• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclock HD3400

Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hey, have a ASUS M51SE here with ATi HD3400 series running 12.6 catalyst. Tried a few overclocking tools but something seems to be... bottlenecking it? I've checked with GPU-Z and it's consistantly running at 337mhz core speed when default is 680? Even when playing in game then coming out to check logs it's the same speed. REALLY not sure as to what is holding it at this speed.. Has anyone heard or seen this happening before? I've tried searching all throughout google to find nothing. Even tried official asus forums and they told me nothing at all. lol.

Any helps appreciated :)

Cheers
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,100 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#2
For OC'ing discrete gpu's the best tool I have found is AMD Overdrive. Only problem is the memory is shared between the CPU/GPU so you can't adjust the Memory Speed as it is usually locked.

Anyway the issue you are having might be due to trying to OC the memory.
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#3
For OC'ing discrete gpu's the best tool I have found is AMD Overdrive. Only problem is the memory is shared between the CPU/GPU so you can't adjust the Memory Speed as it is usually locked.

Anyway the issue you are having might be due to trying to OC the memory.
As for overdrive, I haven't seen it in the catalyst suite.. :S Never been there before :( I overclocked both memory and the clock speed through MSI Afterburner but as I was overclocking, the speeds would say that they're at 680 though they're really only at 337. Put it to 690 it'd jump to 347mhz so on so forth. BUT, msi has stopped letting my overclock and the slider bar is set all the way to the end already which are my standard clocks, (680mhz, 500mhz) though GPU-Z still reads both as 337mhz , 247mhz.


-Somewhat off topic question- if the gpu has ddr2 memory, does that mean if gpu-z read its at 300mhz, it's 2x 300mhz? I had a problem where if I OC'd past a certain point I'd get artifacts instantly and screen would black out. Would have to restart computer.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,100 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#7
Sigh.. afterburner and gpu-z don't like eachother it seems.. turned powerplay OFF. played a bluray movie and the clocks stayed the same, but voltage went up? :D

if I change the clocks in MSI by 1 mhz the clocks drop to 110 according to MSI, but gpu-z says they dropped by the hopefully correct... 1mhz.. Sigh.


http://puu.sh/1aWYJ
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
yo man go easy on the posts
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#9
Sigh.. afterburner and gpu-z don't like eachother it seems.. turned powerplay OFF. played a bluray movie and the clocks stayed the same, but voltage went up? :D

if I change the clocks in MSI by 1 mhz the clocks drop to 110 according to MSI, but gpu-z says they dropped by the hopefully correct... 1mhz.. Sigh.


http://puu.sh/1aWYJ
"AMD Overdrive cannot detect AMD CPU on this computer."
http://puu.sh/1aPTw
Hahah, I always thought that it was integrated in with the catalyst suite.. will give it a try now. Thanks for that mate! :)
There is an edit button for a reason. Don't multi-post like that or a moderator will be all over your case since it is against the forum rules.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#11
Really Ocing a HD3xxx series IGP is not really worth any gains. Its purpose is to bring better video play to higher resolutions and do really light gaming such as say valve games or SOME source games

I read what eidairaman1 said. I don't feel like reading it again.
Not telling you what to do or anything but they are only trying to help you not get in trouble.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
Honestly if that motherboard has a PEG x16 or X8 slot id put in a Radeon HD 7650 in
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,342 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,958
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#13
I would not advise overclocking any 3xxx iGPU they have a habit of melting
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,342 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,958
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#15
800mhz core 1200mhz memory. Eh.
unless you change out the cooler on the chipset I strongly recommend not overclocking unless you have at the very least a fan blowing directly on the north-bridge keep a eye on the temps if they get over 85c you are gonna start having issues eventually
I have had a few 740g/760g boards with the 3400's there good enough for video playback-assist and thats about it I have seen two of them go up in smoke because people tried the game on them and didn't watch the temps they are NOT ment to game they will handel some light low res gaming but when you push them they melt
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#16
unless you change out the cooler on the chipset I strongly recommend not overclocking unless you have at the very least a fan blowing directly on the north-bridge keep a eye on the temps if they get over 85c you are gonna start having issues eventually
Haha yeah, I have a laptop fan under it along with me removing all that restrictive filter stuff infront of the fan entry. I don't have it on anything other than the laptop fan so I thought I may as well have gotten rid of it. 680 - 800 mhz isn't too bad, though that would be as high as I would go. I usually have it on 725mhz daily use. Would like to see it go poof, though :D Would be an interesting lesson haha thanks for the tips mate :)
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,342 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,958
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#17
id run gpuZ and log the temps to be safe
remember igpu also contains the IOHC so if it melts you are out a whole motherboard
 
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#18
id run gpuZ and log the temps to be safe
remember igpu also contains the IOHC so if it melts you are out a whole motherboard
Not sure if the 3400 supports temp readings, does it? Well, not that I've seen so far. Gpu-z , MSI doesn't like to log the temps when they're running. Or has it gone poof already? :rockout:
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,342 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,958
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
Joined
May 14, 2012
Messages
23 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
#20
Ooosh, thanks for that ! hahah, only ever used cpu-z gpu-z , never knew that existed lol. But yeah, I only occasionally game on stuff like DotA. Which isn't too graphical intensive, I think.