• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking amd 6400+ black

Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
519 (0.13/day)
Likes
60
Location
U of WY, USA
System Name Fusilli
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 C3 @ 3.9GHz (200x19.5, 1.51V)
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX/SB600 (AM2+)
Cooling Zalman 9700NT, 2x silent 80mm & 2x 120mm Scythe & Enermax
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870 512MB @ 825/1050 (3x heatpipes)
Storage 2x 250GB RAID 0 - Seagate 7200.10 16MB on Promise FastTrak
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2450 & VX1940
Case Lian-Li PC60 PlusII
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude, Denon AH-D1000 headphones
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage - P10909
Gee and to think that last December i knew crap and just asked how to o/c and a great man named Zim popped in and guided me to where i am now... I only hope this thread keeps goin..n..goin..n..goin lol... kinda like the AMD bunny lol...
:toast: to all and lets share what we all accomplish..
Cheers!
you're certainly cheery

cheers to 6400+ BE @ 3.5 !!!!!!

:toast:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
All i can say is.... I NEED TO H2o this dang cpu... unless ASUS pulls there head outa there azz and comes up with a proper Bios that acctually works and lets ya o/c compared to my ol asus m2r32-mvp mobo... all the fancy solid state caps and 8+2 power phase design don't do sh!t without a proper Bios!!!
Oh well it is designed for the Phenom so i better see if Tiger Direct does overnight delivery..
Cheers y'all:rolleyes:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
blah but thank you... im getting a little pissy here trying to get this rig stable at 3.82Ghz
Just isn't going to happen with this cooler and ram... dam i wish amd had a fsb : memory ratio to work with.:wtf:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
weird? setting to cpu volt over 1.5v the temps @64c and crashes
mabey my mobo isn't reading the temp proper...
@3.82 and 1.55v crashes
@1.425 44c
@255x15= 3825GHz
255x800 gives 1020 for a ht link speed
is this cpu running to hot and causing it to crash?
255x15+1020ht =42-44c and stable for over an hour
can someone tell me what's going on?
i think i know but need other input to confirm
(TOOOO HOTT) ?
:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,326 (1.70/day)
Likes
996
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
weird? setting to cpu volt over 1.5v the temps @64c and crashes
mabey my mobo isn't reading the temp proper...
@3.82 and 1.55v crashes
@1.425 44c
@255x15= 3825GHz
255x800 gives 1020 for a ht link speed
is this cpu running to hot and causing it to crash?
255x15+1020ht =42-44c and stable for over an hour
can someone tell me what's going on?
i think i know but need other input to confirm
(TOOOO HOTT) ?
:rolleyes:
Dude I can't get my 6400 to stay stable at 3.5Ghz with any volt let alone 3.8Ghz lol and I have the same/or better Cooler than you. I'm telling you man, you got a 1 out of 5000 chip that OC's good. No execure for me either cause we have the same MB lol.

Hmmm for the temps you shouldn't be getting that high with 1.55 Volts. I would run mine 1.6 and it would never reach 64. Did you knock your cooler off or has it collected dust?
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
its cleeeeen as a whistle.. My system has several air filters and as for 1.6? my mobo wont let me... 1.55 and thats all...
over that it wont boot... keeps saying cpu OVERVOLTAGE and thats with bios 0804..
hey try this and let me know hoew it works... 1.425v
core= 3.488
x16
bus 218
ht link 1090 = set it to 1ghz
should work sweet for ya bud
and as for my 3.8 she did the crash n burn after 1hr 12min
i need a new psu and a quad lol...
memory = 4.4.4.12.22 @2.10v
you have sweet tracer ram so id bump it to the recomened 2.30v at those specs
Hey do you have TVU Player?
google tvu player and download it...
sweet free tv program and im watching two and a half men...
hahha funnier then *uck
hey hows the gpu working?
ive up'd my score... how bout you?
:toast:
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
My bad Aphex sorry
Set your memory to 4.4.4.12.22@2.2volts
that dimm can run up to 1000+MHz at 5.5.5.18.22@2.2v
that could be ucking you up..
my corsair 800mhz ram is spec'd at 4.4.4.12.22@2.1v
im running it at 872Mhz @3.49cpu clock
 

Maxamp00

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Second Build
Processor Phenom 9950 BB Oc'd to 3.15
Motherboard Asus M3N-HT Deluxe
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z3 92mm Ball CPU Cooler
Memory 4 Gigs Mushkin Extreme DDR2 800 (4,4,4,12)
Video Card(s) Dual Palit 8800gt Super +1g
Display(s) Chimei 22 inch Wide and acer 20 inch wide
Power Supply XION Supernova XON-600F14R-201 ATX12V 600W
Benchmark Scores 3dmark Vantage P11935
blah but thank you... im getting a little pissy here trying to get this rig stable at 3.82Ghz
Just isn't going to happen with this cooler and ram... dam i wish amd had a fsb : memory ratio to work with.:wtf:
Hey fullinfussion I have noticed how weird it is that 2 systems running the same hardware get different results. On a former post "Steve" has the same mobo as me but his voltage is much lower and he acheives different results he runs his at 1.47 volts 220 multi and 16x, at those settings on mine crashes every time. I am wondering if pci e voltage might play a part?? At this point I am a little obcesed with this thing. Any Idea's :banghead:
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,266 (4.08/day)
Likes
7,621
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
3.3 barely stable

