• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Open beta test: 4770/4890/5850/5870/5970 owners

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Right, flashed BIOS again, clocks are now increased to 900/1300Mhz stock, with 1.2V on the Memory in Register 0x15, yet clock voltage is not responding towards the changes I made in the BIOS. Any idea why not?
 

viper-dsl

New Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Okay, I own an PC 5870 LCS and so i was very happy to get RBE 1.24beta. I changed my Voltage to 1,225 volts unter Pressure and so, i get 1000 mhz cpu. I think that it would be enough. I used an ASUS bios. It works very fine.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Okay, I own an PC 5870 LCS and so i was very happy to get RBE 1.24beta. I changed my Voltage to 1,225 volts unter Pressure and so, i get 1000 mhz cpu. I think that it would be enough. I used an ASUS bios. It works very fine.
Could you maybe provide a link towards the BIOS you used on the techpowerup BIOS section, and also tell em which of the following registers you altered for the 1.225V? I tried both 0x15 and 0x18 which didn't change a thing for me sadly :(
 

1keith1

New Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2010
Messages
15 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
I tried the 1.24beta and i got a working bios of 725/1205 with all mem clocks at 1205, I did leave core voltage and speeds at stock though but i am glad this has fixed my flickering issue and there is no longer a need for a profile in CCC!
:D
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Abrantes\Portugal
Processor C2D E8400 @ 4Ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asus P5Q SE PLUS
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Video Card(s) HD4770 795\990 1v
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Acer x223w Q
Case CM 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Software Windows 7 Profissional x64
HI,i have a Powercolor HD 4770 1st version and the rbe continue the same like version 1.22 or 1.23.

I just can raise the voltage until 1v, after that the sistem would recognize de videocard or just stay iqual like original bios.
 

Logikos

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name Custom Rig
Processor Intel i5-750 2.66Ghz , OC'ed to 4.011Ghz.
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory OCZ Obsidian PC-1600
Video Card(s) ATi HD 5850
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB
Display(s) View Sonic VX2265wm 120Hz LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair TX-850Watt
Software Windows 7 - 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 4.8Ghz with room on the CPU,.. Memory at 39ns..
The voltage increases seem to be working from my testing on the 58xx cards.. I assume it works on 5xxx cards as such.

nuno_p: I'm not sure I understand your post completely, but I will try.

You should download the 1.24 version of RBE.

Then, (if it is similar for the 4770 as it is the 5 series) , then you will want to use the GPU register button and change the 'highest' voltage setting there to your desired voltage.

Though, there is a limit to how high you can just raise the voltage I'm sure without problems, so you might be at limit, I am really not familiar with the 4770 in this regard.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Abrantes\Portugal
Processor C2D E8400 @ 4Ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asus P5Q SE PLUS
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Video Card(s) HD4770 795\990 1v
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Acer x223w Q
Case CM 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Software Windows 7 Profissional x64
Like i said on the other topic:

"I tried again to change registers and now i can reach 1.1v but not more than that.

better than nothing.

Edit: in msi afterburner i can raise until 1.2v."

I hope you understand the problem now. ;)
 

Logikos

New Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
5
System Name Custom Rig
Processor Intel i5-750 2.66Ghz , OC'ed to 4.011Ghz.
Motherboard Gigabyte P55-UD4P
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory OCZ Obsidian PC-1600
Video Card(s) ATi HD 5850
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 1TB
Display(s) View Sonic VX2265wm 120Hz LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Onboard HD
Power Supply Corsair TX-850Watt
Software Windows 7 - 64Bit
Benchmark Scores 4.8Ghz with room on the CPU,.. Memory at 39ns..

BAGZZlash

RBE Author
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
587 (0.14/day)
Likes
346
Yeah I noticed that, but it looked like the 1.24 RBE was modified in Feb, so I figured it must be the latest.. but maybe it isn't. Bagz?
RBE 1.24 (Feb 2, 2010) used, but how can i get latest version of RBE to test?
Don't you think RBE v1.24 is a more recent version than v1.24beta? I took the beta offline so noone get this mixed up. Just download the official v1.24 release and be happy! :)
 

Pagode

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Like i said on the other topic:

"I tried again to change registers and now i can reach 1.1v but not more than that.

better than nothing.

Edit: in msi afterburner i can raise until 1.2v."

I hope you understand the problem now. ;)
I used asus top 4770 signature file and it allowed me to raise voltage to 1.3v along with core clock up to 1ghz and memory 1,2ghz. Try it.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Abrantes\Portugal
Processor C2D E8400 @ 4Ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asus P5Q SE PLUS
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Video Card(s) HD4770 795\990 1v
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Acer x223w Q
Case CM 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Software Windows 7 Profissional x64
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
24 (0.01/day)
Likes
6
Location
Abrantes\Portugal
Processor C2D E8400 @ 4Ghz 1.25v
Motherboard Asus P5Q SE PLUS
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory G.SKILL PC2-8500 2x2Gb PI
Video Card(s) HD4770 795\990 1v
Storage Samsung F1 640GB
Display(s) Acer x223w Q
Case CM 690 II Advanced
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Software Windows 7 Profissional x64
No, you can't. 5xx0 cards are not yet supported for signature frankensteining.
ups, sorry.
I thought that would work on all graphics cards
 

scamps

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
12
Can RBE change the CCC Overdrive limits? Like how ASUS 5850 & 5870 Core clock slider goes to 1200mhz.

