• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Optimal settings for the intel Core-i7 8550U CPU?

Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
I have an Acer E5-576G-81GD with An intel core i7 and an nvidia mx150. My thottlestop settings look screwed up and I cannot find any info online for this laptop model. I have the latest BIOS installed on my system (1.49) and my cpu likes to stay at 2.2GHz. Is there a way to undervolt my cpu with throttlestop or get good settings to have this run at 3ghz when in utilization? I would also like it to save power when needed or not doing intense work so it stays at a cool temp. Like low watts and stuff when I'm doing things like watching YouTube and its not locked at 4Ghz but when the TDP is reached it locks the clocks when I know its not using as much. Any solution or better settings for this?

When it says Power limit 1 or 2, the watts the package is using is only around 12.
 

Attachments

  • Annotation 2020-04-03 174616.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 174616.png
    132 KB · Views: 1,050
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 174526.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 174526.png
    75.2 KB · Views: 1,146
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 174504.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 174504.png
    90.2 KB · Views: 948
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 174445.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 174445.png
    265.7 KB · Views: 936
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 174424.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 174424.png
    23.1 KB · Views: 932
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 174257.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 174257.png
    148 KB · Views: 832
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
2,773 (1.29/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.4
Processor R9 5900X
Motherboard B550M TUF Wifi (2006)
Cooling NH-C14S iPPC
Memory 32GB 3600 16-19-19
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (0.981V)
Storage 3TB SX8200/SN750/Blue3D
Case Sliger Cerberus
Power Supply Seasonic SGX-650
I have my 8550U at -0.1V core and -0.08V cache. However, mine is an XPS 9370 and doesn't have a discrete GPU. It works well enough for productivity and media. No stability issues, but i also don't play games on my ultrabook so ymmv.

Most people recommend up to -0.1V for stability, with -0.08V being assuredly achievable with just about every chip.

I experimented for a little while with slightly reduced turbo bins across the board, but that just made it slower when on battery. On battery, it never goes to 4GHz anyways, and never really gets that hot. Stock turbo is 40x 40x 38x 36x I think.

I really don't know if capping it to 3GHz is desirable on this CPU. Is your battery life or stock cooling solution really so bad that it's necessary to shave off 1GHz? I only started undervolting to address the horrendous temepratures whenever mine is on AC; reduced turbo bins and -0.1V reduces my plugged in temps 15-20c.

Keep an eye out for the Plundervolt updates, not sure when or how Acer's will be applied.

Wait are you trying to up base clock to 3GHz and all turbo bins to 4GHz??
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
I have my 8550U at -0.1V core and -0.08V cache. However, mine is an XPS 9370 and doesn't have a discrete GPU. It works well enough for productivity and media. No stability issues, but i also don't play games on my ultrabook so ymmv.

Most people recommend up to -0.1V for stability, with -0.08V being assuredly achievable with just about every chip.

I experimented for a little while with slightly reduced turbo bins across the board, but that just made it slower when on battery. On battery, it never goes to 4GHz anyways, and never really gets that hot. Stock turbo is 40x 40x 38x 36x I think.

I really don't know if capping it to 3GHz is desirable on this CPU. Is your battery life or stock cooling solution really so bad that it's necessary to shave off 1GHz? I only started undervolting to address the horrendous temepratures whenever mine is on AC; reduced turbo bins and -0.1V reduces my plugged in temps 15-20c.

Keep an eye out for the Plundervolt updates, not sure when or how Acer's will be applied.

Wait are you trying to up base clock to 3GHz and all turbo bins to 4GHz??

I have arctic silver 5 thermal paste on my cpu and gpu and normal throttles keeps temp at a 75c

The cooling looks something like this:

Also I have Notebookfan control and have the ability to max the fan speed when needed.

End of the day, When my laptop is plugged in, I want up to 4ghz when needed. On battery, no turbo boost at all
 

Attachments

  • Annotation 2020-04-03 180755.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 180755.png
    121.5 KB · Views: 311
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
My desired speeds
AC: Turbo 4GHZ

Battery: No turbo 1.8GHZ

THIS is the desired performance I want! It just goes away quickly. Notice how its using 44 watts though. Its plugged in. How do I keep it that way so only thermal limits are the bottleneck?

