• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking 2500k ASUS

Captainpoo

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Power Muncher.
Processor Intel 2500K @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Z68
Cooling Arctic cooler 13
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600mhz 2x 4GB modules
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 560 TI 448
Storage WD 500GB caviar black/ Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 22" 1920x1080
Case Silverstone PS03 w/ 2 Aerocool Shark (black) Extractor 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V1 (still going after 3rd PC)
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
#1
I'm looking to get a modest overclock of 4.0GHZ.

Specs:
ASUS P8Z68-V LX
2500k @ 3.7GHZ 1.3V (auto volts) & EIST disabled
Arctic cooling freezer 13 pro
Corsair 2x4GB vengeance 1600mhz 1.5v
Corsair 650TX

I would like to achieve an overclock of 4.0GHZ but i can't find any quick guides of what to disable and enable etc and specific for an Asus UEFI Bios. I would like to also lower the voltage of 1.3V for the overclock, if that's possible. I know some of you out there would encourage me to hit 4.5GHZ, but I'm certain the motherboard doesn't have the greatest chipset heatsinks.

Thanks in return :)
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,515 (6.47/day)
Likes
6,936
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
4 Ghz on SB/IB is easy

Just set multiplier in bios to 40 and save then reboot. That chip should do that on stock voltage so leave all else on auto. once windows loads then check CPUz for voltages to make sure they are reasonable then do some stress testing with IntelBurnTest.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#3
3.7GHZ 1.3V (auto volts) & EIST disabled
Why have you disabled EIST? As Brandon said, leave everything on default/auto and change only the multiplier ratio all cores to 40. At desktop 1600 MHz (multi 16) you'll have under 1.0 V while you'll reach 4GHz when needed under load.
 

Phusius

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1,316 (0.63/day)
Likes
369
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard Asus Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7950 @ 1200/1475 @ 1175v
Display(s) Dell 23" 2ms
Case Carbide 500r
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
#4
I have everything at default, 4.6 Ghz, manual voltage of 1.32, had 0 issues in last 12 months /shrug
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,594 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#5
2500k @ 3.7GHZ 1.3V (auto volts) & EIST disabled
As others mentioned, no reason to disable speed stepping, it adjusts the multiplier on-the-fly to save power and reduce heat, and ramps up very quickly when more speed is needed. As for the 4 GHz OC, why bother? That's only a 300 MHz boost, and you won't really notice the difference until about 4200, still a totally safe OC, especially with that cooler. Even at 4200 no other changes are needed, just set multiplier to 42. And if the temps start looking too scary, lower the CPU volts to 1.2 manually, or set for + offset .30-.35 and try that. Don't be afraid to adjust settings, just use common sense.
 

Captainpoo

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Power Muncher.
Processor Intel 2500K @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Z68
Cooling Arctic cooler 13
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600mhz 2x 4GB modules
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 560 TI 448
Storage WD 500GB caviar black/ Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 22" 1920x1080
Case Silverstone PS03 w/ 2 Aerocool Shark (black) Extractor 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V1 (still going after 3rd PC)
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
#6
OK guys i had a look at other peoples results with this board and most have been good at remaining their overclocks, but the Vcore control relies on an offset +/- instead of manually inputting the voltage. Well i updated my bios to the latest one (4001) and used the Asus OC tuner to get it to automatically overclock. After it finished, it got to 4.3ghz which i reduced to 4.1ghz. I changed the BCLK to 100.0MHZ, manually set RAM timings and Volts, Left CPU Vcore on auto which seems to fluctuate from 1.26 to 1.28V at 4.1GHZ, left everything else on auto and passed IBT here:




I'm a bit concerned with CPU TIN, but think the CPUTIN is messed up on HWMonitor because it idles at 90C but goes to 24C when on full load (IBT). I think I'll ignore that.

Do you guys recommend running Prime or is IBT 10 runs on very high as good as it gets?
 
Last edited:

Captainpoo

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Power Muncher.
Processor Intel 2500K @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Z68
Cooling Arctic cooler 13
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600mhz 2x 4GB modules
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 560 TI 448
Storage WD 500GB caviar black/ Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 22" 1920x1080
Case Silverstone PS03 w/ 2 Aerocool Shark (black) Extractor 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V1 (still going after 3rd PC)
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
#7
I seem to have a weird EEEE-EEEE-EEEE-EEEE noise coming from the cpu area after overclocking. What could this be? It comes and goes.

