• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking an FX6300, should I continue?

Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
296 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Hi guys!

for the past few days I was tinkering with the frequencies in my PC. I managed to get my RAM from 1600 MHz to 1864 MHz without changing any of the timings so I think that's quite an achievement.

My next question is regarding my CPU. I managed to get over 4,6 GHz (CPU-Z validation) with it, but it doesn't seem stable (PC shut off once - power supply not strong enough? Temps are too low for critical shutdown) and I pulled it back down to 4,4 GHz.

A stable 4,4 GHz OC is achieved with +0.175 V on the core. Should I go higher? Full load temperatures do not exceed 45 °C at the moment.

Thanks!

P.S.: CPU-Z screenshot
q4qx3s.png
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
17,098 (3.01/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J590U + BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Seasonic Core GC500
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
VR HMD Acer Mixed Reality Headset
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Desktop stable
I can really only say that if it's unstable it might very well shut down without being warm.

As far as voltages go I've no idea.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,265 (0.29/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor R5 4650G, bronze sample =( || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard B450 I AORUS PRO WIFI || default
Cooling Corsair H100i + frankenstein loop || Stock
Memory 2x16GB HyperX 3600 @ 3933MTs 17-20-21-36|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MTs
Video Card(s) Vega 56 under EKWB UV @ 1700Mhz+ 1030MHzHBM || RX 560X
Storage Samsung 960 Evo + Striped Tiered Storage Space (2x 128Gb SSD + 2x 1TB HDD) || 128GB SSD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R FrankenCase ||
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
Hi guys!

for the past few days I was tinkering with the frequencies in my PC. I managed to get my RAM from 1600 MHz to 1864 MHz without changing any of the timings so I think that's quite an achievement.

My next question is regarding my CPU. I managed to get over 4,6 GHz (CPU-Z validation) with it, but it doesn't seem stable (PC shut off once - power supply not strong enough? Temps are too low for critical shutdown) and I pulled it back down to 4,4 GHz.

A stable 4,4 GHz OC is achieved with +0.175 V on the core. Should I go higher? Full load temperatures do not exceed 45 °C at the moment.

Thanks!

P.S.: CPU-Z screenshot
View attachment 79892

PSU seems fine, if the temperatures are all right you can start increasing the voltages. If the CPU-z voltage is accurate, you up the cpu voltage quite a bit more. Afaik its been generally agreed on that 1,55V is a sort of max for chips like yours so you have quite a bit of headroom left. If upping the voltage causes your PC to shut off more quickly however, you might have bumped in to the limits of your motherboard power delivery capacity.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,731 (1.37/day)
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.415v - SMT disabled
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) Acer ED242QR 75hz Freesync
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
I can see lots of people reading the thread so am sure someone will chime in soon with some detailed advice, and I haven't had an amd chip for years but I know the bus speed is also linked to other things such as nb and htt (if it's still called that...) so you could well have enough vcore, you might just need to tweak some other things to get your oc stable, still subbed to see how you get on :toast:
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
296 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
This is what I'm getting right now. 4,66 GHz on +0.225 V. I'm just gonna keep the stress test going. VCore loadline calibration is set to "Extreme".

123.PNG


Could this result in damage to my CPU if ran 24/7?

