• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Old School hardware question-939

Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#1
As seen in the specs I have a s939 4000+ chip which is a single core, so there is starting to be a few games that I can't play.

My brother has the same setup with a different graphic card.

My question is if I could pick up a opty chip for say 50 or less would it be worth it since it is a dual core cpu.

I have seen on the forums and on fleebay esp. opty 165 for not much money, they say they will OC to 2.x and sometimes 3.x on a good air cooler.

Would this be a worth while upgrade to keep my 939 rig going a while longer or a wast of money... Mostly an upgrade for my bro- as he don't have the cash to rebuild right now-

My rig play most game decently, but like new games ie Saboteur and BF2 will not run, and the opty may not make enough different to play them.


Thanks
:rockout::rockout:
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
250 (0.06/day)
Likes
18
System Name Just another PC / HTPC
Processor AMD X4 955 BE @ 1.25V @ 3.2ghz / AMD 255
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990XA-UD3 f14b bios/ GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Noctua NH-U12P/ Scythe low profile something
Memory G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3-1600 / Adata ddr2-800 4GB
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 6850 / Radeon HD 4670
Storage Plextor 256GB M3S / WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Dell P2214h, Samy 2233RZ 120Hz / Samy 40" HDTV
Case Lian-Li PC-7FNW / Silverstone GD05
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro Plus+ (CMI 8788 chip) / 4670 hdmi
Power Supply Seasonic 460W plat fanless / S12II 430B
Software W7 Pro x64 / Win 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores It can run the interwebs
#2
If you can get that chip for a cheap price it would be a good upgrade, since it can usually OC to 2.4Ghz without any issues and higher with a voltage bump.

You will notice a decent difference going froma single core to a dual core also.

If I recall correctly some games like BF2 run best on 2GB + ram
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#3
if you could get one real cheap it would help i used to play bf2 css dow tf2 and the like on my opty. it was a 165 stock 1.8 ghz i got it to 2.8 easy and my board and ram where holding it back
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
If the dual core is cheap enough, it's definitely worth it. :)
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#5
Definately upgrade to dual core, if the cost is cheap enough to justify not moving to a totally new platform (as you describe it, it is)
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
499 (0.18/day)
Likes
114
Processor AMD 1300X
Motherboard ASRock AB350 Gaming K4
Cooling TR Macho Rev. A
Memory 16GB Corsair 3200 MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 560
Storage 250 GB 850 EVO, 2x6 TB WD Ae
Case Fractal R4
Audio Device(s) Aune MK2 DAC
Power Supply SeaSonic X650
Mouse Logitech G702
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
Software Win 10
#6
An Opteron 165 was my first dual core, had it on an MSI Neo4-F @ 2.8 GHz as I recall. In regards to BC2 specifically, my C2D @ 3.75 GHz was barely enough for multiplayer where a quad is quite nice.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#7
Just make sure it's the same socket, and you'll be fine.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,281 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,190
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#9
Thanks for the quick reply's!!
Sounds like it would be a decent upgrade!
My bro really wants to play BattleField Bad Company- I think that is the new one right.... and Saboteur- without breaking the bank...

So I am hoping it will upgrade it enough to be playable! LOL

Thanks for all the input guys!


I did see that- very temping- but what is up with the top of the chip being taken off... does that matter much....?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,297
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#10
my single core FX-55 & overclock AMD64 3000+ run BF2, L4D, L4D2, CoD:Mw1 & almost every valve/steam game just fine. just fine. :confused::confused: i think you mean Bad COMPANY 2

not tested that game on my single core as i only boot them up once in a blue moon (its my back up rig)

Id say definitely go for the Opty 165 if you can the motherboard you have is a really good one so unless you have extremely bad luck, you should be able to get some decent clocks. good luck anyway

it would be cool to find out how well BC2 plays on such an old system.

.:Edit:.

Just to add to that since i see you have 2Gb - try nabbing yourself 4Gb of ram & upgrading to a 64bit O/S if you can. dont worry, the opty supports 64bit computing.

ore ram would greatly help with the load times of games. and I would do that without even thinking about it was me keeping an old machine like that around for gaming
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#11
my single core FX-55 & overclock AMD64 3000+ run BF2, L4D, L4D2, CoD:Mw1 & almost every valve/steam game just fine. just fine. :confused::confused: i think you mean Bad COMPANY 2

not tested that game on my single core as i only boot them up once in a blue moon (its my back up rig)

Id say definitely go for the Opty 165 if you can the motherboard you have is a really good one so unless you have extremely bad luck, you should be able to get some decent clocks. good luck anyway

it would be cool to find out how well BC2 plays on such an old system.

.:Edit:.

Just to add to that since i see you have 2Gb - try nabbing yourself 4Gb of ram & upgrading to a 64bit O/S if you can. dont worry, the opty supports 64bit computing.

ore ram would greatly help with the load times of games. and I would do that without even thinking about it was me keeping an old machine like that around for gaming
I did mean bad Company 2... sorry-
I will try and post back here if I make the upgrade and let you know how it works.-

Good call on the 2G or ram- Would it be smart to plug in 2G more in the other mem slots or buy new and get 2x2G thought I had heard something about all 4 slots doesn't let it OC as well... or am I dreaming?
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#12
The only thing i didnt like about 939s were most were DDR1 boards. it wassnt til AM2 launched that 939 got a couple of DDR2 boards
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,297
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#13
it would be better to have 2x2Gb, a 'full stack' stresses out the mem controller and will effect overclocking.

make sure you use a 64bi OS though or you'l end up losing a lot of ram as 32bit can only see about 3-3.5GB. and GX2 will also effect how much ram your systems sees. so dont turn into the incredible hulk n throw the pc out the window when you can only see a little over 2.5Gb if you boot up with a 32bit os.

if you plan to keep this old rig on the road. especially for a gaming machine then it would be wise to upgrade the ram n get the most out of it before it eventually gets too slow for anything else but Warcraft.

but as it is - it would run most MMORPGs no problem but you dont play them games so it doesnt matter
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#14
bad company 2 is not going to be playable on anything 939skt ddr1 no matter how many upgrades you do. now Battlefield 2 is a different story
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#15
I will keep that in mind...
I appreciate everyone's input!

I am kind of keeping an eye on this:
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=126922

But what is up with the top part of the chip off.... does that matter or does it glue on?



edit:
bad company 2 is not going to be playable on anything 939skt ddr1 no matter how many upgrades you do. now Battlefield 2 is a different story
so no bad company 2.... that is a bummer.......... I can already play battlefield 2....
Sorry had the wrong one listed earlier.......
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,297
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#16
bad company 2 is not going to be playable on anything 939skt ddr1 no matter how many upgrades you do. now Battlefield 2 is a different story
no harm in trying. minimum requirements states that you need a 2Ghz core 2 duo to play BC2 and a 7800GT/ATI X1900.

the opty obviously doesnt compare to a Core 2 but if the opty was clocked way past 2Ghz it maybe able to run pretty well. but obviously without all the graphical bling that most of us run the game at. unless the game requires something from the Core 2 Duo Architecture - like a certain instruction set or something (SSE4.1??)
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#17
S939s go for a pretty penny on Ebay. you could sale the motherboard/CPU/RAM and get a nice AM2+/AM3 setup i would say
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#18
no harm in trying. minimum requirements states that you need a 2Ghz core 2 duo to play BC2 and a 7800GT/ATI X1900.

the opty obviously doesnt compare to a Core 2 but if the opty was clocked way past 2Ghz it maybe able to run pretty well. but obviously without all the graphical bling that most of us run the game at. unless the game requires something from the Core 2 Duo Architecture - like a certain instruction set or something (SSE4.1??)
Very true- If I can pick one up cheap enough- might be worth a try-


S939s go for a pretty penny on Ebay. you could sale the motherboard/CPU/RAM and get a nice AM2+/AM3 setup i would say
that is an idea also- Didn't know they were expensive on ebay?? Any idea what I might expect for the system in my specs on ebay?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#19
no harm in trying. minimum requirements states that you need a 2Ghz core 2 duo to play BC2 and a 7800GT/ATI X1900.

the opty obviously doesnt compare to a Core 2 but if the opty was clocked way past 2Ghz it maybe able to run pretty well. but obviously without all the graphical bling that most of us run the game at. unless the game requires something from the Core 2 Duo Architecture - like a certain instruction set or something (SSE4.1??)

the reason it says core 2 is due to the fact that a 2.8 ghz DC 939 based cpu has about 25% of the processing power of a core 2 @ 2.8ghz

now u may be able to get bc2 to run at 640x480 and hold 30 fps but i doubt it, i was just trying to say that it would not be worth trying to play as the performance would greatly hinder your ability to play the game.

