• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

One of the 680M SLi might be dead after an update?

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#1
My issue: one of the two 680M GPUs started displaying an "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)".
My hardware: Clevo P37EM / Sager NP9370
My OS: Windows 10 Enterprise 2016 LTSB x64

I keep the OS always up-to-date (Windows LTSB only ships security and fix updates). I also have very few softwares installed. Basically, my computer was working normally, but today I was playing Overwatch (which I always play) and after some hours, I suddenly heard a Windows beep, the game froze and the computer restarted. When I was back at the desktop, I noticed the resolution was not right and then I opened the Device Manager to see that one of the 680M was giving a Error Code 43. Both GPUs appear on my BIOS setup, the BIOS correctly identifies them as 680M.

I found it strange, so I check my GPU VBIOS and noticed something odd, one of them was at 80.04.33.00.10 and the other was at 80.04.67.00.01 (I get these drivers here). I know for a fact that since some older NVIDIA Driver, the VBIOS must be 80.04.33.00.10 or else I got some errors on this SAGER model, so I flash 33 on both a while back. I then proceeded to flash the correct version again. When I run DDU I notice it only detects the VBIOS version for one of the GPUs, the other one doesn't show the VBIOS version. My results are:

NV Driver 398.36

ROM 33
PCI BUS 2 working
PCI BUS 1 error code 43

ROM 67
PCI BUS 2 working
PCI BUS 1 error code 43


NV Driver 391.35

ROM 33
PCI BUS 2 working
PCI BUS 1 error code 43

ROM 67
PCI BUS 2 working
PCI BUS 1 error code 43


Can a Nvidia update or Windows update brick a GPU? How can I know if it's a software or hardware issue? I'm afraid that one GPU died as I don't have the money to replace it now and it would be difficult to find a spare new 680M (which is now old hardware) where I live. I'm panicking a little...
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,180 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,350
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#3
Thanks for the tons of resources, I'll break down the results by each:

Already tried, didn't work.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/...p-windows-10-how-i-solved-the-code-43-error-/
Already tried, didn't work.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/829806/sli-gtx680m-error-code-43-problem/
Same as above, DDU and reinstall. The guy didn't even return to the topic to say if it worked for him :(

http://www.tomsguide.com/answers/id-2386886/code-driver-update.html
This is very promising as the guy has the same exact computer as me. Basically they pointed him for a sager driver download page (which now is http://www.sagernotebook.com/drivers.php?cat=566). This driver is WAY old (24-Oct-12) and I've updated the nvidia driver countless times since, with them all working. Will give it a try, but I'm not happy using a WAY old driver when I had newer ones working correctly.

Update: I tried it, didn't work. Got the same error 43 for one of the cards.

https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/gt630m-error-code-43-on-windows-10-help-me-please.399626/
No use for me as the system is totally different.

http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/one-of-the-680m-sli-might-be-dead-after-an-update.820870/[/QUOTE]
It's my thread on another forum...


Basically, not a single link could help me. Is there any other way in my case? The computer is way past the warranty.

Just to add some more info: I have a TV connected via HDMI, but I always play on the laptop monitor. When it crashed the HDMI was connected, now I'm doing all the twerking with it disconnected to avoid issues.

Update, this is what I tested regarding drivers:

1530976515191.png


I'm becoming really nervous. How can I know if the GPU is dead?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,180 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,350
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#4
Have you tried a system restore point to before this problem occurred? Sometimes an OS update can cause such oddness.

1 last avenue is to have another drive with Win7 64 on it.

If that doesn't work, disable the 1 gpu and if it can be swapped go buy another.
 
Last edited:

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#6
Windows 10's first Update was well known for breaking SLI. ... and several times since.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/gordon...ws-10-automatic-update-problems/#7fdda7766fe0
I've been running Windows 10 for a long time and had no issues. I also NEVER install GeForce Experience BS, I always select clean install and HD Audio + Driver + PhysX.

Have you tried a system restore point to before this problem occurred? Sometimes an OS update can cause such oddness.

1 last avenue is to have another drive with Win7 64 on it.

If that doesn't work, disable the 1 gpu and if it can be swapped go buy another.
Sadly the screws to remove the GPU are worn out and I can't remove it (God, I hate my life... -.-). So I can't remove them. It seems it's really dead, case lost :|
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,180 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,350
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#7
I've been running Windows 10 for a long time and had no issues. I also NEVER install GeForce Experience BS, I always select clean install and HD Audio + Driver + PhysX.



Sadly the screws to remove the GPU are worn out and I can't remove it (God, I hate my life... -.-). So I can't remove them. It seems it's really dead, case lost :|
Get a small drill bit or a speedout set.
 

GlacierXD

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
13 (0.12/day)
Likes
8
#9
I had a similar issue with the same model Sager P375SM but with 2 8970Ms. After the Windows update I just cannot get them to work. Returning back to Windows 7 or flashing back to older drivers in 2017 both fix the issue. But with older drivers newer games are not that well optimized; so I'm still looking for a response from Sager right now.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,180 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,350
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
I had a similar issue with the same model Sager P375SM but with 2 8970Ms. After the Windows update I just cannot get them to work. Returning back to Windows 7 or flashing back to older drivers in 2017 both fix the issue. But with older drivers newer games are not that well optimized; so I'm still looking for a response from Sager right now.
Good luck is all i can say, thats what happens with laptops, support for old models goes down the drain.
 