If so, then it would be nice to make a custom bios out of this [S3C00101.104]: http://www1.sapphiretech.com/global/lib_files/120.zip
No, you can't. 5xx0 cards are not yet supported for signature frankensteining.
:confused: öhm, but I already did it :confused:

this bios is modified in this way:
http://www.speedshare.org/download.php?id=6515D99811

original data is this one:
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/65298/ATI.HD5850.1024.091211.html

not only put the gpu-voltage to 1,225 V, the clock info 00 on 1000/1300 and clock info 04 + 05 ram on 1300 - I changed the upper limits with "method 2 - no hash" to 1201/1406
and it is accepted by CCC ... and already running well for some days :D
 

BAGZZlash

RBE Author
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
587 (0.14/day)
Likes
346
I changed the upper limits with "method 2 - no hash" to 1201/1406
and it is accepted by CCC ... and already running well for some days :D
Method 2 - Maybe. But method 1 should definitely not be used as the overdrive data structure changed for 5xx0 BIOSes and a signature transplanting could render the BIOS inoperable.
 

The Sauce

New Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
I'm trying to decide which option to use for my HIS HD5850. If Method 2 works for all 58xx cards (is this certain?) then is there any reason to flash to a different manufacturer's (ASUS) BIOS? The purpose of doing that is to just change the clocks anyway, right? If this does the same thing it seems easier. Is it also as safe though? I probably won't go over 1.15v. Which would you recommend?
 

scamps

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
12
I'm trying to decide which option to use for my HIS HD5850. If Method 2 works for all 58xx cards (is this certain?) then is there any reason to flash to a different manufacturer's (ASUS) BIOS? The purpose of doing that is to just change the clocks anyway, right? If this does the same thing it seems easier. Is it also as safe though? I probably won't go over 1.15v. Which would you recommend?
Actually I read of some Powercolor LCS (5870), Sapphire (5850+5870) and even one Gigabyte 5870 card where the flash did not work (clocks or voltages were not changed). But all those had no problems to flash back to their original bios. So try it - the risk is not so high.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
356 (0.09/day)
Likes
37
Processor AMD Ryzen 3 1200 @ 3.7 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming PRO
Cooling 2x Dynamic X2 GP-12
Memory 2x4GB GeIL EVO POTENZA AMD PC4-17000
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Radeon RX 560 2GB
Storage Samsung SSD 840 Series (250GB)
Display(s) Asus VP239H-P (23")
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C TG
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar U3
Power Supply CORSAIR CX450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K65
Software Windows 10 Pro (x64)
Method 2 is definitely working for 58xx cards
That said, Method 2 does not appear to work with the Sapphire Vapor-X 5750. If I recall my (very late night) testing yesterday, Overdrive would still load and appear to be activated, but would not apply new settings, nor would it show the new limits. Reinstalled drivers several times. Reflash to original BIOS resolved the issue.

Oddly enough, GPU-Z seemed to report the card running at whatever I set the max to. By which I mean, using no modifications other than Method 2 bumping the Overdrive limit to 1Ghz, the card would load up and run 1Ghz at idle, despite the actual Overdrive panel showing stock settings and stock limits.

(Tried Method 1 as well, but having read the thread, I realize now that it shouldn't!)

Voltage control does not appear to work either. Any modification will cause the card not to recognize and drivers will not activate. I know the standard Sapphire 5750 uses the uP6201BQ controller, which is officially not able to be programed, though I'll have to check and see what it is on the Vapor-X when I'm home...

Would be happy to post up my original and/or modified BIOS if you'd like to look into it.

[EDIT] Damn! uP6201BQ on the Sapphire too... Call me ignorant, but if these things don't have software control, how is it that they can adjust the voltage down for PowerPlay? [/EDIT]
 
Last edited:

scamps

New Member
Joined
Oct 24, 2006
Messages
29 (0.01/day)
Likes
12
Method 2 - Maybe. But method 1 should definitely not be used as the overdrive data structure changed for 5xx0 BIOSes and a signature transplanting could render the BIOS inoperable.
Method 2 is definitely working for 58xx cards
Zoork did post a link to a new Sapphire-5850-Bios (of January) and reported his success in tweaking and flashing:
http://www.hardwareluxx.de/community/showpost.php?p=13960935&postcount=901

Did the same: voltage to 1,225 V, clocks to 1000/1300 and clocks max settings to 1104 and 1406 with method 2. No problem incl. idle states:

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top