build a PC as its not used that much to be honest.

Even if i skip the gfx card and just stick with cpu+ram its still around £45 ish , decisions decisions lol ,maybe i should just not bother doing anything and leave as is ....arghh!! :D
Add the ram and ssd that's about £25 then call it a day, next time you get the upgrade itch it's new build time
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
27,461 (6.11/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Add the ram and ssd that's about £25 then call it a day, next time you get the upgrade itch it's new build time
I wouldnt spend anything on it.
 
Top