1.475 tried 1.5v still same resaults HT link is at 5x times 204 or so at 16x tried right for 3.4/3.5ghz and the system wont even post.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
i don't think the PCI express volt has any thing to do with o/c'n the cpu..
all the pci e does is communicate with the gpu.. i don't touch the pci volt as i really don't know much about it.. have you bumped up the Ht north bridge link volts at all? im running at 1.40v and if i drop it to 1.3 it doesn't remain stable
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
lol solaris... baby steps... baby steps... just tack it up by 10mhz and run a stress test... after its stable then bump it up a tad more and stress again... after it crashes then try upping the voltages a bit to see if that makes it stable...
you also need to remember every mobo and cpu's react different

My m2r32-mvp ran the cpu at stock @1.45v
The m3a32-mvp at stock runs at 1.39v
I also found that with this board i cant run the cpu volts up as high as the r32 mobo and i can get a sweet stable clock on the a32 board running at lower voltages..
Another thing ppl misunderstand is when o/c'n and it crashes is i guess it needs more volts..
try and keep in mind that the HT link north bridge needs to be fed v's as well..
 

Maxamp00

New Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2008
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
System Name Second Build
Processor Phenom 9950 BB Oc'd to 3.15
Motherboard Asus M3N-HT Deluxe
Cooling Rosewill RCX-Z3 92mm Ball CPU Cooler
Memory 4 Gigs Mushkin Extreme DDR2 800 (4,4,4,12)
Video Card(s) Dual Palit 8800gt Super +1g
Display(s) Chimei 22 inch Wide and acer 20 inch wide
Power Supply XION Supernova XON-600F14R-201 ATX12V 600W
Benchmark Scores 3dmark Vantage P11935
i don't think the PCI express volt has any thing to do with o/c'n the cpu..
all the pci e does is communicate with the gpu.. i don't touch the pci volt as i really don't know much about it.. have you bumped up the Ht north bridge link volts at all? im running at 1.40v and if i drop it to 1.3 it doesn't remain stable
I left the PCI E alone, my NB is set a 1.40 I can get my rig up to 1.55 but she always crashes on any taxing application, i have tried upping voltage on cpu and ram, as you can see from my screen shots on page 18. I kind of topped of at 3.45 even then prime95 gets about 30 mins into the test at the most. Hmmm
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
try and see what happens if you drop the cpu volt down to 1.42.. did you apply the thermal paste on proper? seems weird that at 3.3ghz and that much voltage that it's hardly stable..
try this for the heck of it
bus speed 218
multi x16
Ht link x5 (1000mhz)
cpu volt 1.425
ht norht bridge volt @ 1.40v
memory @ 2.1v @4.4.4.12.22 T2
but you know what your memory is spec out at hey..
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
drop the cpu volt max.. try 1.4?.. your memory shouldnt need much volts sence your mem isn't being pushed hard at all at those settings
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
Max believe it or not but 3.45 isnt bad at all..
i've read that the 6400 black is all ready o/c'd straight from the factory...
it's just a 6000 chip with the extra multiplier, thats all
maximum Pc ran a test on the 6400 and for them 3.44ghz was all they really could clock it at using air...
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,266 (4.08/day)
Likes
7,621
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
i know all about babay steps this isnt my first OC....but iv tried alot im at 3.280 and thats about stable...ill try running my ram with more voltage and ill set her at 5-5-5-15 my ram isnt performance just some ocz stuff...and my NB voltage is stock at 1.5v goes up in .1v incriments...vdrop isnt that severe maybe .05v
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.34/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
i know all about babay steps this isnt my first OC....but iv tried alot im at 3.280 and thats about stable...ill try running my ram with more voltage and ill set her at 5-5-5-15 my ram isnt performance just some ocz stuff...and my NB voltage is stock at 1.5v goes up in .1v incriments...vdrop isnt that severe maybe .05v
My DFI Ultra II M2 and 6400+ clock best on a 12X multi and 3x HT. Give that a shot. Mine had weird issues on the 16x multi for some reason.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
654 (0.16/day)
Likes
476
Location
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
System Name The Phoenix
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6GHz (1.16V)
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark II
Cooling Custom Full Loop w/EKWB & Swiftech components
Memory 16GB (4x4GB) Kingston HyperX DDR3 @ 2133Mhz (1.68V)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 SeaHawk EK X @ 2GHz/5GHz
Storage Samsung 850 Evo SSD (2x250GB) + Seagate HDD (2TB)
Display(s) LG 29UM65-P (2560x1080 @ 75 Hz)
Case Thermaltake Core V51
Audio Device(s) Razer Chroma 7.1 & Focusrite Scarlet 2i4 w/M-AUDIO BX5-D2
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
Software MacOSX 10.12.6 "Sierra" & Windows 10 Pro 64 bits
My DFI Ultra II M2 and 6400+ clock best on a 12X multi and 3x HT. Give that a shot.
With my ASUS too, the 12x as well as the 13x multi had been the more succesful ones in stable configurations, though my HTT link liked 4x most of times (1100-1200Mhz works pretty well for me and faster than any 3x value, even with 325 of FSB, i also reached levels of 1300 but i think it's simply too high and not that stable)

