• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Open Office and Fedora 13

Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Okay, so I installed Open Office on my laptop with Fedora 13. I opened Write, and everything worked fine. Awhile later I restarted my laptop and went to open Write again and... absolutely nothing happens. I'm not to great with Linux so I would appreciate so advice on this matter. I'm enjoying using Fedora, but I'm finding this mildly frustrating.

-Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#2
I've had similar problems before, opening a program but nothing happens. Never found a solution, though...
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
1,261 (0.44/day)
Likes
328
Processor Core i7 920
Motherboard Asus P6T v2
Cooling Noctua D-14
Memory OCZ Gold 1600
Video Card(s) Powercolor PCS+ 5870
Storage Samsung SpinPoint F3 1 TB
Display(s) Samsung LE-B530 37" TV
Case Lian Li PC-B25F
Audio Device(s) N/A
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#3
This isn't a solution and I have no experience with Fedora, but maybe Abiword (abierto = open) would work, I use it.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#4
Okay, so I installed Open Office on my laptop with Fedora 13. I opened Write, and everything worked fine. Awhile later I restarted my laptop and went to open Write again and... absolutely nothing happens. I'm not to great with Linux so I would appreciate so advice on this matter. I'm enjoying using Fedora, but I'm finding this mildly frustrating.

-Thanks
can you launch the program from the command line?
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#5
restart , open task manger kill any office process or find its process id and do kill -9 id#
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#6
Won't run via command line. No Office processes to kill...
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#7
use yum to uninstall OoO then reinstall from the RPM pacakge off the website
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
Okay, got it.

For anyone else who has this problem from the root directory run

yum remove openoffice*

then run

yum install openoffice*

problem solved and you don't have to deall with rpm.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#9
the rpm would probably be a newer version, not sure how often the reps are updated ;)
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
I tried the rpm twice and had the same problem both times.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#11
probably some missing dependancy. yum and RPM and nearly as at dependancy resoltion as the debian system. You could always compile from source.
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#12
probably some missing dependancy. yum and RPM and nearly as at dependancy resoltion as the debian system. You could always compile from source.
That is greek to me, I'm really just starting to learn Linux. I've had it installed for 3 days, which is a Linux record for me.
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#13
Its rewarding when you figure it out....im still learning, after a couple years
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,721 (0.60/day)
Likes
415
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green, 512 GB Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#14
You'll pick up Linux real quick-like.

My biggest problem at the mo is finding where the hell everything is.....
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#15
You'll pick up Linux real quick-like.

My biggest problem at the mo is finding where the hell everything is.....
check the fedora docs. required reading for any linux flavor is the directory structure!!
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#16
several basic programs, like firefox for instance, are in your home directory, putting a . in front of folder/file name makes it hidden, ctrl + H will show hidden files /usr/local/games for some games. Yea, reading is required :)
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,721 (0.60/day)
Likes
415
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill FlareX
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green, 512 GB Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#17
I know all that, but it still isn't natural to me (I have to whip out my linux tri-fold reference thing whenever I have to look real hard for something).
 

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#18
i always aimed to make a binder for myself for the various things i always seem to screw up, lol. Good one to learn how a computer works though, linux doesnt hide anything from ya!
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#19
when i was first starting out with teaching myself bsd i had a little black book that i would write in all of the things i was learning. it helped a lot!
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.79/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#20
Now my wireless spontaneously quit working. Linux is frustrating. Maybe Ubuntu or Kubuntu is better for a nub than Fedora?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#21

monte84

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
153 (0.04/day)
Likes
23
System Name HeadShot
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.71 1.45V (265*14) 41C load Prime95
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
Cooling Corsair H60 Push/Pull config
Memory 2*4GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 @ 1766 (265*6.66)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte HD6950 2GB Unlocked Shaders 840 core/1300 mem
Storage 2*Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Display(s) Samsung 32in
Case Corsair 400R Carbide
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion w/ OPA627AU OPAMP & AKG-K601
Power Supply TT 850watt TR2-TRX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
#22
Agreed. My machine hates Fedora, or the other way around. Will not load web pages. i can ping www.google.com just fine but cannot load the web page. I can load the webpage by its IP address though. gave up on it, its a nameserver issue, but its all correct. :\

It just takes awhile to find the distro for you. i did most of my lerning on debian.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
178 (0.06/day)
Likes
46
Location
~/
System Name Slackware Linux
Processor yes
Motherboard yes
Cooling currently convection, but considering mineral oil
Memory sometimes fails due to too much beer
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD5570 series
Storage IDE
Display(s) 32" LCD TV
Case sometimes
Audio Device(s) huh? what? speak up, I can't hear you
Power Supply yes
Software Slackware running Open-Source software (it doesn't get any better)
#23
A little over a year ago, I had very VERY VERY slow internet on Linux/BSD
while the one Windows machine we have had fast internet. :confused:

Long story short...

My ISP gives 3 addresses for DNS and one of them was not there (offline).
(a year later and it's still not there)

Initially I made a little script removing the bad address running via cron
(because of DHCP updates), but now I just use google's DNS,
had to do a chattr +i on my /etc/resolv.conf which prevents updates.

Blazing fast internet with Linux :D

try pinging you DNS addresses
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,414 (3.53/day)
Likes
4,275
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#24
all of my problems with fedora are selinux related and their software firewall related. everything else is always top notch.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
178 (0.06/day)
Likes
46
Location
~/
System Name Slackware Linux
Processor yes
Motherboard yes
Cooling currently convection, but considering mineral oil
Memory sometimes fails due to too much beer
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD5570 series
Storage IDE
Display(s) 32" LCD TV
Case sometimes
Audio Device(s) huh? what? speak up, I can't hear you
Power Supply yes
Software Slackware running Open-Source software (it doesn't get any better)
#25
Yes I had problems with my samba server on Fedora.
Clear one day, blocked the next.

I only had fedora for a week, but my daughter has been
using it for a long time now without issue.