• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking CPU causing game instability?

What was causing this?

  • Windows 7 (Doesn't correctly utilise multicore?)

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • It was beta. It sucka for everyone

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    11
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
85 (0.05/day)
Likes
4
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name Monster Gaming PC
Processor [Intel] Core i5 3570K
Motherboard [ASRock] Z77 Extreme4
Cooling [Cooler Master] Hyper 212 EVO
Memory [Corsair] 8 GB (2 X 4 GB) Vengeance Low Profile
Video Card(s) [ASUS] GTX 670 OC 2GB (GTX670-DC2OG-2GD5)
Storage [WD] Caviar Blue 1TB SATA III 7200RPM
Display(s) [Dell] UltraSharp 2407WFP (24" 1200x1920)
Case [CM Storm] Scout 2 Black
Power Supply [OCZ] ZT Series 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate,
#1
Just wondering if overclocking my CPU could cause game instability. I've experienced massive, random lag spikes when playing BF: Hardline. I know the game is in beta but i can't help but feel that a CPU intensive game such as the latest battlefield releases are suffering from my CPU overclocking. I've followed this guide over at OC.net and I am getting 4.5Ghz with 1.28V. I've ran an over 4 hour prime95 small fft test without BSOD. Benchmarks show improved performance. BF: Hardline crashed occasionally. Could this instability be caused something else?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,166 (3.79/day)
Likes
3,841
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#2
Bump your voltage to 1.3 and try again.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
85 (0.05/day)
Likes
4
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name Monster Gaming PC
Processor [Intel] Core i5 3570K
Motherboard [ASRock] Z77 Extreme4
Cooling [Cooler Master] Hyper 212 EVO
Memory [Corsair] 8 GB (2 X 4 GB) Vengeance Low Profile
Video Card(s) [ASUS] GTX 670 OC 2GB (GTX670-DC2OG-2GD5)
Storage [WD] Caviar Blue 1TB SATA III 7200RPM
Display(s) [Dell] UltraSharp 2407WFP (24" 1200x1920)
Case [CM Storm] Scout 2 Black
Power Supply [OCZ] ZT Series 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate,
#3
Bump your voltage to 1.3 and try again.
1.28 is load vcore BTW. I am using an offset. My main concern is it may not be a CPU thing as it has done multi-hpur Prime95 tests. So you are saying too little voltage causes instability just like with a GPU?
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,891 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
#4
Yes, too little voltage can cause game instability. I had this issue when I use to run an X58 system with an i7 930 and overclocked that. Benchies and stability tests worked fine, but some games would not (I think at the time SCII was the main offender for me). Adding a little voltage helped solve this problem. It might also be worth tweaking your RAM clocks, latency and/or voltage too. All this being said though, the new BFs (4 and Hardline) I've noticed are really sensitive to any overclocking and will crash if it is not 100% stable.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,166 (3.79/day)
Likes
3,841
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#5
1.28 is load vcore BTW. I am using an offset. My main concern is it may not be a CPU thing as it has done multi-hpur Prime95 tests. So you are saying too little voltage causes instability just like with a GPU?
Bump the base core to 1.3v. As long as it is under 1.4v, you're fine.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
1,891 (0.86/day)
Likes
813
Location
Brisbane QLD, Australia
System Name Белая коробка | Alienware 13R3 | Asus T300 Chi | Synology DS416 w/ 4X6TB WD Red | Huawei P10
Processor Intel i7-7700k @ 4.8GHz | Intel i7-7700HQ
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix Z270G | Dell/Alienware thing
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w/ A15 & F12 | Double fan
Memory G.Skill 2X8gb Trident Z RGB DDR4 3000mhz | DDR4 2X8GB 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 | Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO 500GB, Crucial MX200 500GB, 1X WD 4TB Black | 256gb M.2 SSD, 512GB Intel 600p M.2
Display(s) LG 27UD68 & BenQ FP241W (ANCIENT!) | 13" 1080p IPS & Sony X7000E 49" 4K HDR TV
Case InWin 301 (white) | Alienware 13R3
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | onboard sound -Onkyo 808 Receiver
Power Supply InWin Classic Series 900W | Dell 180W brick
Mouse Logitech G403 Wireless | Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech G810 | Red Square OLD SCHOOL TKL - Gateron Blue
Software Windows 10 Home | Windows 10 Home
Benchmark Scores Citroen DS3 THP155 DSport6-spd manual|
#6
If it helps at all my lanbox which has a 3570k I run at 4.4ghz with 1.29v and it's all g. I could push it more but I don't have any need to tbh.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#7
Just wondering if overclocking my CPU could cause game instability. I've experienced massive, random lag spikes when playing BF: Hardline. I know the game is in beta but i can't help but feel that a CPU intensive game such as the latest battlefield releases are suffering from my CPU overclocking. I've followed this guide over at OC.net and I am getting 4.5Ghz with 1.28V. I've ran an over 4 hour prime95 small fft test without BSOD. Benchmarks show improved performance. BF: Hardline crashed occasionally. Could this instability be caused something else?
Are your games unstable when the CPU is at stock settings? If not, your overclock is unstable. If so, there's another problem. Check with your CPU at stock first. Your poll is currently irrelevant and a guess for anyone to answer at this time.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
85 (0.05/day)
Likes
4
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name Monster Gaming PC
Processor [Intel] Core i5 3570K
Motherboard [ASRock] Z77 Extreme4
Cooling [Cooler Master] Hyper 212 EVO
Memory [Corsair] 8 GB (2 X 4 GB) Vengeance Low Profile
Video Card(s) [ASUS] GTX 670 OC 2GB (GTX670-DC2OG-2GD5)
Storage [WD] Caviar Blue 1TB SATA III 7200RPM
Display(s) [Dell] UltraSharp 2407WFP (24" 1200x1920)
Case [CM Storm] Scout 2 Black
Power Supply [OCZ] ZT Series 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate,
#8
Are your games unstable when the CPU is at stock settings? If not, your overclock is unstable. If so, there's another problem. Check with your CPU at stock first. Your poll is currently irrelevant and a guess for anyone to answer at this time.
Thanks. This problem only showed up in BF: Hardline. Not in DayZ at all. So it may be part of the game, but I started overclocking almost right before I had gotten the game. Now that the beta is over, I think I will ignore the issue until I begin to re-encounter OC caused lag. Then I will be able to test the problem's relation to my overclock.
 

