• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Optimize Windows 7 Under a Crappy CPU ?

Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,799 (0.42/day)
Location
Slovenia
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 OC@ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 860 Evo, 850 Evo, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB,WD30EFRX,WD40EFRX
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair H750W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Win7 - Win10 - LMint
Hi

I've got an old friend's PC to repair that's just for basic multimedia stuff nothing else.

I've managed to do some optimizations, and heavily on the desktop visual stuff, it improves the lag incredibly, moving and resizing windows is basically lagless now, still CPU is so weak it basically lags the mouse

I though it was mouse lag before, and i've just upgraded from 512MB to 1536MB, got DDR2 extemely cheap so why not, it's working great now, it was horrible before.

So it's not RAM, it's definitely CPU



This is before I made the Visual Effects modifications in Performance Options stuff in System Settings (it's already non-aero). You can't see the mouse here, but it was at the top of the taskmanager windows I was moving up and down, normal speed, no any deliberate fast movements, it was extremely annoying It would never be accepable if this was my PC.


Anyone has any more ideas, I've already gone through all the "10 steps to make win7 faster" and other tinkertoy stuff around the web, most of the stuff will not affect CPU, only one out 10 sites I checked has the Visual Effects mentioned that really helped a TON.

I have all the non-essential services disabled, ..etc
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 9, 2009
Messages
1,614 (0.38/day)
overclock the cpu? are any newer/faster/multicore ones available on that socket? the older AMD singlecores certainly struggle with multiple processes/threads compared to hyperthreading (in my experience with an overcolcked athlon xp-m vs a pentium 4)
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,634 (2.43/day)
Location
Home
System Name Orange!
Processor 3570K
Motherboard ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 570
Storage Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) LG 22EA53VQ
Case NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Corsair CXM500w
Install linux
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,053 (8.30/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03, Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro, ModMic
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
You have 46 background processes going on. You should be able to slim that down into the 30's. Thing is, it really won't help very much with a single core CPU.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,178 (1.15/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ Neo rgb 3600mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
windows classic skin + set visual effects for best performance
and stop trying to multitask
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,245 (3.18/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
I'm gonna guess that if He/She gave it to to "fix", that they have Little or no experience with PC's, atleast in the maintenance area. My suggestion would be that if You CAN'T get it to handle such simple task's as desktop functions , and there is NO other program running in the background hogging CPU, or RAM, and bringing down performance, Legitimate, or malware/Virus, etc. Then it LOOK'S like it might be time to make the jump into a NEWER system.Unfortunately, I cannot see the PC in question's Spec's , but really, it would cost a MINIMAL amount of Cash to invest in a new, more powerful CPU, or even used More powerful CPU. Even with a motherboard upgrade the costs would be Minimal. If it's an older LGA, or AMD socket type that your friend has reached the "end of the road" so to speak with, as far as a More powerful option(No room for upgrade without moving to a newer socket type), Then maybe you could take this opportunity to make a few WELL deserved upgrades, Otherwise something tell's Me You'll be "working" on their PC again sooner than later. thats My opinion. If buying a few new part's is OUT of the question, then Maybe a Less intensive O.S. , like linux, or something like it?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,799 (0.42/day)
Location
Slovenia
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 OC@ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 860 Evo, 850 Evo, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB,WD30EFRX,WD40EFRX
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair H750W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Win7 - Win10 - LMint
Install linux

long story, not an option


I'm gonna guess that if He/She gave it to to "fix", that they have Little or no experience with PC's, atleast in the maintenance area. My suggestion would be that if You CAN'T get it to handle such simple task's as desktop functions , and there is NO other program running in the background hogging CPU, or RAM, and bringing down performance, Legitimate, or malware/Virus, etc. Then it LOOK'S like it might be time to make the jump into a NEWER system.Unfortunately, I cannot see the PC in question's Spec's , but really, it would cost a MINIMAL amount of Cash to invest in a new, more powerful CPU, or even used More powerful CPU. Even with a motherboard upgrade the costs would be Minimal. If it's an older LGA, or AMD socket type that your friend has reached the "end of the road" so to speak with, as far as a More powerful option(No room for upgrade without moving to a newer socket type), Then maybe you could take this opportunity to make a few WELL deserved upgrades, Otherwise something tell's Me You'll be "working" on their PC again sooner than later. thats My opinion. If buying a few new part's is OUT of the question, then Maybe a Less intensive O.S. , like linux, or something like it?

