1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking a new FX 8350

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Thimblewad, Jun 19, 2017.

  1. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    I just got my hands on a new FX 8350. Fiddled with the settings a bit → disabled powersave states, turbo, HPC etc., LLC set to "regular". Using a Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P (4+2 phase).

    Settings:
    4.7 GHz @ +0.175V (max.1.440 V after LLC does it's magic (CPU-Z))

    Temperatures after stress (max. load 55° C):
    1456165.png

    1. Is this okay for 24/7 use and can this chip be pushed more?
    2. I haven't tried increasing the HT and NB speeds or NB clocks. Is there a chance I could get better results changing these two settings as well?

    ALSO:
    → CPU-Z validation ←
    → CPU-Z validation (4.8 GHz) ←
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,918 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    4.7 without additional cooling on the vrms is about all youre gonna get. Check my specs and my cpuz signature. I don't mess with LLC.
     
    Thimblewad and JATownes say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    621 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    Bucharest RO
    Could help if u had GA-970A-UD3P atleast or better the 8350 need strong board/better oc
     
    Thimblewad says thanks.
  4. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    I'll try doing 4.8, will report soon.


    If I leave LLC on "auto"(off), then the PC won't boot even at +0.200 V.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  5. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    Not changing the board, going Ryzen when I have the money, this PC will then be inherited by my 10-year old brother. :D
     
    ASOT says thanks.
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,040
    Location:
    Texas
    This. Pushing that 8350 on a 970 board is not the best idea. Good cooling on a 990FX board will yield anywhere from 4.8-5.0Ghz, but that chip will want lots of volts to get it done.

    Active cooling on the VRMs might help, but I would be careful that they do not pop.

    JAT
     
    Thimblewad says thanks.
  7. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    I just have to finish downloading 3DMark, then I'll try for 4.8 on voltages that should still be okay for this board.

    1. I guess max. 1.460-ish for 4.8 GHz?
    2. EDIT: I pressume "thermal margin" in AOD means °C before shutdown?
    3. EDIT2: I have a bunch of case fans, PC is very cool. Do the VRM temps still present a big issue (I don't think I can monitor those)?

    GTA V, all maxed except advanced settings, 1080p with a sh*tload of mods, 4.7 GHz/1.440 V:
    GTA5_2017_06_20_00_11_52_727.jpg
     
  8. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    4.8 GHz @ same voltage as before (+0.175V / 1.440 V max.) seems stable, erm, wow?

    1456166.png
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  9. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    621 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    Bucharest RO
    Play safe please,the more concern is with your gpu then cpu,FX is doing Ok 4.4-4.5 GHz on that mobo

    Drop the Vcore1.33-1.4 range and why not use bios oc,instead of amd overdrive.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
    Thimblewad says thanks.
  10. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    The GPU already has a custom BIOS and I don't think I can do much more with it.

    I am using BIOS for all OC, AOD is only for monitoring.
    Anyways, does "temperature margin" in AOD mean °C before shutdown?

    UPDATE: 4.9 GHz seems stable @ 1.464 V (HWMonitor & CPU-Z):

    1456167.png
     
  11. ASOT

    ASOT

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    621 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    Bucharest RO
    U are limited by gpu until oc cpu anymore..dont up more voltage to it
     
  12. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    780 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    lol. Stable. Run CineBench 15.
     
    JATownes, eidairaman1 and Thimblewad say thanks.
  13. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    4.9 GHz crashed @ 1.464 V, not increasing voltage.
    4.8 GHz stable @ 1.428 V:
    1456168.png

    EDIT: Off to play some games.

    • BF3 64/64 stable
    • DiRT 4 landrush stable
    • TimeSpy benchmark stable
    • Firestrike benchmark stable
    • Unigine: Valley benchmark stable
    • Unigine: Heaven 4.0 benchmark stable
    • CrossOut stable
    • DiRT Rally stable
    • GTA V stable
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
    Mr.Scott says thanks.
  14. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    780 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Nice. I would say you're good at 4.8......at least until the board quits.
     
  15. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    The board used to run a bad sample FX-6300 4.5 GHz 24/7 at 1.475 V. I pressume that means I should be okay now at 1.428 V or 1.440 V?

    EDIT: Any chance I can fiddle with NB/HT?
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  16. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    780 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Stock HT is 2600. Leave it there. There is no benefit.
    NB you should be able to get to 2400 without voltage.
     
    eidairaman1 and Thimblewad say thanks.
  17. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    Stock HT here is 2400, hmmm. 2600 works fine.

    Stock NB is 2200, 2400 makes system extremely unresponsive, no matter what voltage.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,918 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Yup. Bios vcore 1.476. Good benches,

    Ryzen Blender, 7Zip, Zip 8 core compression. Unigen Benchmarks.
     
    JATownes and Thimblewad say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    Used to have that 24/7 with this board and FX-6300 @ 4,5 GHz :D
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1 The Exiled Airman

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17,918 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Asus board and possibly a "golden chip" despite being a pib from microcenter. See my last post for tests i use
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    780 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    Stock HT on all 8 core FX's is 2600. Your board just sets it wrong. Most do. ;)

    Can't do 2400 NB.........shitty IMC. :p
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  22. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    After all, it was only 65 € (new) :D
     
  23. Mr.Scott

    Mr.Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    780 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    Spencerport NY
    That's like 75 USD.
    lol, that's a pretty good price. :)
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  24. Thimblewad

    Thimblewad

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    166 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
    Got it 2-3 years ago when my GA-MA770-UD3 died. I miss a 5.1/7.1 sound card tho.

    But hey, I should be fine, rockin' six 120mm case fans, hahahaha.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  25. FightingFalcon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Run some cpu stressing software for 30-60 minutes and if it does not fail, than You are good to go. If not - fallback and repeat the process.
    I do agree, though, that adding some VRM cooling can go along way for improved stability.
     
    Thimblewad says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)