• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Original BIOS]256MB Ati radeon 9600xt Sapphire 500/600

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#1
For anyone who wants an original Bios, I get it from my video board, I made a bios backup because I want change the 600ddr, 300 mhz, bad memory chips ( some colorfull :banghead: lines in my screen) to anothers good ones, but I am searching for new ones with the same specification, but It's hard to find, thus I will change the chips to 400ddr memory chips, very cheap and easy to be found. I sucessifull changed the memory frequence to 200 mhz. Flashed a new bios, derivated from my original one.

PS:The bios in attachment is original Ati radeon 9600xt Sapphire 500 mhz clock / 600ddr. Enjoy :)

My card overview:
Card Overview

My card description:

256MB DDR high performance two-channel DDR memory interface accelerates the latest 3D applications
Highly Optimized 128-bit 2D engine with support for new WindowsXP GDI extensions
3rd Generation Visual Processing Unit (VPU) comprised of 4 rendering pipelines and 2 geometry engines
Fully compliant with PC 2002 requirements
Supports the AGP 8X and AGP 4x standard
Full support for DirectX® 9.0 and the latest OpenGL® functionality
128-bit floating-point color precision allows for a greater range of colors and brightness

I hope that you understand my awful english :toast:
 

Attachments

Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Messages
219 (0.04/day)
Likes
18
Location
In Front Of My PC
System Name VisheraX8
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.00GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9900 NT
Memory 4 x 8GB Kingston HyperX Beast 2133MHz
Video Card(s) ATI RADEON HD 7770
Storage 48TB Total + 250GB Samsung SSD 840 Pro
Case AirCool Predator
Power Supply Antec High Current PSU 1200W
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro X64
#2
Thanks for the useful post.....

welcome to TPU.
 

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#3
When my new vga arrives (for my new computer) , XFX 8600 gt 512MB, I will try post the bios too.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,215 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,409
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#5
I have a Hercules 3D Prophet 9700Pro lying around which has the same problem - you couldnt change the mem chips on that too for me could you? lol
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#6
welcome to TPU :)

do you happen to have any pix of the process? sounds rather interesting

:toast:
 

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#7
I have a Hercules 3D Prophet 9700Pro lying around which has the same problem - you couldnt change the mem chips on that too for me could you? lol
Hehehe, I will not change the chip myself hauhauhauha. I don't have a
solder station. I will ask to a friend to do this for me, he has :) But if I can help... :)
 

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#8
welcome to TPU :)

do you happen to have any pix of the process? sounds rather interesting

:toast:
which process? Bios editing/flash or chip change?
 

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#9
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
#10
For your info.

Welcome to TPU btw. Already being helpful :p

If the ram on my 9600pro would clock over 400 I'd probably flash it with that card. I can OC the core up to 600 without a problem. lol.
 

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#11
For your info.

Welcome to TPU btw. Already being helpful :p

If the ram on my 9600pro would clock over 400 I'd probably flash it with that card. I can OC the core up to 600 without a problem. lol.
hahahahah, Very cool abreviation :cool:

You can try exchange this 9600pro mem chips, for new ones with better frequency, then you can OC your core :) ,but I dont know if the main chip will resist, see this article 9600 pro running @ 567/715.5
600 is too much OC for this board huahuahauh, it will be a very punk OC:rockout:

But if you do this, I wanna see the benchmarks ;)
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2005
Messages
4,640 (1.01/day)
Likes
415
Location
Toronto, Canada
System Name old school / new school
Processor 3.0e C0 @ 3.6 / e5200
Motherboard p4p800e-dlx / p5q-DLX
Cooling custom water see sig / air
Memory 2x1g oczPC4000EbPl / 2x2g ocz2rpr1066
Video Card(s) 3850AGP / 4890vaporX
Storage 36g raptor+120g wd / wd 1001fals 1tb
Display(s) BenQ / sharpAQUOS LC-37D64U
Case modded antec plusview / generic
Audio Device(s) audigy 2zs / ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
Power Supply fan/cable modded powerstream 520 / OCZ 700mxsp
Software Xp pro SP2 / VISTA ultimate OEM
#12
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,404 (0.60/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
You could submit the bios to techpowerup´s VGA bios collection - http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/

Ps. LOL Intel igents avatar looks like sneekypeet got caught in action - drug apeuse
 

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#14

argard

New Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Minas Gerais, Brasil
System Name S1
Processor Core 2 duo e4400
Motherboard asus P5K deluxe
Cooling Intel default
Memory kingston 667 mhz 2 GB (2 x 1 GB modules)
Video Card(s) geforce 8500 gt 256MB/128bits (fixing :) )
Storage Seagate Barracuda 16MB 500GB
Display(s) LG 19'' L1953h (I think)
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Live 7.1 Audigy
Power Supply 350 w SevenTeam
Software Ubuntu/WinXp/WinServer2003 ( cluster node :) )
#15
curious of the chip changing procedure
Using a solder station, It's machine which produde an airflow with high temperature, then this airflow will be put over the memory connectors, which link with the video board, making the link between them, soft, thus it will be so soft/weak, that you can pull up the memory chip. Then, to put a new memory chip, just press the chip contact in old location where you get the problematic chip, beware with the position of pin1, and get the hot airflow again, the residual tin, which stays in the board from the oldone chip, will get soft again, but the new memory chip link with this soft/weak tin, remove the airflow, thus the new chip will be fixed in the vga. In short terms, this is one way to change a chip. :)

:toast:But beware to not burn your fingers :laugh: