1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OS that doesn't support Quad cores?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by CDdude55, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,178 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Which OS doesn't support Quad CPU's? I have Windows XP Home Edition 32-bit OEM Will it support Quads?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    XP pre-SP2, and anything before XP of course.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,218 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,091
    Location:
    Florida
    i thought cpu affinity came with 2000?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,052 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    That's a server OS. I assumed he meant purely Desktop OS's.

    If we talk Server OS's then NT4 actually had support for multiple cores :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    xp home has support for quads, that be what i'm running, yarg!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Ripper3

    Ripper3

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    London, England
    2000 had CPU affinity, it was made kinda made for workstations, so I guess it would support dual and quad processors, since the P3 was about, with SMP features.
    XP Home won't support more than one processor, but will support multiple cores. Supposedly anyhow.
    XP Pro I believe supports 2 processors, and like XP Home, supports multiple cores. Unsure of how many cores, but I know they support them just fine.
    Can't remember if that was added with SP2 or not, but I have read of people having trouble with newer technologies, such as PCI-E with pre-SP2 copies, and being recommended they should integrate SP2 into their install discs.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4,056 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,112
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Ahem, Window 2000 Professional and Windows NT Workstation :D

    Though it's a silly classification IMHO - desktop, server, NOS (Network Operation System), etc.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,488 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,395
    Any NT kernel can run quads, including NT3.51. Previous versions most likely won't know they are on 1 die though and workstation editions are limited to 2 CPU's. So I guess there will be an issue there.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)