EDIT: CPU temperature in AIDA while stress testing shows 66 °C, HWMonitor says 55 °C (same as Northbridge in AIDA)
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,265 (0.29/day)
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Acer Nitro 5
Processor R5 4650G, bronze sample =( || R5 2500U @ 35W
Motherboard B450 I AORUS PRO WIFI || default
Cooling Corsair H100i + frankenstein loop || Stock
Memory 2x16GB HyperX 3600 @ 3933MTs 17-20-21-36|| 2x8GB DDR4 @ 2400MTs
Video Card(s) Vega 56 under EKWB UV @ 1700Mhz+ 1030MHzHBM || RX 560X
Storage Samsung 960 Evo + Striped Tiered Storage Space (2x 128Gb SSD + 2x 1TB HDD) || 128GB SSD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung U28E590 4K & S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P IPS @ 100Hz Freesync enabled
Case Corsair 500R FrankenCase ||
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 || 135Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
depending on your motherboard it might work better with 1 notch under extreme as LLC. Apart from that those volts and temps are fine.
Keep in mind however that CPU-Z bench isnt the best stability test you could run. Prime95 generally is more punishing on your system and will be a better worst case scenario.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
834 (0.37/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Comet Lake
Processor Core i5 10600K
Motherboard MSI MPG Z490 GAMING PLUS
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports Duo
Memory CORSAIR LPX 16GB DDR4 3200 CL16 CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
Video Card(s) GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus M2 1TB
Display(s) Dell 24 Gaming Monitor - S2422HG 165 Hz
Case AQIRYS Arcturus
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1200 Codec
Power Supply Corsair RM650x GOLD
Mouse Genesis Krypton 770
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W10 Pro x64
If u had at least this model GA-970A-UD3P or better like 990 FX chipset u could reach higher but since your mobo has 4+1 i think NO.

Leave it @4.4-4.5 GHz if is stable,turn off turbo core,C1E,C6State and CnQ.

Edit: Keep it max 55-57 C,to work optimal and no throttling
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
296 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
If u had at least this model GA-970A-UD3P or better like 990 FX chipset u could reach higher but since your mobo has 4+1 i think NO.

Leave it @4.4-4.5 GHz if is stable,turn off turbo core,C1E,C6State and CnQ.

Edit: Keep it max 55-57 C,to work optimal and no throttling

I have already done all that before: turbo off, C1E off, C6 off, HPC off, CnQ off, CPU not throttling, always on OC clock (no power-save).

Starting stress test with Prime95
*stress test didn't go to well*

Computer didn't want to turn on for a minute or two, thought I lost him, hahaha. Reverted to 4,4 for now. Voltage down to +0.175 V
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
834 (0.37/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Comet Lake
Processor Core i5 10600K
Motherboard MSI MPG Z490 GAMING PLUS
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 eSports Duo
Memory CORSAIR LPX 16GB DDR4 3200 CL16 CMK16GX4M2B3200C16
Video Card(s) GeForce® GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
Storage Samsung 970 Evo Plus M2 1TB
Display(s) Dell 24 Gaming Monitor - S2422HG 165 Hz
Case AQIRYS Arcturus
Audio Device(s) Realtek® ALC1200 Codec
Power Supply Corsair RM650x GOLD
Mouse Genesis Krypton 770
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W10 Pro x64
Glad u knew it those must be off..

Keep it safe and no more try OC further on that mobo,4.4 GHz is decent and overall good performance gain.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
5,213 (1.06/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | Ryzen 1600X | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA- | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Stock Cooler, Copper Core)| Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x8GB Corsair 3000 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Inno3d GTX 1050 TI | MSI RX 580 8GB
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB SSD WD, 2x1TB, 1x750 | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
Its not over 9000 yet keep going!!
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,311 (0.33/day)
Your motherboard cant cope with power demand of that chip beyond 4.4GHz. Perhaps there's a setting that disables the CPU consuming more power then AMD recommends. You should turn that off.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,641 (2.79/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
970 boards are not made for overclocking, and probably won't take too much more.