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#11
I had a similar issue with the same model Sager P375SM but with 2 8970Ms. After the Windows update I just cannot get them to work. Returning back to Windows 7 or flashing back to older drivers in 2017 both fix the issue. But with older drivers newer games are not that well optimized; so I'm still looking for a response from Sager right now.
I've been running on Windows 10 for more than a year now, I've done countless Windows updates since. I don't know if my case is just a "simple" scheduled obsolescence.
 

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#12
So, I was able to remove the second GPU (MXM slot 2 according to the mobo). This may be the one that is working, because device manager says that PCI BUS 2 is the one working. So I switched the GPUs and put the GPU from MXM slot 2 on MXM slot 1 and left slot 2 empty. I tried to boot but I don't even get BIOS/POST. The machine starts but screen is black and keep restarting, also I get no beeps. What can this possibly be?

I tried CMOS reset (remove battery) and to boot with MXM slot 1 with GPU + slot 2 empty, then without all RAM, all HDDs, all GPUs, in the end I got the same issue: no screen, no bios, no beep, no fan, nothing, just keep restarting.

RESOLVED: I repeated the process of removing everything and putting them back in, now the computer is booting and going to Windows. I'll start the process of DDU+clean NV driver install to see which of the 2 GPU is working.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
23,180 (5.61/day)
Likes
7,350
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#14
Here are the (bad) results:

MXM slot 1 on mobo: GPU that was originally on slot 1 since forever
MXM slot 2 on mobo: nothing
Result: Can get into Windows. Did a DDU + clean install of NV 398.36 and restarted. After restart it reported error code 43 on device manager

MXM slot 1 on mobo: GPU that was originally on slot 2 since forever
MXM slot 2 on mobo: nothing
Result: Can NOT get into BIOS, black screen. Computer is turned on and fans are running, but I get no video output.

I know one of them is working because that's what I had before on Device Manager (one working and one reporting error code 43), but by the looks of it, both are bad, how come? What can I do? This is very frustrating
:(
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
259 (0.09/day)
Likes
139
System Name MSI GT72S 6QE
Processor Core i7 6820HK
Motherboard Intel Sunrise Point CM236
Cooling 2 fans
Memory 2x 8 GB SO-DIMM DDR4-RAM (2133 MHz)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M - 8192 MB
Storage 1 ssd 3 hard drives
Display(s) 17.3 inch 16:9, 1920x1080 pixel, LG Philips LP173WF4-SPF1 (LGD0469), IPS, Full HD
Case ??!!!
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC899
Power Supply most beautiful brick you have ever seen
#16
Try the cards separately in slot 1 ?
 

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#17
Try the cards separately in slot 1 ?
Did that already. One GPU (the one I believe is dead) can boot to Windows but gives error code 43 after DDU + clean driver install. The other (the one I believe is working) won't give video output, computer turn on, fans kick in but I get no video.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
259 (0.09/day)
Likes
139
System Name MSI GT72S 6QE
Processor Core i7 6820HK
Motherboard Intel Sunrise Point CM236
Cooling 2 fans
Memory 2x 8 GB SO-DIMM DDR4-RAM (2133 MHz)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M - 8192 MB
Storage 1 ssd 3 hard drives
Display(s) 17.3 inch 16:9, 1920x1080 pixel, LG Philips LP173WF4-SPF1 (LGD0469), IPS, Full HD
Case ??!!!
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC899
Power Supply most beautiful brick you have ever seen
#18
Thank you for clarifying. Have you reinstalled windows also?
 

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#19
Thank you for clarifying. Have you reinstalled windows also?
Put GPU1 on slot 1 and nothing on slot 2. Installed a clean original iso for Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64 and installed NV 391.37 for WIN7 x64. After install it asks me for restart and when Windows tries to load again I'm presented with the BSOD linked below. I can only boot in safe mode.

IMG_1314.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,057 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,493
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-7700K
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7-ACK & ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Kraken X41 & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3200GSKill RipJaws-V
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
#20
Are there jumpers on the GPS identifying them as primary and secondary?
Does the motherboard have a BIOS setting or jumper that turns on SLI support? (something you can disable to just use one card)
 

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#21
Are there jumpers on the GPS identifying them as primary and secondary?
Does the motherboard have a BIOS setting or jumper that turns on SLI support? (something you can disable to just use one card)
Wow, is that a thing? I thought the two were identical and the SLI would be possible just because I have two GPUs attached to the mobo and the little cable with "master <> slave" writing on it connected to the side of each GPU, also I would turn it on inside Nvidia Panel after driver install. How can I identify that? Right now, I have the GPU 1 on slot 1, this is the original position from the factory. I have nothing on slot 2 right now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,057 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,493
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-7700K
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7-ACK & ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Kraken X41 & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3200GSKill RipJaws-V
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
#22
What I mean is that you should take a close look for settings, jumpers, and/or BIOS settings that will allow you to run just one of the cards by itself.
Maybe you can replace the GPU on E-Bay if you search around for it.
 

JChris

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2018
Messages
11 (0.10/day)
Likes
0
#23
What I mean is that you should take a close look for settings, jumpers, and/or BIOS settings that will allow you to run just one of the cards by itself.
Maybe you can replace the GPU on E-Bay if you search around for it.
There's no setting in the SAGER BIOS, it's pretty basic, I also couldn't find any jumper. I'll keep this trash around, but by the looks of it it's dead. I will upgrade to a proper desktop when I have some cash, this notebook gamer BS is no more for me, things break out of nowhere and parts are scarce and way overpriced -.-
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
2,057 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,493
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-7700K
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7-ACK & ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Kraken X41 & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3200GSKill RipJaws-V
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
#24
Sorry that it didn't work out.
 
Top