• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

overclocking amd 6400+ black

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
I need help o/c the:rockout: AMD 6400 black..Current settings are FSB 215 and the HT/NB 5x... Multiplyer 16x..the rest is on auto.. She run's great at 3.44Ghz.. But i know she'll run more but thats why i'm posting for helpTemp's at idle 21c and running Gears of war takes it to 38-40c.
I'm running and ASUS M2R32-MVP mobo..GeForce 7900gs..Thermaltake 750w psu..4 stick's of kingston DDR2 667Mhz 1gig dual channel ram.. ant a thermaltake V1 air cooler..

Oh yeah and also the Ht link is showing 860 mhz.. i hear you can run up to and not much over 1Ghz? is that true? Thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#2
HT/NB can't be at 5x multi and still get a HT link of 860mips. Multi must be on auto because you are right. HT Link likes to stay under 1200 and if you have a really high FSB like 300Mhz a 3x multi seems to be the most stable.

So you next step is to lower your CPU multi from 16x to 15x. Then Up the FSB to 230. This will give you the same 3.446Ghz. Lower the divider on your ram so it's not oc'd to far. Then just keep pushing the FSB up. You may have to add some voltage to the NB/SB if you find it unstable. Also once you start upping the FSB you need to pay close attention to the speeds your ram are running at.

ALSO: ADD your system specs to your sig.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
thanks Zim.. the o/c im running is very stable @3.44ghz.. with the cpu multi backed down to 15x and the fsb turned upto 230 what is the advantage?
Ps not sure how to do the sig thing.. help?
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#4
Well the advantage is you are no longer increasing your CPU by 16Mhz per 1 Mhz on FSb.

So you can take some of the load off the cpu (in a sense) and place it on the FSB. Your ram is rated at 333Mhz FSB on a 1:1 ratio. However your motherboard will not let you clock the FSB much higher then 300. So this a good way to get the most out of your ram, FSB and cpu.

This gives you the advantage of a good blend memory OC and good CPU OC.

Another way to say it is if you went with a 15x multi and 230FSB you have effectively kept the same CPU overclock AND increased your RAM 30Mhz (60Mhz DDR2), so now your RAM is running faster and on a faster bus (30Mhz). So you get a big performance increase over just clocking up the CPU.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#5
in the upper right you should see a thing for Private messages. Just click it and this will take you into your profile. You should notice a button on the left called "SYstem Specs"...Fill in the blanks and submit.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#6
ok thanks Zim i'll go try your settings
be back soon and thank you
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
ok well i have now...
Core 3.45ghz
Multiplier 15x
Bus Speed 230mhz
HT Link 926.1 mhz
the system runs much smoother now..do i change NB HT speed? it's still on auto..
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#8
No, it looks like auto is working fine. If it goes over 1150-1200 you may want to manually drop it to 4x or 3x depending on how far you can push the FSB.

So now just start bumping up the FSB by 5Mhz and when you start to have issues like windows wont boot fully, increase Voltage to CPU. Be sure to check your RAM speeds. You should get CPU-z (which is avialable in the download section on this site). You can check your ram/fsb/cpu speeds using this tool.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#9
thanks Zim.. i already run CPU-z and the numbers i posted on the last post was where i got it from.. ok i'll be back in a couple min with a new bench mark for you.
Thanks again.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#10
Ideally you should really drop your CPU multi to around a 9x, Drop the divder on the RAM so it is underclocked and see how far you can push the FSB. This will give you the MAX FSB the motherboard will run. Once you know the Max of the FSB write that number down.

Then drop the FSB to stock and CPU multi to 8x and keep ram on a 1:1 ratio and see how far the RAM will go, just keep increasing the FSB until it seems unstable. You may need to add voltage to the RAM. This will give you your max RAM clock.

So now you know the max your ram will run at, the max your FSB is capable of, and the max your CPU will attain. Now blend all three together to get the best performace. However do not try to run with all three at the max!! Pick a middle ground. It would be insane if you tried to run at 300FSB with a 16Multi on a crazy high mem ratio....= Reset Bios. Or worse.

Im betting you can do a 275FSB with a 13x Multi on CPU and 3x HT link, and 1:1 mem ratio...You maybe able to go even higher on the mem ratio, since 1:1 will only give you a 550Mhz DDR2
 
Last edited:

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#11
ok well i have now...
Core 3.45ghz
Multiplier 15x
Bus Speed 230mhz
HT Link 926.1 mhz
the system runs much smoother now..do i change NB HT speed? it's still on auto..
Is there any chance you could either take a pic of your bios under the "jumper-free config" menu, or find a scree of it? If it's like my bios, I could help you a lot. I believe if you get your HT link around 1200 (300x4) lowered your CPU multiplier to compensate, and put the mem divider at 1.66 it will really scream. Hopefully your memory can run that fast. If not, just lower the mem divider one more. Good luck!
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
core 3.53
multi 15x
bus speed 235
ht link 940
wow and to think i was done lol! ok i can take a pic of the Bios but how do i post it?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,342
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#13
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,926 (1.35/day)
Likes
821
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#14
it might go higher for quick benching runs but 3.4 gig is about as high as a amd 64 bit chip will reasonably go 24/7..

