1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Oldest Pentium 4

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Demos_sav, Oct 11, 2006.

  1. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Hey guys. I was wondering how many GHz is the oldest Pentium 4. That's all. Thanks for your help.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    1.4Ghz Willamette as far as I know. Even though some product specs claim to need a 1.2GHz model instead.
    The Willamette core blew though, you were better off with a Tualatin in those days.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Thanks Dan:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    What about laptops? What is their slowest Pentium 4 core?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,697 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,695
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Way true, the 1.3 Tualatin Celeron kicked the 1.8Ghz P4's butt! I went through upgrading 5 different P3 Slot1 systems to that, using the Abit "Slotket" - all lasted years.

    The problem was finding a motherboard with native Tualatin support, Abit made only one version and what a great board that was - I think it was based on the 815 chipset, can't remember the name...

    Sorry for the rant, I'm getting nostalgic :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  6. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    there is a 1.3ghz P4 for the skt 423, which i have on my other machine.

    rambus killed it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
    Thank you everybody
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Rambus was good, the performance issues weren't caused by it in any way. It was just a crap core.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,405 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
    the great wikipedia:

     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)