I'd say if you want more, a 990 board would be needed.
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,311 (0.33/day)
Chip is proberly at it's max as well. Better board only shaves off few more mhz but nothing special.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
3,191 (1.43/day)
Location
Europe
System Name eazen corp | Xentronon 7.0
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X // PBO max.
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 SE2011 w/ AM4 kit // 3x Corsair AF140L case fans (2 blowing in, 1 out)
Memory G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x16 GB DDR4 3600, CL16-19-19-32-48-1T, 1.4 V
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 // ~2000 MHz Core / 1476 MHz G5X
Storage Silicon Power P34A80 1TB NVME/Samsung SSD 830 128GB&850 Evo 500GB&F3 1TB 7200RPM/Seagate 2TB 5900RPM
Display(s) Samsung 27" Curved FS2 HDR QLED 1440p/144Hz&27" iiyama TN LED 1080p/120Hz / Samsung 40" IPS 1080p TV
Case Corsair Carbide 600C, inverted design case
Audio Device(s) HX Cloud Orbit S / Creative SB X AE-5 @ Teufel Concept F / Sony HD AVR @ PC & TV @ Teufel Theater 80
Power Supply EVGA 650 GQ // semi-passive mode on
Mouse Logitech G700 @ Steelseries DeX // XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB Mechanical Keyboard /w Cherry MX Brown switches
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 10.498 Time Spy | P24.796 Firestrike | P31.547 3DM11 | X56.401 3DM Vantage Extreme
You can be glad it powered off - if not your MB and maybe the CPU too would be dead now. The safety measures worked. I would not run the system on the absolute limit 24/7. If you know 4.4 GHz is the limit, I would go a tad lower and decrease voltage to decrease the stress it puts on the motherboard. 100 MHz less doesn't make a difference performance wise, but for your mainboard it could mean life and death. Find a overclock setting that's a good balance between overclock, performance and power consumption, that's the best for the health of your PC.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
296 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I have reverted the clocks back to 4.4 GHz as stated before and I'm now running the Prime95 small FFTs test. Things seem to be going just fine actually. I have a problem when I, for example, pause a video (VLC Media PLayer), leave it sitting there and after 20-30 minutes my computer freezes (odd colored vertical lines). I have already determined that the CPU is causing this, but how come it happens when idliung on video and never on full load?

Edit: Prime95 small FFTs → 4,4 GHz @ 1.475 V → max. temp. 58-59 °C → no errors for now
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,228 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thats a pretty low end motherboard, psu is questionable too. What cooler is on the cpu?
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
296 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Thats a pretty low end motherboard, psu is questionable too. What cooler is on the cpu?

CPU cooler: Arctic Freezer Extreme rev. 1.0.

The PSU should by all means be able to cope with the system.

Other PC cooling(my thread on TPU):
IMG_20161006_140107.jpg


Also, I'm not planning on upgrading the motherboard since Zen is coming out and I don't feel like spending money on my PC ATM, planning on a bigger upgrade next year (mobo, RAM, CPU, GPU).
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2006
Messages
1,199 (0.21/day)
Location
Netherlands
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 5600x / Intel i5-4200U
Motherboard ASUS TUF B550-Plus / Lenovo MB
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 280 / Stock
Memory Corsair Vengeance 2x16GB DDR 3800 / 8GB DDR3-1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 6900XT / Intel HD 4400
Storage 2.5TB SSDs + 4TB HDD / Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB
Display(s) 34" LG Ultrawide / 12.5 " 1080p IPS Touchscreen
Case Fractal Design R6 / Lenovo X240
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Onboard
Power Supply Enermax REVOLUTION87+ 1000W / Lenovo 40W
Mouse Razer Basilisk X
Keyboard Dell Business Multimedia Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Chicken Invaders 5 @125+ FPS
You should look at the package temperature in HWinfo (which is the same as the CPU in AIDA). This is 67 and if I remember well the maximum was about 72. AMD boards go hard on the VRMs. Good news your board has VRM heatsink. Bad news is it's only 4+1 phases but for 6 core chip it should be fine.

Edit: FYI I had my FX 6300 @ 4.55GHz 1.4v. I would not put more than 1.45v for 24/7. When trying to overclock your CPU, downclock your ram or run it at stock in order to avoid getting errors from it
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
560 (0.14/day)
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.325ghz 1.206v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | Noiseblocker BlackSilent Pro 120mm x 3
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3733mhz c16 1.4v | IF @ 1866mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX-470 RS Single Fan flashed to RX-570 @ stock water-cooled
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 256gb M.2 | Crucial M4 128GB | WD Blue 1TB | WD Blue 500GB 2.5" | Toshiba 2TB 2.5"
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
I wouldn't put much hope on any am3+ board with a 4+1 power phase. Your core temps might be fine but I'd assume those VRMs are now going crazy with that voltage.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
296 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You should look at the package temperature in HWinfo (which is the same as the CPU in AIDA). This is 67 and if I remember well the maximum was about 72. AMD boards go hard on the VRMs. Good news your board has VRM heatsink. Bad news is it's only 4+1 phases but for 6 core chip it should be fine.

