• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OS Crashing during rendering

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#1
I am trying to figure out why my computer keeps rebooting during rendering. I can play Half Life 2 w/ graphics all the way up and have no issues. When I try to copy a movie over from my minidv xp reboots. It does the same thing If I turn up the graphics higher then medium in Battle for middle earth. My old computer would do the same thing while rendering a video. The only common factor between the 2 machines is the video card.

It is a 256mb BFG tech Nvidia Gforce 6200 OC (PCI)

Do you think this is the problem? Or is it a software issue?
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
1,768 (0.41/day)
Likes
267
Location
Oklahoma, USA
System Name W.I.P.
#2
It sounds like you are either having a temperature and/or driver issue, especially since it crashes during more intense stuff. How well is the cooling in your case?
 

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#3
I ran Orthos for an hour and 30 minutes w/ 0 erros. The hottest the cores got were 51c. So I would assume the cooling is sufficient.
I thought that my problem on my previous machine was that the processor was overheating(it was only a 2.2ghz celeron). Now that it is doing it on this machine(e6600) I have doubts.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
1,768 (0.41/day)
Likes
267
Location
Oklahoma, USA
System Name W.I.P.
#4
I ran Orthos for an hour and 30 minutes w/ 0 erros. The hottest the cores got were 51c. So I would assume the cooling is sufficient.
I thought that my problem on my previous machine was that the processor was overheating(it was only a 2.2ghz celeron). Now that it is doing it on this machine(e6600) I have doubts.
Orthos doesnt stress your graphics card. :roll: Im talking your VIDEO here. :toast: I still think your gpu is getting too stressed, or your having video driver related issues.
 
Last edited:

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#5
GPU, gotcha. Is there a way to test it?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,165 (0.27/day)
Likes
433
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#6
Sounds like a ram issue, since you crash when using some games and when transfering a video over firewire. Try running orthos overnight using the "blend" test so that it will test your ram. For video card testing I would recommend ATITool which you can get from the downloads section.

Might just be time to get a better video card. Using a PCI 6200 on a E6600 system isnt a very good idea :( You should be able to get a 7650GT for around 150 bucks.
 

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#7
Why is it a bad idea? Just to old or inefficient?

I'm not against buying a new video card. I was just trying to rule out other things first.