1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclock Feedback

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by TheMailMan78, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    Well I got another 720 in tonight and this one seems to be a lot stronger. I'm still a noob at this stuff and I would like some feedback on my current results and anything I might do to improve.

    CPU: 3.45MHz
    Load: 52.5c
    Idle: 29.5c
    Multiplier: 15x
    Volts. 1.3375v
    HT ref. Clock: 230MHz

    Here is a list of voltages from AMD Overdrive. Not sure what they mean but I wanted to share them anyway.

    VIN0: 1.48v
    VIN1: 2.22v
    VIN2: 9.77v
    VIN3: 0.74v
    VIN4: 0.12v

    Please note all these readings were taken under a Prime95 run.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,662 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I havent overclocked an AMD since athlon XP days so im not rly in a position to comment but bump to this thread
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Looking good so far. I have no direct experience OCing PhII, but I'm sure some of the PhII clockers will show their heads eventually. In the meantime, I'd try to set my cpu voltage at 1.4v, and see where that gets me. lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    I did but it reads 1.3375v for some reason.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You have to manually set the voltage. Why are you oc'ing the bus tho? Just use the multi, try 18x multi and a 1.4v CPU Voltage. If it's unstable, raise a voltage a little until it is. Then try for 3.7 and so on.
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    I did manually set the voltage. Also when I tried 18x it was super unstable. No matter the voltage. Anyway anything past 1.4 turns red in my bios.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,979 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,754
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Do you have any OC results from benchmarks you could show the AMD guys? I'm sure they'd be able to help you more given a comparison to their own overclocking results.
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That's fine, the voltage wont start hurting until 1.55v. What does super unstable mean tho? It would help me decide if the voltage is too higher or too low.
     
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Your board might just have really bad vDroop. What is the cpu-z voltage when there is no load? And red in BIOS doesn't mean anything. That's just the board maker erring on the side of caution.

    As far as safe voltage for the cpu, I am in disagreement with most of the PII clockers around here for what is safe. I would never consider above 1.45V for 24/7 use on ANY 45nm chip. I say above that, and you'll get degridation. Most of the PII clockers change their chips too often to comment on the long-term effects on voltages greater than 1.45V.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    BSOD on boot.

    CPUz says 1.480v

    Heres a link

    [​IMG]
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,374
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Are you sure you're raising the voltage and not the VDDC?
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    Let me reboot and Ill write down everything I have adjusted for voltage just so we are on the same page.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    Here are the exact voltages in the bios.

    CPU VDD: 1.3375
    CPU-NB VDD: Auto
    CPU: 1.487
    CPU-NB: Auto
    DRAM: Auto
    NB: Auto
    HT Link: Auto
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Leave the CPU VDD to auto, that always messed up my OC's for some reason. You need to reset the cmos and go back in because when ever I messed with the CPU VDD it messed the bios up a little bit.
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Your CPU itself is set to 1.487. I don't imagine you would need that much for 3.45GHz, but I could be wrong.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,412 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,410
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I would start with around 1.425v, and aim for 3.6Ghz as any decent chip out there with good cooling should be able to hack that. Once that is stable you can decide if you want to try upping the multi another one and see if thats stable, if it isn't then decide if you want to try one more notch of voltage (Realize it might end up being more than 1 notch you move up). If you get the 3.7 stable and want to go for 3.8 that is up to you.

    Either way at the point that you do find stability then go back and work on everything else, one would be NB speed. I have my NB pretty high at 1.370v, you might want to start lower and up that one notch at a time, I'm able to do about 2550 stable, not quite 2600, and since this is tied to bus and I can't do 2600 I just usually run around 2400.

    Then it's time to hit that RAM. If you didn't use the BUS to OC then your most likely going to have to turn to dropping your timings. That or you could figure out how much of bus you need to replace a multi, but if you take that method, I would bump the bus, loosen ram timings and see if the NB can handle it, if it can then back to RAM OCing.

    And after all that you should have one slick running machine!
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    With a little bit more playing I got her up to 3.56
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    Do you think it could cause any damage like set that? I ask because that the only voltage Ive been able to be stable at.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Well once you readjust the things Shadow told you to, you might not need that much voltage anymore.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    Well I set the FSB back to default. 200. Then I upped the multi to 17.5. That got me to 3.5MHz. The voltage is still 1.48. If I set it to anything less I cant boot. Also if I go above 3.5MHz I get a BSOD. I'm lost.

    So will 1.48 damage the CPU or not?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Whoa dude, 1.48v is way too high for 3.5ghz. You sure lower voltages don't boot?? Anything under 1.55v is not damaging :)
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    22,346 (5.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,093
    Location:
    'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
    Well 3.5 isnt stable ether. I woke up to a BSOD. I'm running AMD Overdrive to monitor the temps along with Prime95. Could there be a conflict between them causing a BSOD?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. erocker

    erocker Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    42,315 (10.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,374
    There could be. Try running OCCT (screw linpack btw). Just start it up and run it. OCCT monitors your temps and stresses the CPU. Have any other programs off.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)