the series is at the end of its life.. amd are already clocking the shit out of a 6400 chip before u get it.. there aint much left..

the winning team cruise the losing team go as fast as they can to try and keep up.. the amd 6400 is the end of the line..

trog

ps.. take my 6000+ chip.. a small increase in fsb speed takes it to 3.4 gig without the slightest problem.. the 6400 with its higher multiplier would go to 3.6 under the same circumstances.. the problem.. the chip wont make the trip.. or not without loads of volts it wont..

a 6400 chip must be the easiest chip in the world to take to its limit.. why.. cos its nearly there when u get it..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#15
I dont have any links on hand, but I know I have seen many rigs running 3.6Ghz with BE chips as 24/7 machines. But I do agree with you 100% this is the end of the line for this series of chips.

KNowing that...You may want to stay around 3.4 - 3.6 Ghz and instead lower the multi and try to squeze out as much as you can from the RAM and FSB and RAM timings.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#16
240 fsb wont even boot into windows..
i'll just try the 1st setting of
core 3.45
multi 15x
bus speed 230
Ht link 920
thanks for the help and ill let ya know how it runs after the burn in test.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#17
javascript:SelectAndCopy('imgurl')
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,342
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#18
javascript:SelectAndCopy('imgurl')
select/highlight the tag at the bottom that has IMG tags aorund it , then rightclick and copy the link. Post it on here. Should work better!
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,926 (1.35/day)
Likes
821
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#19
basically if it was possible to clock the poor old amd chip in a reassible fashion and significant amount there would be no reason for me to have moved to intel..

except the realites of amd life.. take the 6400 chip for what it is and run the easy to get 3.4 gig..

the 6000 and 6400 chips are the same they just come in different boxes.. the retail 6000 chip is the best buy.. the black edition more a con..

trog

ps.. here i go again sneaky.. saying its easy to clock the amd chip.. :laugh::laugh:

but it is.. leave the multiplier where it is.. feed as much voltrage to the chip as u dare and keep taking the fsb up.. the chip will be the limiter.. it will go as far as it will go..
 
Last edited:

DeAtHWiSh

New Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2007
Messages
197 (0.05/day)
Likes
48
Location
Miami, FL
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor AMD Thuban 1090T@3.6GHz HT@2.6GHz / Intel i7 2630QM @ 2.0GHz
Motherboard Asus CH V 990FX / Intel HM67
Cooling Corsair H100 CPU Load @ 48C (Fans on Low 24/7) / Stock
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24-2T / Corsiar Vengence DD3 1600 (4GB x 2)
Video Card(s) ASUS 580 GTX DCII / NVidia 555M 1.5GB
Storage OCZ Vertex III 120GB (OS) - Seagate Barracuda 320GB-7200RPM (X2 in RAID 0) / PNY 128GB SSD
Display(s) HP 2711x 1080P 27'' LED ON DVI / 14'' LED 900p
Case Cooler Master HAF X 942 / Alienware
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 8-Channel HD Audio / Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro 850W / Stock
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit / Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores Real Men Crunch 4 TPU!
#20
Well, I've been at 3.6 stable now for a couple of weeks, and past all the stress tests just fine on my 6400+. I've also taken it to 3.9ghz but only stable for about 4 hours, but this chip if everything is right has alot of potential, it just take time and patients. Oh and at 3.9 my temps during stress where still -15c.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,601 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,356
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#22
thanks sneeky i got it now lol
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
5,926 (1.35/day)
Likes
821
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#23
Well, I've been at 3.6 stable now for a couple of weeks, and past all the stress tests just fine on my 6400+. I've also taken it to 3.9ghz but only stable for about 4 hours, but this chip if everything is right has alot of potential, it just take time and patients. Oh and at 3.9 my temps during stress where still -15c.
absolutely magic.. vapour chill land and for what.. bugger all.. any half decent intel chip will wipe the floor with it on a stock cooler..

trog
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2005
Messages
3,099 (0.66/day)
Likes
812
System Name TheReactor
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.95ghz - delid
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VIII Genie z170
Cooling EK EVO NIckle/Pump, 2xBlackIce GTX 240's
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz Cas 14
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980ti Gaming 6G
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Display(s) HP ZR30W - 2560X1600
Case Corsiar 550
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply Antec Quattro 1000W
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair Gaming k70
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
#24
To go above 235 your gonna have to take that CPU voltage off default and start adding voltage. But before you do that what are your temps at under load? You may have to add voltage anyways just to make it more stable at the 235x15. be sure to check your temps. Lets not fry your shiny new BE chip.

Time Patients and a VapoCHill Cooler...LMAO! Love to see the -15c. (not sarcasm)
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,613 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,342
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#25
thanks sneeky i got it now lol
Next time set the pixels to like 800-900 (step #2)and use the bottom link to post the actual picture. Like so!