• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Only 1024x768 resolution available after "wake-up"

Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
So, an interesting problem has occurred since getting this new rig together. I have my monitor and machines on a KVM and routinely work on another machine. Lately, when I come back to the new Ryzen rig, the resolution has regressed to 1024 x 768 (native 3440 x 1440), I don't have the option to change it , and windows doesn't recognize the monitor anymore. Only a reboot will restore the resolution.

I am a little baffled as to what is causing this as the issue seemed to just start today.

Edit: To add to that, power profile has sleep disabled.
 
Last edited:
D

Deleted member 163934

Guest
I'm gonna assume you are using an AMD gpu (either discret one or integrated). (Your specs still say that you have 4770K and you said Ryzen rig).

There is nothing in Device Manager in Monitors sections or you see "Generic Non-PnP Monitor" when the resolution drops to 1024 x 768 ?
When it's happening with my HD 7750 I basicaly uninstall the "Generic Non-PnP Monitor" from device manager and maybe Scan for hardware changes (if it doesn't do it automaticaly) and I'm back to normal resolution. I know it's not a real solution.
At least in my case for some reasons sometimes when it's turning off the display it's basicaly losing the monitor and when it resume i get the "Generic Non-PnP Monitor" and not the normal "Generic PnP Monitor".
I read during those years various reports regarding this problem. (I didn't had it when I was on Win 7, I started to have it on Win 8.1, even with same drivers I was using in Win 7...).

The only way to stop it from happening is to change the power plan I currently use and set "Turn off display" to "Never" and use a Screen Saver. Again not optimal because the monitor and the gpu will use more power this way but this is the only way I can make it stop.

I tried various registry settings (EnableULPS,PP***) without getting anything from them, problem still show up.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,686 (6.24/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
The problem is the KVM. It's too slow to respond when the computer requests the EDID of the display so it sees a generic monitor with no details which forces it into compatibility mode (1024x758@60). Instead of rebooting the computer, try disconnecting/connecting the cable to the monitor. If that fixes it then yeah, that's your problem.

Basically all modern KVMs require EDID emulation (so it always returns the EDID information of the connected display even if it is still waking) and if your KVM doesn't have that, you're going to run into this problem.

Here's an example of a model that explicitly mentions EDID emulation:
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
995 (2.83/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Running windows 10.
When waking from sleep and this situation happens, you can follow this easy step to recover the video driver in the push of 4 buttons simultaneously.
Ready?
CTRL, SHIFT, WINDOWS KEY and the letter B.
Then your screen resolution will be fixed in a matter of about 2 seconds.
Hope this helps, have a great day!!
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
The problem is the KVM. It's too slow to respond when the computer requests the EDID of the display so it sees a generic monitor with no details which forces it into compatibility mode (1024x758@60). Instead of rebooting the computer, try disconnecting/connecting the cable to the monitor. If that fixes it then yeah, that's your problem.

Basically all modern KVMs require EDID emulation (so it always returns the EDID information of the connected display even if it is still waking) and if your KVM doesn't have that, you're going to run into this problem.

Here's an example of a model that explicitly mentions EDID emulation:
So, now that I am not at work, I can put some more information in. I should really change it to KM as no video passes through it. All machines are hooked up directly to the monitor at all times. I was doing a lot of digging today as I ran into a problem in which clean installs of AMD drivers can jack the PSP driver (https://community.amd.com/thread/237271). After reinstalling the chipset driver (which didn't work btw), my power plan got tweaked somewhat weirdly and the drive was set to turn off after 20 minutes. After changing this back to never, the problem has seemed to have been corrected.

Running windows 10.
When waking from sleep and this situation happens, you can follow this easy step to recover the video driver in the push of 4 buttons simultaneously.
Ready?
CTRL, SHIFT, WINDOWS KEY and the letter B.
Then your screen resolution will be fixed in a matter of about 2 seconds.
Hope this helps, have a great day!!
Thanks!
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
995 (2.83/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor Lidless PGA 2700X
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Welcome. Glad you figured it out!!
Really strange a sleeping drive would create such a strange issue!
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Welcome. Glad you figured it out!!
Really strange a sleeping drive would create such a strange issue!
I agree, which is why I say "seemed". I don't think the problem is really gone.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,686 (6.24/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Since you don't need video switching, your cheapest/best permanent solution is to directly connect the monitor to the computer. DisplayPort/HDMI aren't really designed to be switched like DVI and VGA were.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Since you don't need video switching, your cheapest/best permanent solution is to directly connect the monitor to the computer. DisplayPort/HDMI aren't really designed to be switched like DVI and VGA were.
They are.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
2,481 (1.40/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
So, it just happened again. I tried Ctrl + shift + win + b but that did nothing other than make a beep. The GPU and Monitor driver are both recognized. AMD Settings panel does not detect Freesync but seems to detect everything else. Reboot it is.

EDIT:

Actually, it seems unplugging the DP cable and plugging it back in did the trick. I was browsing through the AMD Settings in the display area and it showed only a 1.6gb/s link speed. Which I don't think is DP 1.3 spec which I believe the Vega cards have. Time for a new cable I believe. Sucks because this cable is not that old and was a certified cable.
 

INSTG8R

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
5,932 (1.07/day)
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K 4.6
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) Samsung CGH70 27” 1440 144hz Freesync 2 HDR
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
It’s DP 1.4 actually and yeah a 1.4 certified cabLe is a must, even without your exotic connection a cheap cable brings it owns issues.
I thought my cable was ”good enough“ until I switched monitors and had constant signal out of a range and random disconnects and 144hz was “too much“ for it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2019
Messages
182 (1.13/day)
System Name Custom
Processor i9 9900k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z390 arous master
Cooling corsair h150i
Memory 4x8 3200mhz corsair
Video Card(s) GTX 1070ti
Storage 500gb Samsung 970 Evo PLus
Display(s) 1080P
Case Lian Li Pc-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) onboard :(
Power Supply 850w Seasonic Focus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G403
My vision is also 1024x768 when i wake up from sleep :).
But after a reboot with coffee my vision went back to 4k :).

Just being silly dont mind me.
 
Top