i had an opty at 2.8 2 gb of ddr400 x1950xt an ran into issues with dow tf2 bf2142 ect where the cpu was greatly limiting the game especialy in tf2 when there was more than 8 ppl in one particular area at a time
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,297
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#20
the reason it says core 2 is due to the fact that a 2.8 ghz DC 939 based cpu has about 25% of the processing power of a core 2 @ 2.8ghz

now u may be able to get bc2 to run at 640x480 and hold 30 fps but i doubt it, i was just trying to say that it would not be worth trying to play as the performance would greatly hinder your ability to play the game
well, its all down to how well the opty overclocks - if not then at least L4D can run on it without a hitch.

dont strike the 939 out just yet ;)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
2,908 (0.65/day)
Likes
656
Location
Baltimore MD
Processor FX-8320@ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 970A-UD3
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair 1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 120G, 1TB WD Black
Display(s) Dell S2330MX
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Fatal1ty / 5.1 Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Silverstone DA750
Software Win10 pro 64bit
#21
No strike the 939 out it would be a waste to spend 50s bucks on a cpu to see a 10% performance increase.

No amount of clock speed is going to make a 5 year old cpu run current games that was the entire point of them putting core 2 or equivalent on the package.

Not to mention your still held way back by ddr1 and the rest of the components of the computer, you can think what you want and recommend someone throw money away.

I would save up and get a nice 775 skt , core2, mobo and ram for ~ $200 and see a real performance increase

Now if you just want your older games to run better get the opty for 50 bucks and be done with it
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,146 (4.41/day)
Likes
5,297
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#22
No strike the 939 out it would be a waste to spend 50s bucks on a cpu to see a 10% performance increase.
man, stop being so negative - you'l have a heart attack or something. I hardly think it will just be a 10% increase. sure the 939 isnt as fast as the Core 2 Duo but the OP isnt after Core 2 performance anywa - he just wants to get the most out of what hes got. of course it isnt going to take on a C2D, he never said it would be - and buying a opty & ram is cheaper then forking out for a completely new system 775 or not.

but your advice to upgrade has been taken into consideration & its upto what the OP wants to do
 

p_o_s_pc

F@H&WCG addict
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
13,002 (3.35/day)
Likes
2,156
Location
Newark ohio
System Name el'lappy|Cruncher | Cruncher 2
Processor intel C2D T6400 | i7 3770k @4.2ghz | AII X2 220 @3.4ghz
Motherboard some Acer | Asus P8Z77-V Pro |Gigabyter GA-M61p-S3
Cooling dual 80mm cooling fan | WC'ing ) |cheapo
Memory 2x2gb ddr3 | 2x2gb Ripjaws 1600 |4x512mb D9s
Video Card(s) onboard | 60 1GB(hd7770 ) |8800GTS
Storage Momuntus xt 320gb |Kingston Hyper X 120gb SATA III|500gb WD
Display(s) 17in | 42" 1080P HD 3D TV
Case lappy case | CM HAF XB |none yet
Audio Device(s) onboard | onboard | onboard
Power Supply Dell brick w/ acer end end | Antec EW 650w |Antec SP 350w(upg.soon)
Software Windows 7 Ult. 64bit---->------->
#23
as for the top being off of the opty chip you linked above it won't hurt anything just help lower temps but the die can be crushed/chipped/damaged easy. What cooler do you have?
 
Joined
May 1, 2009
Messages
252 (0.08/day)
Likes
65
Location
USA
System Name gamer/htpc (light gamer)
Processor i7870/i3530
Motherboard EVGA LE/Gigabyte hn55-usb3
Cooling stock/stock- for now
Memory 4g gskill/4G gskill
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 570/Gigabyte 560
Storage 7200 hard drives
Case Full ATX tower/SugoB mitx
Audio Device(s) intagrated/intragrated
Power Supply 750W silverstone/300W mini ITX
#24
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
6,281 (1.82/day)
Likes
8,190
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit
#25
I have 5 S939 systems in my house. The difference between the single and dual core is stunning. IF you can get a dual core at a decent price, go for it. Also, an upgraded graphics card will do wonders as well and don't worry about it being PCI-e version 1. Upgrading everything will cost at least $400, so $50 is well worth it. I believe the idea with removing the heat spreader on these chips is to increase cooling, but you must be very careful not to put too much pressure on them as that was also part of the heat spreader's job. I would not worry too much about the RAM. Finding 2x2 DDR1 will really set you back some dough.