• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OpenCL support

kanenas

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hello.

Are there some special requirements for GPU-Z (v0.5.0) in order to identify the OpenCL capabilities of a card?

I use it in a Win7 x64 system with a mobility ATI HD-4670.

The installed drivers support OpenCL and GPU Caps Viewer 1.9.5 has no problem identifying it and run its tests.

No GPU-Z version up to now could identify it in my system and wonder where it's getting thrown off.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.95/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#2
Hello.

Are there some special requirements for GPU-Z (v0.5.0) in order to identify the OpenCL capabilities of a card?

I use it in a Win7 x64 system with a mobility ATI HD-4670.

The installed drivers support OpenCL and GPU Caps Viewer 1.9.5 has no problem identifying it and run its tests.

No GPU-Z version up to now could identify it in my system and wonder where it's getting thrown off.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
You need to install the stream sdk ( or APP as it's now known) for it to show up in cpu-z.

Certainly with 5xxx and 6xxx cards anyway.
 

kanenas

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Thanks for the link.
I had already picked up ratGPU but never tried it.

On first try, it hung my system.

Second time I read its notes. No ATI HD-4xxx support. It claims it misses some required functionality. There goes ratGPU...

I suspect it has to do with the lack of Image Support in my card.
GPU-Z and some other software I try to get to work are probably looking for it and they just don't say.
Your new card probably has it that's why it's working.

Check it with GPU Caps Viewer.

Tools->Full XML Report
In the OpenCL section I have:
- CL_DEVICE_IMAGE_SUPPORT: NO

You must have a 'YES' there.

Too bad I don't have the luxury of changing to a better card in the laptop.

Thanks again.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2009
Messages
9,767 (2.95/day)
Likes
1,779
Location
Suffolk/Essex, England
System Name Joseph's Laptop Clevo P771ZM
Processor 4970k @4/4.4ghz
Motherboard *shrugs*
Cooling About 2 kilos of copper fins and pipes.
Memory 2x 8gb
Video Card(s) GTX 970m 6gb
Storage 500gb Msata SSD 2x 2TB storage drives
Display(s) Built in
Power Supply 300w power brick
Mouse Steam controller
Software Windows ten
#5
Thanks for the link.
I had already picked up ratGPU but never tried it.

On first try, it hung my system.

Second time I read its notes. No ATI HD-4xxx support. It claims it misses some required functionality. There goes ratGPU...

I suspect it has to do with the lack of Image Support in my card.
GPU-Z and some other software I try to get to work are probably looking for it and they just don't say.
Your new card probably has it that's why it's working.

Check it with GPU Caps Viewer.

Tools->Full XML Report
In the OpenCL section I have:
- CL_DEVICE_IMAGE_SUPPORT: NO

You must have a 'YES' there.

Too bad I don't have the luxury of changing to a better card in the laptop.

Thanks again.
Did you try installing this also?

http://developer.amd.com/gpu/AMDAPPSDK/Pages/default.aspx
 

kanenas

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Yes of course. v2.3

Without it there wouldn't be any OpenCL identified by anybody.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2010
Messages
206 (0.08/day)
Likes
93
Location
Germany
#7
I suspect it has to do with the lack of Image Support in my card.
GPU-Z and some other software I try to get to work are probably looking for it and they just don't say.
Your new card probably has it that's why it's working.

Check it with GPU Caps Viewer.

Tools->Full XML Report
In the OpenCL section I have:
- CL_DEVICE_IMAGE_SUPPORT: NO

Too bad I don't have the luxury of changing to a better card in the laptop.
OpenCL detection also fails with Cedar 5470 which supports the extension above.

Is your laptop also an "Intel HD + ATI hybrid" like mine?
Probably GPU-Z checks the capabilities of the Intel GPU instead of the ATI GPU?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,215 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,412
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#8
its not a question of your GPU supporting OpenCL - its more about what PROGRAMS support OpenCL - AFAIK, there are only a small handful of programs that fully utilise OpenCL on ATi/AMD cards.

then theres the group of people who think that installing OpenCL gives them an Extra 200+ points in benchmarks and some 'notable' performance increases in games but who knows. Performance is more of a subjective thing, and at the end of the day it only makes a small difference which some will notice and some wont
(hence the term subjective - just because there are no "knowns." There are things we know that we know. There are known unknowns. That is to say there are things that we now know we don't know. But there are also unknown unknowns. There are things we don't know we don't know)
 

ONH

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#9
As you sayed a handfull of programs support OpenCL, an on small HD4000 card as good as on HD5000.
GPU-Z does display OpenCL as unsupported on dv6 Notebook with AMD Processor and Mobility Radeon HD4500/HD5100 Seriese GPU, with CCC 11.1 ocl installed, while OpenCL Applications run nicely on it. Wold be nice if it wold be corrected in future versions of GPU-Z.
Since not all GPUs suport OpenCL 1.1, it would be nice to get the Supported OpenCL Version displayed somewhere (I know the ist not much space left, without making the App bigger) .
 
Last edited:

kanenas

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#10
Sorry for being late to respond. I've been busy lately.

@StephanM
My system is not a hybrid. Just an ATI card in it.

@FreedomEclipse
I don't much care for benchmarks or play games. But I use some graphics applications and would like to utilize some addons for them that take advantage of the GPU for rendering. It's either OpenCL or get an nVidia card for my laptop which of course I can't do.
Some of them work in spite of GPU-Z, some work badly and some don't.

It would be nice if GPU-Z could point out what capabilities it thinks are out of spec.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,170 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,147
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#11
gpuz really just tries to initialize an opencl context on the graphics device, if that works -> yes
if not -> no

could you post a screenshot of some opencl diag tool that shows the device name ? maybe gpuz is looking for the wrong device
 

ONH

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
12 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#12
Btw for Rendering ratGPU is very bad. Try Luxrender Instead it should get soon the smallluxGPU feature which runs fine even on HD4000 Cards.


Here I've seen that even with Nvidia CUDA GPU-Z doesn't show OpenCL.
 
Last edited:

kanenas

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#13
gpuz really just tries to initialize an opencl context on the graphics device, if that works -> yes
if not -> no

could you post a screenshot of some opencl diag tool that shows the device name ? maybe gpuz is looking for the wrong device
Here you go:



 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,170 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,147
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#14
Btw for Rendering ratGPU is very bad. Try Luxrender Instead it should get soon the smallluxGPU feature which runs fine even on HD4000 Cards.
http://i.imgur.com/kXWM8.png

Here I've seen that even with Nvidia CUDA GPU-Z doesn't show OpenCL.
that was the info i needed:
CL_DEVICE_NAME => RV710
GPU-Z GPU => M92

that's why GPU-Z didn't find opencl. it looked for a device called M92 whereas the actual device is called RV710.

I changed that in the attached build, please give it a try.

kaenas, can you post a gpu-z screenshot please?
 

Attachments

Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,170 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,147
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#16
try the attached build, opencl detection for m96
 

Attachments

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,170 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,147
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#18
try the attached build for park, madison and broadway opencl detection
 

Attachments

kanenas

New Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
16 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#20
The M96 mod worked just fine. Thanks a bunch.

Should we expect these changes in an official forthcoming version or should we stick with these modded versions?

Thanks again for taking care of this.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2009
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Lima,PE
Processor Amd Phenom II X4 965 Be
Motherboard Gigabyte 78lmt-s2p
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu 2x2 GB
Video Card(s) XFX HD 5770 1GB DDR5
Storage WD Caviar Blue 500 GB
Case Cooler Master Haf 912
Power Supply Cooler Master Elite 460W
Software Windows 7 x64
#23
Hi all, any chance for support for my old HD 4770 RV740
Some pics:


 
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5,026 (1.55/day)
Likes
1,271
Processor Intel Core i7
Motherboard MSI P67
Cooling Cooler Master
Memory Kingston
Video Card(s) temporarily Palit (formerly Inno 3D)
Storage Seagate
Display(s) Acer 23"
Case Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply FSP 700W
Software Windows 7
#24
Would be bumping this by posting, but after I updated to 270.61, this happened:


When I was still using the 266.58 drivers OpenCL was checked, but now it isn't.
 

djsebfr

New Member
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
4 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#25
Hi there,

I have the same problem than entropy13...

Open CL is not checked in Gpu-z 0.5.3 with my MSI 560-Ti Frozr II... Drivers 270.61 whql.

bye

Hi it's ok now with 275.27 Beta drivers.

 
Last edited: