• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclock during games, shuts system down

Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#1
Anyone have any problems when they OC such as the title says? If I leave it at stock level I can get into any game, play it for hours on end without a problem. Now If I overclock it to medium standards, it's ok unless I get into a lot of action going on at once. What it will do is the sound will hiccup the screen will continue for 3-5 seconds as the sound hiccups, and then the system powers down. Does that sound like a) overheating b) running out of juice c) something else? :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Did you check your temps when oc'd on idle and while gaming? Could be overheating thus the shutdowns... Check temps with everest, real temp or speed fan..
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#3
I don't thinks it's overheating... temps when I first start up are 25c and after running through a game are at 45c... but it's not like I checked it right in the middle of a gun battle or anything... just during normal game play (which on high OC, will stutter a lot and do that) and temps never go over 45c
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#4
Hmm, have u stressed/tested your oc with stability/testing tools found here? Prime, orthos and such?
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#5
Yeah and they all were stable... so I dunno... I'm thinking it's pulling down too much power under full load, and the psu can't keep up with the demands.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#6
What's your PCI-E bus running at? Have you tried testing the PSU with a multi-meter?
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#7
Never checked it with a multimeter, I suppose I could bring mine home from work and check it. As far as the PCI-e, not sure how to tell what it's running at... I know the motherboard and GPU are 16 lane.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#8
I would think there would be something in the bios that says something about PCI lock or clock.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#9
I'll have to check the next time I restart, but I would assume its set to x16
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#10
What I mean by PCI clock is the PCI-E runs at 100mhz. Some devices don't like running at a higher PCI/PCI-E clock, like a sound card or network adapter, and can cause stability issues.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#11
Oh ok, I'll check for that and see what it's at (sorry for the misunderstanding)
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,569 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#12
can you tell me your fsb, your HTT link, your core speed, your voltage, your RAM speed, RAM timings, and RAM voltage?

have you overclocked your video card? can you tell me what clocks you're running now?
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#13
Not exactly sure what they're all sitting at (I'm using the automatic OC function on the motherboard) When I do it manually I set CPU Vid Voltage to Auto; Mem voltage to 2.1; Chip Voltage to 1.55; HT voltage to 1.25; CPU Freq to 285; NPT Auto; k8 3x; Max memory set it to 533mhz and the timings at 4-4-4-10 (set as a suggestion from someone with the same setup on tpu - http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=25562) that link should give some insight as to what it's set at
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,073 (1.37/day)
Likes
1,817
System Name Addison Clark / HTPC
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v / I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX / Asrock Z270 Taichi
Cooling Custom loop for CPU and GPU / Be Quiet Dark Knight
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600 / G.Skill 16GB DDR4 - 2400
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E. under EK block / Asus Turbo GTX 1080 w/ Corsair H55
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2 / 256GB and 512GB WD Black NVME's
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K / Samsung 55" 1080p
Case Corsair 380T / Silverstone GD10
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB / Onboard Realtek
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW / Rosewill 750W
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4 / Logitech K400 combo
Software Win 10 Pro / Windows 8.1 w MCE and Win 10 Pro
#14
What is the highest voltage u can select under CPU Vid Voltage? You shouldn't have to go above 1.45-1.46 volts but sometimes Auto just doesn't hold the voltage correctly. Your temps look good from what you have posted and have you tried just relaxing the memory to the 5-5-5-15 timings? Also since this occurs in gaming can you monitor the temps of your GPU as well.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#15
the GPU is set to 100mhz... highest under CPU Vid Voltage is 2.100 ... Never thought of relaxing the timings, I could try that too... I'm not GREAT with understanding what does what when OC'ing. As far as I KNOW of like I said I don't think it's overheating, cause as soon as it shuts off I turn it back on, and the temps are still sitting where they were at... When computer boots it gives me temps then too.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,569 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,190
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#16
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#17
there's your problem.
do it youself, automatic oc's almost always take a dump on your system
it used to work just fine... last time I did it manual was 6 months ago. Just now when I try to use the same settings I used to use... it flops on me in the middle of gaming
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
432 (0.12/day)
Likes
16
Processor i7 3820 4.5ghz
Motherboard asus x79 deluxe
Cooling silver arrow
Memory 8gb ripjaw
Video Card(s) EVGA 970 Super clock
Storage 1tb F3 +500gb sata ii 64gb ssd
Display(s) 28" LCD 1900x1200
Case HAF932
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Win 7 x64
#18
too many automatic setting for a stable clock, use the automatic clock as a starting point find all your voltages etc, everyone is asking about, and then slowly tweak for stability
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#19
too many automatic setting for a stable clock, use the automatic clock as a starting point find all your voltages etc, everyone is asking about, and then slowly tweak for stability
like I said there are 3 automatic settings... v6 v8 and v12... v6 is stable, v8 and v12 hiccup under gameplay and power down. If I do it manually, sometimes it seems stable, windows will load... then I get like a one second BSOD about IRQL and that's all I can read, and it powers down... weird thing is, 6 months ago, it was stable at the manual settings I had said... :confused:
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,043 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,145
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#20
Hmm...increase memory voltage, relax the timings a bit, increase NB voltage by one notch...run Memtest...that kingston might not be able to handle very much...might not hit 800 stable w/o some work man...

Also components wear out, running stress tests can help ID them to an extent, maybe running Prime or Orthos could ID a failing PSU, MB, CPU, Memory. I don't know how many settings you have control over, but trying what used to work again in the hopes of it working is not going to solve your issue as I'm sure you know...

Automatic settings as I'm sure was said, usually over-guestimates voltages for lower OC's...so you might be able to hit V8 settings on stock voltage...v12 probably has a tight memory timing or strap that is causing you grief. If I were you, I'd start by researching your Motherboard in Google and see what others have achieved with what manual settings, then go to CPU, then memory...see what they're attaining, take notes if needed, get some ideas...then set a basic goal that should be quick and easy to hit without much work..run some stress tests to verify stability (Orthos Small FFT's for CPU, or Prime Blend for CPU/MB/Mem (Prime Blend seems to stress harder from my findings...could just be me tho)), then set your next goal, nothing crazy, but might take some voltage increase, adjustment of memory timings, maybe changing the Memory Strap/Speed, HT Links, what-not...I think you should research a little more of what you're trying to overclock...that's one thing in the areas I wrote of my guide (link in sig), research is very important to being successful...and makes it easier to set a goal that is more attainable, and you may get to your goal(s) or go beyond, you might not, just depends on too many variables that you may or may not be able to fix by installing different components with more room for give on an OC, or just have to deal with whatcha got...

Hope that helps!

:toast:
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2007
Messages
1,285 (0.32/day)
Likes
109
Location
Elyria, Ohio
System Name Black Widow
Processor FX8320
Motherboard Biostar TA970
Cooling Stock AMD
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengence @ 1866
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX760
Storage 128 GB Samsung SSD, 1TB WD SATA, 250 GB WD SATA
Display(s) Acer 22 in. LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 2
Power Supply Antec NeoECO C 520 watt
Software Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Score 7754.0 3DMarks Graphics Score 8392.0 Physics Score 6498.0 Combined Score 6062.0
#21
guess I will have to google it and see, thanks