• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocked Alienware Aurora r3, something is wrong

Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#1
Ok, a friends son got this Alienware Aurora r3 (dual ATI cards, not nVidia).
Yesterday after following tips via Youtube I managed to successfully OC it.
But..

You see, my system an AMD based can be clock itself down when not using all cores, or full "speed" of the CPU. This is happening to his aswell, I discovered this when using CPU-Z:
1. Started CPU-z and it was idle at 1.5GHz.
2. Launched Crysis 2 and started to play.
3. Alt tabbed back to the CPU-Z and then it was 4.38~GHz.

Problem is, that I'm not familiar for a second with that BIOS.

I know I could ask at their forums, but eh.. I find that people around here are smarter.

Anyone experienced with their BIOS know's what I need to disable? I can always take pics of the BIOS if it would help.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2009
Messages
2,516 (0.85/day)
Likes
757
System Name Nightblade / Dell Latitude / Wife's Rig
Processor Core i5 4690K / i7 2720QM / FX-6100
Motherboard Nightblade ITX z97 / Dell 032T9K QM67 / Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Rev3
Cooling tower style cooler, plus one 120mm fan / stock blower / CNPS7000V
Memory Patriot Viper 2x8gb DDR3 2400 / Micron 2x4GB DDR3 / 2x4GB 2x2GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 970 4GB / NVS 4200M 512MB / nVidia GTX 460 1GB
Storage 120GB ForceGT SSD (OS), 2TB WD Black, 250GB Seagate 2.5in / 320GB WD Blue /240GB SSD M500
Display(s) ASUS ROG SWIFT 1440P / Dell 14in @ 1600x900 / Vizio 1080p TV
Case MSI Nightblade Z97 / Dell Latitude / Corsair Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Microsoft Lifechat 3000 / Intel / ALC887
Power Supply Gold rated 600W / Battery with 95w brick / Antec EA-650 Green
Mouse MadCatz RAT5
Keyboard G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 on all
#2
This should be normal, unless its still doing it even though you turned off cool and quiet.

also, change your power profile to always on (something like that)
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#3
Hi

4.38~GHz Nice OC with this comes heat (be sure it is stable)

Download Coretemp32 or RealTemp either will do; and use Prime95 to test the CPU make sure the temps are between 65 -70 (general guide) if it goes way above this stop and close Prime95; reduce your overclock or fit better cooling for CPU

hope this helps

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#4
Aurora r3 is a Intel i5 socket 1155 system, not an AMD system. The OP's computer is AMD, not the computer he's asking about.

Speedstep is what you have to disable to keep your CPU from throttling back. But if I may, let me ask why you want to do that? Speedstep will back your CPU's speed down when not needed, causing it to use less electricity and generate less heat. And when you need to full power of the CPU, it will throttle up your CPU's speed. I always leave speedstep enabled once I get my OC where I want it.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#5
Aurora r3 is a Intel i5 socket 1155 system, not an AMD system. The OP's computer is AMD, not the computer he's asking about.

Speedstep is what you have to disable to keep your CPU from throttling back. But if I may, let me ask why you want to do that? Speedstep will back your CPU's speed down when not needed, causing it to use less electricity and generate less heat. And when you need to full power of the CPU, it will throttle up your CPU's speed. I always leave speedstep enabled once I get my OC where I want it.
No.. It's an i7 2600K system he has (please read again, I stated first what mine does, and his does similar). If it was a bad explanation from my side, then I apologize.
I could not find this "speedstep" in his BIOS, I know what that is.

@Law-II Yes, I noticed that it is liquid cooled - closed system. However, the fan "sucks", and I suggested installing an extra fan to blow through the radiator, have seen a lot of people having that configuration.

The OC works well, he wanted it because he is playing WoW and streaming at the same time.

@xBruce88x This is not my system, it's an Alienware (Dell) Aurora r3, just like BarbaricSoul mentioned - it has speedstep. Strangely enough.. I can't find it in it's BIOS :confused: However it works.. Still worried about temps, the closed loop is unknown to me (what brand?), and the radiator is rather small. But since it's an Intel, I guess they have some great countermeasures if the heat goes beyond it's limits.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#6
Disable C1E, EIST, Speedstep, CoolnQuiet..etc in the bios that should stop all throttling. It will cause higher temperatures however.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,261 (1.75/day)
Likes
3,363
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2/Barb's Laptop
Processor i7 3930k@4.37ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz/AMD E300
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R/Proprietary
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50/stock
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600/3gig DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2GHz core/mem/MSI HD7770/HD6310
Storage Seagate 2tb Hybrid SSHD/Caviar Blue 160gb/Toshiba 500gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit/Windows 8.1 Pro
#7
I'm running a 2600k myself, why do you want it not to throttle? It doesn't hurt anything if it throttles back when you just surfing the web.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
494 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
Location
Hesperus IV
System Name Salvaged
Processor AMD Phenom II X6, 1055T
Motherboard MSI (cant remember model..)
Cooling Antec Kühler + extra fans (Antec, Zalman, Coolermaster, Generic brand)
Memory 8Gb (2 x 4Gb)
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon HD6870
Storage Samsung 1TB, 320 Seagate, 250 Samsung
Display(s) LG Electronics
Case ANTEC Sonata III 500 (found/salvaged + modified)
Audio Device(s) 8Ch + Harman Kardon 2.1 (modified, electronics in JVC wood speakers)
Power Supply It's made in Denmark, never seen a PSU made there..
Software Win7 X64 Ultimate
#8
He decided to keep the things on for throttle, I just told him "They are experts (all of you), they know what is good and what is not".

However, the fan mounted on the radiator, a single one is sucking, I would like to see an extra fan blowing (push / pull?) through the radiator. During sessions where he plays and streams for more than 8 hrs it really get's hot back there, and it's a closed system - not one of the more advanced liquid coolers others have.

The radiator is a single one, hard to tell if it's an 120 or 80 fan, my guess is it's a 120 fan pulling from behind the radiator.

Any advice?