• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Origen AE S21T HTPC Enclosure

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#1
The Origen AE S21T with a retail price of about $1000 is the company's flagship HTPC case. Its features like unique layout, incredibly solid construction, modern design, 12.1 inch full HD capable motorized dropdown touch screen and insane price are something you will not find in any other HTPC enclosure. It created a lot of waves as soon as first images surfaced on the Internet and was a big attraction at CeBIT this year.

Show full review
 
Last edited:

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#2
I am curious if your ati drivers cause the display limitation. Without CCC installed windows will let me select up to 1920*1440 on my trinitron, once drivers are installed anything past 1600*1200 will lead to scrolling. Going into CCC and changing the monitor properties will let you have full resolution. That should let you run full 1920x1080.
 

ex_reven

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2006
Messages
5,217 (1.27/day)
Likes
159
#3
That case is extremely sexy.
It looks crappy in white though from those photos, reminds me of a cheapy plastic microwave :p

The fingerprinting part also sucks.
 

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#4
I am curious if your ati drivers cause the display limitation. Without CCC installed windows will let me select up to 1920*1440 on my trinitron, once drivers are installed anything past 1600*1200 will lead to scrolling. Going into CCC and changing the monitor properties will let you have full resolution. That should let you run full 1920x1080.
newest ATI drivers were installed. The manual actually does mention the fact of 1280x800 native res as well and that 1920x1080 will cause scrolling. The hardware used, was connected to a Dell 24 inch before being inserted into this case, which runs at 1920x1200 as well.

cheers
DS
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#5
This is my dream chassis - kinda wish I hadn't have left my job now I've seen the price here in the UK.

:(

Still, y'paying for quality and a 12.1" TFT. ;)

Just imagine 5TB of capacity and a watercooled Crossfire set up. Be the best HTPC/gaming rig ever. Obviously, the chassis has to be black. ;)
 

Darksaber

W1zzard's Sidekick
Staff member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Messages
2,642 (0.58/day)
Likes
1,074
Location
Gmunden, Austria
System Name Core i7 Overclocked - Main Workstation
Processor Core i7 940 at 3.66 GHz
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe
Cooling Noktua U14P Super Silent
Memory 3x2GB OCZ 1600 MHz CL8
Video Card(s) 2x MSI Cyclone Radeon 6850 1GB in Crossfire - tuned to be silent
Storage G.Skill 240GB Sandforce SSD, 1x 640GB Samsung F1, 2x500GB Samsung Spinpoint, 1.5TB External Samsung
Display(s) Samsung 305T 30" 2560x1600 DVI LCD
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCIe
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 750W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
#7
Well guys, thought i let you know, there is a way to display 1920x1080 content on the screen without the need to scroll. You can scale the image on the built-in TFT setting yourself, down to the 1280x800. Which means, you take the real 1920x1080 size and simply make it fit the native res. So technically it works :)

The review has been updated to mention that.
 

casperse

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
Hi one BIG Question!

In the review its stated:

Setting up the display did yield a surprise. It works at 1920 x 1080 but the desktop ends up being bigger than the 12.1 inch screen. This leads to a scrolling screen on the TFT. The native resolution is a much more down to earth 1280 x 800. This is something you find on every notebook these days. I was under the impression that the display is actually capable of displaying the full HD resolution on the actual screen real estate. Now when using clone mode video cards allow you to setup scaling and scrolling which will result in the scrolling of the 1920 x 1080 size on the 1280 x 800 native resolution by default, however you can change the video driver settings to use the TFT panels build-in scaling to fit the 1920 x 1080 image onto the 1280 x 800 screen.

I am running Windows 7 Ult. and with the newest driver for ATI 4700 series...

How do you enable the panels build-in scaling?
Does it require the Touch drivers from the S21T page?

Thanks for a great review...one of the reasons I bough it!
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
4,059 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,122
Location
Geneva, FL, USA
Processor Intel i5-6600
Motherboard ASRock H170M-ITX
Cooling Cooler Master Geminii S524
Memory G.Skill DDR4-2133 16GB (8GB x 2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte R9-380X 4GB
Storage Samsung 950 EVO 250GB (mSATA)
Display(s) LG 29UM69G-B 2560x1080 IPS
Case Lian Li PC-Q25
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Seasonic SS-460FL2
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
LOL, read through the whole review wondering why Darksaber is talking about X800, HD2900XT, and 8800GTX...

Too bad they haven't gotten any cheaper since 2007. At $1200, Vidabox is actually selling it for more!