1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclock Evga 770 sli crashed

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Knoxx29, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    Hi there.
    I have a problem.
    I had an Evga geforce gtx 770 superclocked i i overclocked it and everything was fine but now that I got I second graphic card and both are in sli when I do the same overclock I get a blue screen.
    Can someone tell me what am i missing?

    Cheers
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,157 (6.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,724
    you need to check speeds for each card. It is fairly likely your new card cannot handle the same clocks the original card could do. Also with much more power draw with two cards, it is possible that the power draw of the PSU could also limit their ability to OC to such levels and still be stable.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton

    here is a screenshot. hope it can helps.

    the PSU is an Enermax Platima 80 plus Platinum 750W

    sli.gif
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Does the issue happen when both cards are on stock settings?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    no, just happen when overclocked it.

    here you can see the overclock and the defualt settings
    EVGA Precision overclocked.jpg EVGA Precision standar.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2014
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,539
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Then your new card can't handle the overclock like your other one could. Redo the overclock from scratch. Start from the beginning, find a clock both your cards can run at with no problems.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    if that's the problem then i am really disappointed and i don't see any sense having 2 graphic cards....

    same graphic cards and can't be overclocked at same speed...
    there should be something wrong:banghead:
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2014
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,539
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    So, what? You thought that because the cards run in SLI they would work at the same clock? No, they are still 2 different cards, that are not of the same quality so they do not overclock the same. Its really quite basic. Just got to find a clock they can both run at. Obviously lower than what your other card could do.

    If I were to do SLI on some 780s, I wouldn't even overclock them. I would just let them run at their max boost clock and be done with it. No sense in overclocking a configuration, already so damn fast.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,992 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,843
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Almost double the GPU power is better than a 5-10% increase via overclocking one card though right?
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  10. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    i have 770 Superclocked
     
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,992 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,843
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Aren't superclocked already at the brink of stable overclocking, hence the naming moniker?

    My last 3 780's couldn't get past 1200 without more then 1.212v which was the maximum voltage on consumer cards. Then again they were different silicon.
     
  12. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    correct me if i am wrong, but overclocking the GPU wont help to gain some fps?
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,539
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not necessarily, with EVGA cards, you can still overclock beyond the clock they set for their Superclocked variants. But yes, sometimes the cards won't want to go much further.
     
    Knoxx29 and RCoon say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,992 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,843
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Well of course it will, but the percentage FPS gained by relative GPU clock increase isn't exactly huge on the 770 silicon. No doubt you would see an increase, but not by more than a few extra frames with 50mhz.
     
  15. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    i got 112 FPS doing the benchmark but some more wouldn't hurt
     
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,992 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,843
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    If your monitor is more than 60hz, then yes, by all means more may be better.
     
  17. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    is 60hz
     
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,539
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    @Knoxx29

    Okay, you really need to understand that computer hardware, like CPUs or GPUs will not all overclock the same. Even if they are of the same variant like your Superclocked version, they wont be able to reach the same clock. Each chip is different in a sense. That is why you have people who have the same CPU, but much different max overclocks they were able to achieve. Same thing happens with GPUs. Your newer GPU does not overclock as well as your other. That is very normal, and not something to get your panties in a wad about. Live with it.

    You also need to realize that CPUs or GPUs bought much earlier in their life times (near their release date) will overclock better than ones bought much later after release.
     
    fullinfusion and Knoxx29 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. 64K

    64K

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,584 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    If your monitor is 60 Hz then why would your think that more than 112 FPS would help?
     
    RCoon and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  20. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    tomorrow i will try to overclock it once again till i find a clock both cards can run at.
     
  21. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    10,992 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,843
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    It wouldn't, but it may improve minimum FPS, however I think CPU deals more with minimum FPS figures.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  22. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    wouldnt?
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,505 (11.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,886
    Why bother? You have two cards, you don't need to overclock. :)
     
    Knoxx29 and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,768 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,890
    Location:
    Krypton
    It doesn't bother me, i just wanted to know why I had issues when I was trying to overclock it, I am very happy with my 2 Evga 770.
    But you now sometimes we just want to push our hardwares as much as they can offer us without cause any damages. ..

    One point we never mentioned here was the power supply, could be that it doesn't handle 2 gpus plus a cpu overclocked
     
  25. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    4,306 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,167
    Location:
    Hide and Seek
    Knoxx29 i guess u miss one part of all of W1zzard's reviews and i qroute:

    taken from the newest review of a gfx here on TPU which is Palit GTX 750 Ti KalmX 2 GB

    i guess u can see this clearly here even u have the same brand and model they can't overclock the same.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)