• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclock X2

Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
279 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Location
New Jersey, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q SE 2
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG 8800GT OC
Storage 250gb OS and other data, 1TB for shared files, etc
Display(s) 19in widescreen LG
Case Cooler Master
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W real power pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
#1
:)Hows this? I just got this today, and its stock voltage from 2.0 to 2.6ghz
 

Attachments

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,340
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
any OC is good, but with that Toledo core you should be able to push closer to 3.0GHz. With that being said it does depend on if all pc components will play nicely together. Great job...keep us posted as you attempt to take her farther!

Altho i personally think your RAM may be a bottle neck, that nF4 ultra chip should be able to do 300FSB standing on its head!

Try dropping the HTT or HTlink, and maybe put your RAM on a divider(or lower if it already is) and see where she ends up.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
279 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Location
New Jersey, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q SE 2
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG 8800GT OC
Storage 250gb OS and other data, 1TB for shared files, etc
Display(s) 19in widescreen LG
Case Cooler Master
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W real power pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
#3
i have shitty generic ram so thats why i cant go so high. I think thats the most bottleneck i have now.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#4
Heat, they don't like heat. Mine crashes at about 58-59C. Need water.






Same OC I have, what stepping?
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#5
Watts - I have the same chip - could you list your BIOS configuration please as I can only get mine to just under 2.3GHz stock voltage. Oh and my stock voltage is 1.29...

HT Link is set to 3x in the BIOS

I have my RAM at 3-4-4-8 and the command rate is at 1T.

 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,340
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
@ innocent ...try uping CPU voltage to 1.4 and see if you can get farther.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#7
That won't be stock then. I know I can get higher with increasing the voltage but I don't want to do that. I'm happy at 2.3GHz (stable) It's just Watts said his was on stock, which I guess it's not.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,340
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
possibility that it is in fact stock sir, just that all chips are not created equally!
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#9
From how I read that, seems to me someone has sand in their vagina. :p

You could be right, he could have a chip, same stepping & revision but with a higher vCore. Could be his motherboard.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.78/day)
Likes
9,340
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
wasnt ment to be sandy just the way it came out...also you may be correct that his mobo reads that as stock too!
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
279 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Location
New Jersey, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q SE 2
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG 8800GT OC
Storage 250gb OS and other data, 1TB for shared files, etc
Display(s) 19in widescreen LG
Case Cooler Master
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W real power pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
#11
i didnt raise the voltage at all, and when i put it in first time today it said 1.4 and i have it set to off so it doesnt raise automatically.
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
732 (0.16/day)
Likes
87
Location
NY
System Name Ummmm...Mine
Processor I7 920 @ 4.2ghz @ 1.29v's load
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
Cooling Custom 1/2 inch H20
Memory 3x2gb Patriot Sector 7 @2008Mhz 27-9-11-9 1T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 580 SC 900/1800/1090
Storage 1-Mushkin 60gb SSD 1-500GB WD Black and 2-1TB 32mb WD Black
Display(s) 25 inch Hanns-G 2ms
Case Custom
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Catalina
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Pro Series-Modular
Software All Kinds...and then some.
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 11 P7066 Compare Link- http://3dmark.com/3dm11/251153
#12
His stock volts could very well be 1.4.....I had an X2 3800 (Toledo) thats stock voltage was 1.4....and I've seen them at 1.35.....not 1.30 though...Is yours a lower watt model InnocentCriminal?

Your OC may be being held back by your 240 watt PSU....Dunno.

Hope It helps. :)
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
279 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Location
New Jersey, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q SE 2
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG 8800GT OC
Storage 250gb OS and other data, 1TB for shared files, etc
Display(s) 19in widescreen LG
Case Cooler Master
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W real power pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
#13
i just ran 3dmark 05 and i get 6690 and 3dMark 06 i get 3685
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#14
... not 1.30 though...Is yours a lower watt model InnocentCriminal?
Nope, 'exactly' the same as Watts' - you can see in CPU-Z in my picture.

Your OC may be being held back by your 240 watt PSU....Dunno.

Hope It helps. :)
I doubt my 240W PSU is causing any issue, if anything it's the best thing in my rig - Shuttle PSU's are highly efficient. I must admit, I am putting a lot of strain on my XPC running 2 HDDs an X1950 Pro and a DVD burner. I don't really want to pay £70 for an external enclosure made by Shuttle - but it does look the shit and will house either a DVD or HDD. :D

@ Watts: What sort temps are you getting at 2.6GHz?
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
279 (0.07/day)
Likes
4
Location
New Jersey, USA
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo
Motherboard ASUS P5Q SE 2
Memory 4GB
Video Card(s) BFG 8800GT OC
Storage 250gb OS and other data, 1TB for shared files, etc
Display(s) 19in widescreen LG
Case Cooler Master
Power Supply Cooler Master 650W real power pro
Software Windows 7 Professional
#15
innocent right now i overclocked to 2.65 stabel highest my ram would allow. and idle im getting 30/45 load
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477 (1.38/day)
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#16
That's freaking amazing! Weirdly, I changed my voltage control from Auto to 1.30 and bumped up the clock speed from 2.28 to 2.30.

Weirdly, the voltage is now lower than before. I've managed to get to 2.35GHz with the voltage set to Auto, so I'm hoping I'll be able to reach that without this time having to increase the voltage again. We'll see...