1. not the main pc
2. casual use only
3. didn't ask for a new PC
4. barely made it to work, i was just looking for some extra speedups.
5. it was working slower when I got it (4 years old install of winXP)
6. profession of fixing things is trying to fix not replace, that's what I do best, I already managed to get it work
7. money is not an issue but we don't have kind of "wasteful" lifestyle around here :p




windows classic skin + set visual effects for best performance
and stop trying to multitask
I was trying to tell that that's only part of the problem, the CPU is hogging even when opening browser windows, installing programs, etc

The user is probably not as demanding as I am at all, but you know, i still try to do my best as I always put things in expecting the worst, not trying to make it appear good when it's not, like other people try to explain their way to make it seem better.

Definitely don't want to overclock because i don't want instability, it was BSOD that's why they brought the PC for a fix.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (0.90/day)
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
overclock the cpu? are any newer/faster/multicore ones available on that socket? the older AMD singlecores certainly struggle with multiple processes/threads compared to hyperthreading (in my experience with an overcolcked athlon xp-m vs a pentium 4)
The issue is still the RAM too. You only have 20MB free. Should have upgraded him to 4GB.

The CPU spike is a background APP, the antivirus or something else that's hugging the CPU. Do a full format and reinstall windows.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,446 (3.08/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly repaired Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
That CPU shouldn't do that. With the visual effects turned off it should be ok. I've used Windows 7 with slower systems (with 2GB RAM though) and it was surprisingly quick.

Anyway what erocker said, kill everything not absolutely necessary. You can look around for a cheap dual core as well.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,235 (0.31/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor R5 1600 Pinnacle Ridge @ 4,0Ghz || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard B450 I AORUS PRO WIFI || default
Cooling Corsair H100i + frankenstein loop H80i modded onto 290|| Stock
Memory 2x16GB G Skill || 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1050MHz / 1825MHz || RX 560X
Storage Samsung 960 Evo + Tiered Storage Space (128Gb SSD + Striped 2x1TB HDD) || 128GB SSD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Depending on what graphics hardware is in there you might get better results by running windows 8 aswell, because its optimized for less capable systems and has more hardware acceleration. Don't know whether that is an option though.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,799 (0.42/day)
Location
Slovenia
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 OC@ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 860 Evo, 850 Evo, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB,WD30EFRX,WD40EFRX
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair H750W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Win7 - Win10 - LMint
You have 46 background processes going on. You should be able to slim that down into the 30's. Thing is, it really won't help very much with a single core CPU.

Those are just normal, i usually don't have as much svchosts on my, and i don't have rundll32 and WUDFhost, but some of them seem to go on and off an are usually at fresh install, I also don't have taskeng, this is completely different hardware so that's maybe some different behavior from windows, but there's also one Unknown Device that i have no idea and since already everything works it's fine, it was also a pain in the ass finding the drivers for all this, glad I could make it work.





Also to note, now that I'm basically done, I will also uninstall the wireless PCI card and it's drivers, maybe it'll improve something, but as you can see the DPC latency wasn't the problem in this case.


Depending on what graphics hardware is in there you might get better results by running windows 8 aswell, because its optimized for less capable systems and has more hardware acceleration. Don't know whether that is an option though.
The user did not want to have win 8.


The issue is still the RAM too. You only have 20MB free. Should have upgraded him to 4GB.

The CPU spike is a background APP, the antivirus or something else that's hugging the CPU. Do a full format and reinstall windows.
Sorry, I think I forgot to mention that this is a fresh reformat reinstall from XP. I assumed people know I know what I'm doing so I just got straight to the main point :p


Referr to this thread to understand all the "stanby, free, available" memory terms in windows http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/win7-memory-cache-further-analyzing-mapped-file.144712/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2013
Messages
3,178 (1.15/day)
Location
GMT +2
System Name Red Radiance l under construction
Processor 2600x
Motherboard x470 taichi
Cooling stock wrath
Memory TridentZ Neo rgb 3600mhz (2x8 kit)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 nitro+
Storage 970 evo nvme
Display(s) c27gh70
Case tt core x5 tge
Audio Device(s) sennheiser's pc323d usb soundcard
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse roccat leader
Keyboard roccat ryos mk fx
Software windows 10
replace nod32 and malwarebytes with avast.
if zoran has router turn off win firewall and setup router firewall.
turn off that nv driver help as well
change ms office with libre office or if this is not option remove ms office speed up from startup (cant remeber what was exact name but you will find it in msconfig and/or start up folder)
and realy change to windows classic skin. it really makes huge difference.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,799 (0.42/day)
Location
Slovenia
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 OC@ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 860 Evo, 850 Evo, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB,WD30EFRX,WD40EFRX
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair H750W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Win7 - Win10 - LMint
It already is classic skin, just, I left one tick on that actually makes it still look like Win7 :p