Edit: FYI I had my FX 6300 @ 4.55GHz 1.4v. I would not put more than 1.45v for 24/7. When trying to overclock your CPU, downclock your ram or run it at stock in order to avoid getting errors from it

Package temperature doesn't reach 60 °C with this configuration. Are you saying I should drop all the clocks (FSB, NB, HT link) and then try to get a higher clock on my chip? I think I'm slowly reaching the limit (of the chip) so I believe it's better to stick with 4,4 GHz and leave all the other clocks, because dropping those and only increaing the CPU clock will probably yield lower performance. Correct?

Edit: Stayed on 4,4 GHz, all other clocks same as before, CPU doesn't exceed 53 °C on +0.150 V while small FFTs test

cpuz1.png
cpuz2.png
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,228 (6.20/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Look for AMD FX oc club. On here.

I snagged my board 2 years ago.
 

FireFox

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
7,267 (2.62/day)
Location
Germany
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling 2x Black Ice Nemesis GTX 480 - 1x Black Ice Nemesis GTX 420 - D5 VPP655P - 13x Corsair LL120 - LL140
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB/1TB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise/Windows 10 Pro/Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
CPU temperature in AIDA while stress testing shows 66 °C, HWMonitor says 55 °C (same as Northbridge in AIDA)
AIDA stress test doesn't really put the cpu on it knees, try Prime95 and you will see that temperatures won't be the same and let's see for how long your cpu will hold that stress test:p
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2014
Messages
296 (0.12/day)
Location
Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenia
System Name Thermaltake
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 5600X @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B550 Aorus Elite V2
Cooling AMD Wraith Prism
Memory 2 x 8 GB Crucial Ballistix @ 3400 MHz
Video Card(s) STRIX Vega 64
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB | Kingston 240GB NVMe | Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Display(s) 34" ultrawide LG 34GL750B
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition (modded)
Audio Device(s) ALC 1220 120dB SNR HD Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Hamburg 530 W - 80 Plus
Mouse Logitech G502 HERO
Keyboard Genius Scorpion K9 (RGB)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
AIDA stress test doesn't really put the cpu on it knees, try Prime95 and you will see that temperatures won't be the same and let's see for how long your cpu will hold that stress test:p

The CPU has been on Prime95 stress test for 2 hours now, still no errors.
 
Last edited:

FireFox

The Power Of Intel
Joined
Feb 19, 2014
Messages
7,267 (2.62/day)
Location
Germany
System Name BlackWidow
Processor Intel i7 10700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XII Hero
Cooling 2x Black Ice Nemesis GTX 480 - 1x Black Ice Nemesis GTX 420 - D5 VPP655P - 13x Corsair LL120 - LL140
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3600Hz
Video Card(s) EVGA GEFORCE RTX 3080 XC3 Ultra
Storage Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 500GB/1TB - WD Blue SN550 1TB - 2 X WD Blue 1TB - 3 X WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Asus ROG PG278QR 2560x1440 144Hz (Overclocked 165Hz )/ Samsung
Case Corsair Obsidian 1000D
Audio Device(s) I prefer Gaming-Headset
Power Supply Enermax MaxTytan 1250W 80+ Titanium
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard Virtuis Advanced Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise/Windows 10 Pro/Windows 11 Pro
Benchmark Scores My PC runs FiFA
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,209 (7.79/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Deepcool 360 AIO
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL15
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 3070 Ti Trinity OC Watercooled
Storage SSD's
Display(s) MSI MAG322CQR
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modius DAC, SMSL SP200 amp, Fosi Tube Pre-Amp.
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Logitech Pro Wireless
Keyboard GMMK
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
The CPU has been on Prime95 stress test for 2 hours now, still no errors.

Stable! Seriously, if it were me, I'd start using the CPU an hour ago.
 
Top