Forums with people with similar problems say disabling C3,C6 reports and EIST from the motherboard fixes this weird noise. I'll try it out.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,594 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#8
I'm a bit concerned with CPU TIN, but think the CPUTIN is messed up on HWMonitor because it idles at 90C but goes to 24C when on full load (IBT). I think I'll ignore that.
Try HWiNFO64, it gives you the option to disable some of the Asus sensors that cause high resource use, and it reads all my sensors accurately (the only program that does!). All the others I tried had some kind of bug or conflict. You can also right-click any reading and pin it to the system tray so you can always see it.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
53
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#9
Try HWiNFO64, it gives you the option to disable some of the Asus sensors that cause high resource use, and it reads all my sensors accurately (the only program that does!). All the others I tried had some kind of bug or conflict. You can also right-click any reading and pin it to the system tray so you can always see it.
I have same issue with cputin with Hwmonitor I get max temps of 67c but the realtime never goes above 30's .

So I have been using OpenHardwareMonitor as it also has more data, fan speeds etc plus it has graph for temps .

http://openhardwaremonitor.org/
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#10
hmm have u tired some lower voltage on that i5-2500k?

mine does 4ghz at 1.155v in bios with speedstep and all that on, in my Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z/Gen3 and 4.5ghz at 1.280v even i give it 1.300v when it runs at that speed even 4ghz is enough for me.
 

Captainpoo

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Messages
37 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
System Name Power Muncher.
Processor Intel 2500K @ 4GHZ
Motherboard ASUS Z68
Cooling Arctic cooler 13
Memory Corsair DDR3 1600mhz 2x 4GB modules
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 560 TI 448
Storage WD 500GB caviar black/ Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 22" 1920x1080
Case Silverstone PS03 w/ 2 Aerocool Shark (black) Extractor 120mm fans
Audio Device(s) Realtek onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V1 (still going after 3rd PC)
Software Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
#11
OK that weird noise has gone. I'm not sure what could cause a noise close to the CPU that seems to come and go every 2 minutes or so. I went into the bios and reset everything to factory stock settings, then manually changed settings to get the RAM at 1600mhz @ 1.5V, CPU to 4.00GHZ at auto volts. I turned C1E off and have C3 and C6 on auto. Seems to have made the funny noise go.

The motherboard uses the offset mode of changing voltage. The auto is at 1.3V at 3.7GHZ and 1.31V at 4.0GHZ. Can anyone give me a summary of what to do because if i do -0.05 from my current 1.31v @ 4.0GHZ, it would surely go to 1.26v?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,594 (0.84/day)
Likes
636
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#12
So I have been using OpenHardwareMonitor as it also has more data, fan speeds etc plus it has graph for temps .
OpenHardwareMonitor was my favorite until I built this new Ivy Br. system, then it started to give crazy sensor readings (conflicts with Asus sensors?) so I found HWiNFO64 and it reads consistently and accurately, and lets me ignore the problem sensors. Of course, this is with an i5-3570 and Asus P8Z77-V, your mileage may vary with other configs.
 
Joined
May 16, 2012
Messages
441 (0.22/day)
Likes
135
Location
Santa Ana, Ca.
System Name Mobydick
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4
Motherboard MSI M Power
Cooling CM TPC 812
Memory patriot 8gb x 2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970
Storage Kingston hyper x 3k 120ssd,Samsung 256ssd, seagate 750gb green
Display(s) Benq XL2720Z
Case Haf X
Audio Device(s) creative soundblast xz
Power Supply EVGA G2 850w
Mouse deathadder chroma
Keyboard logitech g710
Software Windows 7 64bit
#13
4 Ghz on SB/IB is easy

Just set multiplier in bios to 40 and save then reboot. That chip should do that on stock voltage so leave all else on auto. once windows loads then check CPUz for voltages to make sure they are reasonable then do some stress testing with IntelBurnTest.
this, it was that easy for me, im at 4.4 with idle temps ~31c hasnt hit 60c at full load yet.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
53
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#14
OpenHardwareMonitor was my favorite until I built this new Ivy Br. system, then it started to give crazy sensor readings (conflicts with Asus sensors?) so I found HWiNFO64 and it reads consistently and accurately, and lets me ignore the problem sensors. Of course, this is with an i5-3570 and Asus P8Z77-V, your mileage may vary with other configs.
ok, I don't have any of Asus apps loaded, I assume you mean Asus probe .I hate having stuff loaded at startup if I never going to use it much .

I have similar system as you, Asus P8Z77 v pro, with i5-3570k . I could use either but like the extra info with openhardware monitor , plus the gadget on desktop and system icon temp .