• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OS Crashing during rendering

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#1
I am trying to figure out why my computer keeps rebooting during rendering. I can play Half Life 2 w/ graphics all the way up and have no issues. When I try to copy a movie over from my minidv xp reboots. It does the same thing If I turn up the graphics higher then medium in Battle for middle earth. My old computer would do the same thing while rendering a video. The only common factor between the 2 machines is the video card.

It is a 256mb BFG tech Nvidia Gforce 6200 OC (PCI)

Do you think this is the problem? Or is it a software issue?
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
1,768 (0.40/day)
Likes
267
Location
Oklahoma, USA
System Name W.I.P.
#2
It sounds like you are either having a temperature and/or driver issue, especially since it crashes during more intense stuff. How well is the cooling in your case?
 

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#3
I ran Orthos for an hour and 30 minutes w/ 0 erros. The hottest the cores got were 51c. So I would assume the cooling is sufficient.
I thought that my problem on my previous machine was that the processor was overheating(it was only a 2.2ghz celeron). Now that it is doing it on this machine(e6600) I have doubts.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
1,768 (0.40/day)
Likes
267
Location
Oklahoma, USA
System Name W.I.P.
#4
I ran Orthos for an hour and 30 minutes w/ 0 erros. The hottest the cores got were 51c. So I would assume the cooling is sufficient.
I thought that my problem on my previous machine was that the processor was overheating(it was only a 2.2ghz celeron). Now that it is doing it on this machine(e6600) I have doubts.
Orthos doesnt stress your graphics card. :roll: Im talking your VIDEO here. :toast: I still think your gpu is getting too stressed, or your having video driver related issues.
 
Last edited:

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#5
GPU, gotcha. Is there a way to test it?
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2006
Messages
1,170 (0.27/day)
Likes
436
Processor 7900
Motherboard Rampage Apex
Cooling H115i
Memory 64GB TridentZ 3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) Fury X
Case Corsair 740
Audio Device(s) 8ch LPCM via HDMI to Yamaha Z7 Receiver
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse G903
Keyboard G810
Software 8.1 x64
#6
Sounds like a ram issue, since you crash when using some games and when transfering a video over firewire. Try running orthos overnight using the "blend" test so that it will test your ram. For video card testing I would recommend ATITool which you can get from the downloads section.

Might just be time to get a better video card. Using a PCI 6200 on a E6600 system isnt a very good idea :( You should be able to get a 7650GT for around 150 bucks.
 

Matt18

New Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
115 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Processor C2D E6600 @ 3.1ghz stock voltage
Motherboard Asus P5B
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon, Artic Silver 5, 1 92mm out 2 80mm in.
Memory G.Skill 6GB (2x1gb, 2x2gb) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD 4770
Storage WD Caviar 320gb + Barracuda 250gb +WD 640GB Black
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 940BW LCD 19"
Case Rosewill TU-155
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Antec 500w Dual 12v rail(17a + 19a) 2 fans
Software Vista Ultimate x64; Win 7 Pro 64bit
#7
Why is it a bad idea? Just to old or inefficient?

I'm not against buying a new video card. I was just trying to rule out other things first.