Left image: Throttling issue, Middle image: My expectations, Right image: Default OEM settings

I tried undervolting by 0.1 and it seems stable. What does this exactly achieve again? Less heat or power consumption?
 

Attachments

  • Annotation 2020-04-03 182748.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 182748.png
    202.2 KB · Views: 724
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 183108.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 183108.png
    151.4 KB · Views: 836
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 183520.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 183520.png
    88.4 KB · Views: 710
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
2,773 (1.29/day)
Location
Western Canada
System Name Austere Box R1.4
Processor R9 5900X
Motherboard B550M TUF Wifi (2006)
Cooling NH-C14S iPPC
Memory 32GB 3600 16-19-19
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Super FE (0.981V)
Storage 3TB SX8200/SN750/Blue3D
Case Sliger Cerberus
Power Supply Seasonic SGX-650
Undervolting is to reduce temperatures. Perhaps you might get a slight reduction in power, but it's secondary to temperatures. A lot of laptops like mine are overheating out of the factory because 1) 14nm++++ 2) terrible cooling solutions.

Is it still throttling at 0.1v?

I don't think 40x all core turbo is stock. Did you change the turbo bins in Throttlestop to be 40x 40x 40x 40x? That's quite a bit of heat to demand of a laptop. Like I said, I believe the stock turbo bins on the 8550U is 40x 40x 38x 36x for 1-4 cores respectively.

No idea what's going on off battery. Mine boosts to about 3.5GHz for short duration on battery, and up to 4GHz on AC. What Windows power plan are you on when you're unplugged? It honestly sounds like the Power Saving plan to me.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
I'm on balanced. Thats what I want. And its not a heat issue, its power limits. This happens with high performance also enabled

my temps are at 75C with arctic silver 5 thermal paste. So its fine. It stays like that when its throttling also so the temps never really go any higher.

This is the issue, see the temps? They are stable. The power consumption is being throttled and at 2.5Ghz

Also my stock is x40 x40 x37 x37

On the 2nd image does this look good?

UPDATE: on the 3rd image this was the temps and clocks for a short time. Any idea on how to make that sustained as long as its cool enough? So when it cools down it bumps back to 47watts and so on so forth but not throttling to 18watts and 2.2ghz when it throttles once

The 4th image is the throttling I'm talking about. The thermals are stable and I want it to go back to the higher speeds and not stay at the lower speeds.
 

Attachments

  • Annotation 2020-04-03 185718.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 185718.png
    178.6 KB · Views: 528
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 191128.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 191128.png
    88.3 KB · Views: 554
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 191413.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 191413.png
    149.1 KB · Views: 558
  • Annotation 2020-04-03 191720.png
    Annotation 2020-04-03 191720.png
    151 KB · Views: 423
Last edited:

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,414 (0.72/day)
You have your power limits set backwards. Setting Long to 17 and short to 44 makes sense. The way you have these set makes no sense.

For a short period of time it is OK for the CPU to use more power. After 28 seconds (the turbo time limit), it is OK for the CPU to go to a lower power number. The Long power limit should always be less than or equal to the Short power limit.

Typical values for your CPU are Long = 25W and Short = 44W.

Setting all of the turbo ratio limits to 40 will not accomplish anything if this CPU does not support that request. Set these back to their default values. You cannot overclock a locked CPU. TS 8.74 will show you what the default turbo ratio values are.

I would clear the BD PROCHOT box in ThrottleStop. Your CPU will thermal throttle to protect itself whether this box is checked or not. Thermal throttling is controlled by the PROCHOT (processor hot) signal. It is not controlled by BD PROCHOT.

Make sure you are using the FIVR - Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits feature. You will need to install the RwDrv.sys file into your ThrottleStop folder. The Install button beside this feature explains this. You can download the necessary file from Mega.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
It helped! I installed the beta and things look more stable the problem Is that it now is going back to 18watt and not 47watt after a short amount of time. Any way to make it last longer?

Its not thermal throttling. The 47watt boost does last slightly longer though (around 3 seconds)

Its constantly EDP Other on everything right now and it actually lasted 5 seconds on my 2nd run. Mostly halted because of power limit 1 and 2. Will undervolting more help this?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
UPDATE: I got access to advanced BIOS settings and have access to 100's of more options, including C states, and power limits along with TDP limits, turbo limits, and much more. The only thing I have changed so far is set Energy Efficient Turbo to disabled. Any other suggestions on what I should change here? @unclewebb

I'm looking to unlock unlimited power limits while not completely maxing everything out. (Like 4Ghz always) This is because my CPU sometimes throttles to 18 Watts/2.5Ghz as an EDP limit. The temp also stays at around 68C while the CPU makes no attempts to turbo higher
1619985199825.png

1619985218821.png

1619984997528.png

1619985047270.png

1619985155565.png

1619985100872.png

1619985241577.png

1619985175159.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
Some of these settings seem to be placeholders for different laptop designs like IR support

My desired speeds
AC: Turbo 4GHZ

Battery: No turbo 1.8GHZ

THIS is the desired performance I want! It just goes away quickly. Notice how its using 44 watts though. Its plugged in. How do I keep it that way so only thermal limits are the bottleneck?
Still desiring to be able to achieve this constantly but now I have access to more BIOS settings @unclewebb
Of course I would probably lower it slightly to give my CPU room to breathe.
 
Last edited:

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,414 (0.72/day)
@Michael19264 - You have to be careful when playing with an unlocked BIOS. It might be trouble if you enable a feature that is not supported.

Are you seeing EDP OTHER throttling or PL power limit throttling under the CORE column of Limit Reasons?

Did you max out the IccMax values in the FIVR window? Use ThrottleStop 9.3

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
@Michael19264 - You have to be careful when playing with an unlocked BIOS. It might be trouble if you enable a feature that is not supported.

Are you seeing EDP OTHER throttling or PL power limit throttling under the CORE column of Limit Reasons?

Did you max out the IccMax values in the FIVR window? Use ThrottleStop 9.3


I Maxed out IccMax on CPU core and cache. Do I need to do any others?

Also it went from PL 2 on core along with EDP OTHER on RING to the limits below
1620096952659.png
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,414 (0.72/day)
@Michael19264 Your screenshot shows PL1 power limit throttling at 15W. Your CPU has a 15W TDP limit. If this limit is being enforced, there might not be any way to get around this limit.

In the FIVR window do you have Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits checked? Is PL1 set higher than 15W in the TPL window? Usually if those two things are taken care of then there is no way beyond 15W.

Can you adjust Power Limit 1 and Package TDP Limit higher than 15 in the BIOS? If you make any changes in the BIOS, you will need to delete the ThrottleStop.INI configuration file so ThrottleStop does not try to use your previous settings when you start it.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
@Michael19264 Your screenshot shows PL1 power limit throttling at 15W. Your CPU has a 15W TDP limit. If this limit is being enforced, there might not be any way to get around this limit.

In the FIVR window do you have Disable and Lock Turbo Power Limits checked? Is PL1 set higher than 15W in the TPL window? Usually if those two things are taken care of then there is no way beyond 15W.

Can you adjust Power Limit 1 and Package TDP Limit higher than 15 in the BIOS? If you make any changes in the BIOS, you will need to delete the ThrottleStop.INI configuration file so ThrottleStop does not try to use your previous settings when you start it.
Yes ^


These seem to be the settings here. Wouldn't this fry my CPU or would it be fine? Also how would I be able to do this? If you want I could provide the BIOS explanation.
1620097962779.png


Bios Explanation:

1st image is an interesting voltage setting. The rest are attached
1620098845365.png
 

Attachments

  • 1620098886452.png
    1620098886452.png
    1 MB · Views: 12
  • 1620098903070.png
    1620098903070.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 10
  • 1620098920410.png
    1620098920410.png
    997.4 KB · Views: 8
  • 1620098940160.png
    1620098940160.png
    1.1 MB · Views: 9
  • 1620098952268.png
    1620098952268.png
    1 MB · Views: 8
  • 1620098962164.png
    1620098962164.png
    1,021.7 KB · Views: 7
  • 1620098975223.png
    1620098975223.png
    1 MB · Views: 10

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,414 (0.72/day)
At the top of that screenshot it shows Power Limit 1-----15.0W

That is the one that needs to be changed but it is in black so it does not look like it can be changed there. Keep looking.