But I tested it and, it actually is fine like this, might be ofcourse faster with that but it looks weird to me :p, mostly because buttons are different sizes and I get dizzy, not whining about looks.

Because that's my opinion, I'll have the guy to test it and he can choose, as usual.

 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (0.90/day)
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
Sorry, I think I forgot to mention that this is a fresh reformat reinstall from XP. I assumed people know I know what I'm doing so I just got straight to the main point :p


If its a fresh windows then the high CPU usage is probably windows update. It will hide in the background eating up resources until its downloaded fully.

What happens if you disable windows update?
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
199 (0.05/day)
Location
Kent, UK
System Name 8086
Processor Intel Core i7 8086K
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming ITX/AC
Cooling Corsair H100i PRO XT w/ Corsair ML120 White LED x2
Memory 32GB (2x16GB) Ballistix DDR4 3600MHz C16 1.35v Micron Rev. E
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1070 Mini 8GB
Storage 250GB 970 Evo NVMe + 500GB 850 Evo + 250GB 850 Evo + 3TB Toshiba HDD + 5TB Seagate External
Display(s) 31.5" AOC CQ32G1 2560x1440 144hz Curved VA + 21.5" HP 22xi IPS + 60" Samsung JU6800 UHD TV
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C TG w/ Corsair ML120s+140s White LED
Audio Device(s) Onboard ALC1220 + Logitech z623 2.1
Power Supply 850W Seasonic M12II Modular
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || Linux Mint 19
Benchmark Scores None. Primary uses are browsing, music, gaming (mostly Battlefield & Doom) and virtualization!
Did you install 64bit Win 7? I'd suggest 32bit if you're low on ram
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (4.83/day)
I ran windows 7 on my TV (Yes it has a AM2+/3 system INSIDE it) and with the original low watt dual core and 1GB ram it was super sluggish and would skip during video play even on youtube and also max out the cores alot and this was on a clean install. I upgraded it to a low watt quad core with 4GB ram and its run smoothly now
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.25/day)
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
Yeah what the ppl above said, forum find or ebay a cheap used dual core and 4gb ram if u can.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.14/day)
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
If you're familiar with disabling services you can always trim down the non-essential ones. Black Viper's website is a great resource for definitions on services and which ones he deems suitable to be disabled. Always make a note of what you're disabling and what the original state was and do not disable essential services.

Hopefully that'll help lower the resources being used. Don't expect a miracle cure though.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,847 (0.81/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
The cpu is not crap. I'm still running my original athlon 64 3500 in a test PC. Stop insulting such a wonderful piece of silicon. Windows sucks, but does work fine on it.

The only thing it needs is a modern gpu to accelerate video.

I can game on that cpu and put the ps3/360 to shame.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.40/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
So what CPU you got in that old rig, Ruski?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2008
Messages
7,665 (1.71/day)
Location
Hillsboro, OR
System Name Main/DC
Processor i7-3770K/i7-2600K
Motherboard MSI Z77A-GD55/GA-P67A-UD4-B3
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14CS/H80
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (2 x 8GB) LP /4GB Kingston DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 660 Ti/MSI HD7770
Storage Crucial MX100 256GB/120GB Samsung 830 & Seagate 2TB(died)
Display(s) Asus 24' LED/Samsung SyncMaster B1940
Case P100/Antec P280 It's huge!
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply SeaSonic SS-660XP2/Seasonic SS-760XP2
Software Win 7 Home Premiun 64 Bit

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.40/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Really? It's in the OP.
Now I see it. <facepalm> I did look for it, lol.

Been a long day at work.

I've got a socket 939 single core Athlon 64 running at 2GHz which works quite smoothly on W7, so I would have expected this one to be that little bit better than mine. The smaller RAM will make a difference though as W7 really wants a minimum of 2GB.

My one's been donated to a friend and is only used for the basics like internet and email.
 
Last edited:

MxPhenom 216

ASIC Engineer
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
12,314 (3.34/day)
Location
Longmont, CO
System Name The Battlestation
Processor Intel Core i7 8700k @ 4.8GHz 1.28v
Motherboard MSi Z370 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling EK Supremacy w/ EK Coolstream PE360 & 6x Corsair LL120s - Hardline tubing
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 32GB 3200 14-14-14-34
Video Card(s) Where art thou RTX3080 ?
Storage Samung 970 EVO 250GB (OS), Samsung 970 EVO 1TB (Games)
Display(s) Dell S3220DGF 32" 1440p Freesync 2 (G-Sync) HDR 165Hz | 2x Asus VP249QGR 144Hz IPS
Case Lian Li PC-011D
Audio Device(s) MSi Gaming AudioBoost ALC1220 w/ Sennheiser Game Ones
Power Supply Seasonic Flagship Prime Ultra Platinum 850
Mouse Razer Viper
Keyboard Razer Huntsman Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
I do not think the CPU is at fault. that 1.5GB of ram is.

Even if you upgraded to 1.5GB. That is still not quite enough for Windows 7.

Also, some people might flame me for this recommendation, but install ccleaner and run the registry repair thing and clean that up. I usually do that on VERY old systems that I get and its like a night and day difference.

Also what anti virus is on that system other than malwarebytes on the desktop?
 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,307 (5.03/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 9900K@5.0GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
The RAM is not the issue, he has plenty of RAM free. Even in the pictures in the OP he has 512MB just sitting there unused. And in the later pictures there is close to 1GB going unused. This isn't a RAM issue. Windows 7 runs fine on 1GB of RAM if you don't have a bunch of crap running in the background and don't have a bunch of stuff open.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2009
Messages
1,799 (0.42/day)
Location
Slovenia
System Name 2013Plus
Processor Intel Core i7 3820 OC@ 4.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus P9X79
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory Corsair Vengeance 24GB 1333MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire ATI Radeon RX 480 8GB
Storage Samsung SSD 860 Evo, 850 Evo, WD1002FAEX,4xWD10EZEX,2xWDGreen2TB,WD30EFRX,WD40EFRX
Display(s) Asus PB328Q 32' 1440p@75hz (prev. Asus VG278 144Hz)
Case Cooler Master CM Storm Trooper
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Corsair H750W
Mouse Mad Catz RAT5
Software Win7 - Win10 - LMint
Look guys you don't have to keep suggesting hardware replacements and anything else, this is already done basically, I was just looking for some extra advice on software optimizations.

If its a fresh windows then the high CPU usage is probably windows update. It will hide in the background eating up resources until its downloaded fully.

What happens if you disable windows update?
Nothing, that's already all disabled. I don't use it either. Updates provide nothing, they usually mess stuff up, it's just some security stuff that I don't care much since I don't have anything of big private importance on PC, neither will the user as we speak.


The cpu is not crap. I'm still running my original athlon 64 3500 in a test PC. Stop insulting such a wonderful piece of silicon. Windows sucks, but does work fine on it.

The only thing it needs is a modern gpu to accelerate video.

I can game on that cpu and put the ps3/360 to shame.
Well I see the CPU spiking, but it could be the GPU indeed, it's some integrated nvidia stuff in ... takes like 65MB of RAM or something, hardware reserved.



I do not think the CPU is at fault. that 1.5GB of ram is.

Even if you upgraded to 1.5GB. That is still not quite enough for Windows 7.

Also, some people might flame me for this recommendation, but install ccleaner and run the registry repair thing and clean that up. I usually do that on VERY old systems that I get and its like a night and day difference.

Also what anti virus is on that system other than malwarebytes on the desktop?

33% of the memory is empty, the guy won't open more than 1 friefox window or more than 5 tabs probably, 1500MB is way enough, the key is having at least 700MB for the whole stripped down windows 7 fit on the RAM, then it shouldn't lag as much even if pagefile is used, the default RAM consumption of default Win7 is 1.1GB.

Refer to this thread to learn more about Windows RAM readouts: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/win7-memory-cache-further-analyzing-mapped-file.144712/


Anyways that's not even the correct picture, this is fresh reboot here:

 
Last edited:
Top