Solaris17 i'll do one simple thing, aim the principal voltages on the BIOS to an almost desired level and set the FSB at 200 and multi at 16x ... then let Autoclock from AMD Overdrive to do the job, for me worked 100% reaching the top speeds that my CPU can run ... after that i just needed some more tweakings since i was not using the 16x multi. I tell you, with 1,47V@CPU, 1.40V@HT Voltage, 1.16V@NB and 2.20V@RAM (4-4-4-12-15-2T) ... autoclock took me to 3580Mhz ... with 1,58V@CPU, 1.50V@HT Voltage, 1.22@NB and 2.30V@RAM ... overdrive also stopped at 3580, and it's 100% real, my CPU won't run stable at 3,6 and it's pretty hard at 3,58 too ... but 3,56-3,57 is full stable at 1.49-1.50V

Hope to be helpful

Try it if you're desperating so much :toast:
 

PyroX1040

New Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2007
Messages
283 (0.07/day)
Likes
13
Location
Chicago, IL
System Name Phoenix EGTX 8400
Processor Intel E8400 3.0Ghz / 4.5Ghz - 2000FSB 1.6375 Vcore
Motherboard 3VGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
Cooling Straight Air
Memory 4.0GB Kingston HyperX Gaming Ram 800Mhz [OC]
Video Card(s) SLI 3VGA 8800 GTX 606/1800 / BFG Tech PhysX GPU GDDR3
Storage Western Digital Raptor X 150GB 10,00RPM [x2]
Display(s) KDS 22" Widescreen 2ms
Case Tagan Aplus+ Black Pearl WCR Edition
Audio Device(s) Built In
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST1000 1000W Modular Power Supply - SLI Ready x4
Software Windows XP Professional 2003 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3D Mark 06': 19000 On The Nose!
i know all about babay steps this isnt my first OC....but iv tried alot im at 3.280 and thats about stable...ill try running my ram with more voltage and ill set her at 5-5-5-15 my ram isnt performance just some ocz stuff...and my NB voltage is stock at 1.5v goes up in .1v incriments...vdrop isnt that severe maybe .05v
NEED MORE POWA!!! MORE VOLTZ!!! also.. use the damn M2N32-SLI moron -.-!!!

also get back to ur computer!!!!
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
Solaris is having a real hard time just getting 5% of an o/c...
Was thinking... have you checked for any bios updates?
I know my new mobo didn't clock well with the shipped bios version.. I upgraded and haven't had any problems since..
Just throwing one out there to consider
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
What bios you running SIR?
cant see how your upping the cpu so high as im running the same board and probably the same bios.. anything over 1.56 and all i get is CPU OVER VOLTAGE warning and she automatically rolls back to factory defaults in the bios once i get into it...
Weird..
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,823 (2.40/day)
Likes
3,612
Bank cycle time (trc) can someone explain to me if there is any benefits to setting it from 22 to 18?
4.4.4.12.18 T2 @2.1volt
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
654 (0.16/day)
Likes
476
Location
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
System Name The Phoenix
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6GHz (1.16V)
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z97 Mark II
Cooling Custom Full Loop w/EKWB & Swiftech components
Memory 16GB (4x4GB) Kingston HyperX DDR3 @ 2133Mhz (1.68V)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 SeaHawk EK X @ 2GHz/5GHz
Storage Samsung 850 Evo SSD (2x250GB) + Seagate HDD (2TB)
Display(s) LG 29UM65-P (2560x1080 @ 75 Hz)
Case Thermaltake Core V51
Audio Device(s) Razer Chroma 7.1 & Focusrite Scarlet 2i4 w/M-AUDIO BX5-D2
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
Software MacOSX 10.12.6 "Sierra" & Windows 10 Pro 64 bits
What bios you running SIR?
cant see how your upping the cpu so high as im running the same board and probably the same bios.. anything over 1.56 and all i get is CPU OVER VOLTAGE warning and she automatically rolls back to factory defaults in the bios once i get into it...
Weird..
Now i'm using the 1002 BIOS as soon as was published on Asus Support Downloads ... though i don't like it too much (0801 was more stable) ... this version includes the ECC settings lane which is really useful for arranging ram issues, anyway, i noticed the Overvoltage error you're telling me it's an issue since 0902 version ... if you set the CPU Voltage to 1.5625 it will end on Overvoltage error (don't know why but it happens) cause the BIOS sets the voltage automatically to 1.66V ... but if you use the next 1.5750 all is fine again, same thing on 1.5875 as well as 1.6, these last three should work, just skip the "1.5625"

Try and tell us! :toast:
 
Top