I think all of those other ConfigTDP power limits can be left as is.

I have zero experience with this. Some users have made one change and have bricked their laptops. You really need to think twice if making a change is worth it. Hitting the Save button could end up changing some items that you did not intend to change.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
I'll think about it for awhile but I might consider switching "Configurable TDP boot mode" to "up" which sets the TDP limit to 25W
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,414 (0.72/day)
ThrottleStop already gives you access to the Configurable TDP settings. I think long term that the 15W power limit overrides any of the configurable TDP settings.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
Here is what the limits look like right now

Setting TDP level control to 2 seemed to do nothing btw

1620099744018.png
 
Last edited:

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,414 (0.72/day)
PL1 is set to 30W but this does not matter if internally it is being overridden by a 15W limit. That is the problem. The turbo power limits are duplicated. You can still have an embedded controller (EC) feeding power limit info to the CPU. When this is happening, the changes made in ThrottleStop are ignored.

The screenshot shows TDP Level is at level 0. On the right hand side you can change the 0 to a 2 and you can check the TDP Level Control box. When you press the Apply button, you should see ThrottleStop change from TDP Level 0 to TDP Level 2.

Looks nice but once again, this setting can be overridden internally by the EC. Give that a try but don't be surprised if it does not fix the problem.

Same with all of the settings that are in the unlocked BIOS. They might not solve this problem if the EC has been programmed to enforce a 15W limit.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
These forums help explain what I am planning on doing better



If I were to set the TDP Boot mode to "up" wouldn't that set my Power limit 1 to 25W?
1620156635318.png

Since that it is on Nomial, the settings below match. Now if I set it to "up" then those should match and I would get 25W of Power Limit 1 and the 2nd limit should be unchanged
1620156654877.png


@unclewebb
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
3,414 (0.72/day)
If I were to set the TDP Boot mode to "up" wouldn't that set my Power limit 1 to 25W?
When you use ThrottleStop to enter TDP Level 2 does your power limit increase to 25W? It probably does but for how long?

It would be great if you could run your CPU endlessly in TDP Level 2 but I think the EC can limit you to 15W at any time.

In your screenshot where it says (MSR: 15.0) that is the 15W turbo power limit that you can adjust in the ThrottleStop TPL window. Increasing the MSR power limit does not solve your throttling problem so there must be another 15W limit being enforced.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
When you use ThrottleStop to enter TDP Level 2 does your power limit increase to 25W? It probably does but for how long?
It does not seem to change anything.

in any chance, anyone have issues with TDP Boot Mode bricking machines? I wanted to set it to "up" in case the BIOS is preventing throttlestop from changing those limits.

Ok so I tried to Set the limit to 1 which should set the TDP to 10 at 800Mhz, but the computer seems to be ignoring it. Does that mean that the BIOS option might work then if I set "TDP Boot Mode" to up? I was thinking that it would work like it did for this person @unclewebb


Or setting Power limit 1 here to 200000
1620170919849.png


I feel like taking a break from this for now until someone can confirm that it won't brick anything (Or very unlikely/shouldn't)
 

Attachments

  • Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    249.7 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
18 (0.03/day)
1620255494571.png

What if I did this? (Set Power limit 1 to 16W) @unclewebb (Also the throttlestop TDP level values get completely ignored)

I also got back from my laptop once again freezing when I left it idle for a while. (Keyboard backlight will light up once but never again when I press a key until I hard reset) (Also fans run at a static speed). I looked in the event logs and nothing. I have tried everything at this point. Just asking in case if you knew of what that issue was and if there is a fix.
 
Last edited:
Top