OneMoar

There is Always Moar
Joined
Apr 9, 2010
Messages
7,346 (2.62/day)
Likes
3,964
Location
Rochester area
System Name Kreij Lives On
Processor Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4.4Ghz 1.32V
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87
Cooling Reeven Okeanos Single 140MM Fan +2 SP120 White's
Memory 16GB kingston hyper x @ 2133 @ 11 11 11 32
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 ACX Copper Single fan
Storage 240gb Cruical MX200SSD/WD Blue 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S24D300/HP2071D
Case Custom Full Aluminum By ST.o.CH <3
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply HX 750i
Mouse Roccat KONE
Keyboard Rocatt ISKU with ISKUFX keycaps
Software Windows 10 +startisback
#9
beta game is beta
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
2,678 (1.25/day)
Likes
1,914
Location
Zagreb, Croatia
System Name Windows 7 64-bit Core i5 3570K
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77MX-D3H
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory 4 x 4 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 @ 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gainward NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 Phantom
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 1 TB, Seagate Baracuda 1 TB
Display(s) Dell P2414H
Case CoolerMaster Silencio 550
Audio Device(s) VIA HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX v2 650W
Mouse Steelseries Sensei
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Pro, Cherry MX Reds
Software MS Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit SP1
#10
This problem only showed up in BF: Hardline. Not in DayZ at all.
So you should test BF: Hardline at stock clocks ... if you get a crash, happily reapply your OC settings.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.46/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#11
i find i can have a perfectly stable oc at a set voltage. but 3dmark 11 has a better physics score if i bump the voltage up a bit. so i use that as my base line.
(find min stable voltage, then up voltage to find if 3d mark 11 physic score gets better. then find the lowest voltage i can use to get the best 3dmark 11 physics score. just look at the fps not the actuall score)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
53
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#12
Yes, first try stock clock to see if crashing amount lowers .
I have seen a few reports with newer Nvidia drivers guys complaining about micro stuttering in BF4 and there fix was slight bump in Vcore (like+0.005) .
So might be worth a try but first try stock to see if it improves crashing . I run BF4 and it might crash like 1 time in a month or 2 so its pretty stable but don't know about BF-hardline , if it has all fixes from BF4 .

Also see if your getting any WHEA errors in event viewer
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,315 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#13
Thanks. This problem only showed up in BF: Hardline. Not in DayZ at all. So it may be part of the game, but I started overclocking almost right before I had gotten the game. Now that the beta is over, I think I will ignore the issue until I begin to re-encounter OC caused lag. Then I will be able to test the problem's relation to my overclock.
Well Dayz will not max out the GPU either as it's a flaw with the game engine has been for years now. You cannot use Arma \ Dayz as a suitable test.

Like erocker said you should test system without over clocks 1st to make sure a issue is not some thing else.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
5,166 (3.79/day)
Likes
3,841
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Volt
Processor i7-4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X Gaming 5
Cooling NZXT Kraken X60
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 4x8GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 250GB SSD / 3x1TB + 2x2TB HDD
Display(s) 3x AOC 2425W + ViewSonic VA2855Smh + 2x Dell E178FP
Case Phantec Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) LucidSound LS30
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse G.Skill MX780 RGB
Keyboard G.Skill KM780 RGB (Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Technical term is PEBCAK issue, which stands for Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard
#14
If you wanna test a game where the game engine is so old and bugged where multiclienting will stress your rig, try Mabinogi. That game will max a CPU after 7-8 clients.
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2013
Messages
85 (0.05/day)
Likes
4
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name Monster Gaming PC
Processor [Intel] Core i5 3570K
Motherboard [ASRock] Z77 Extreme4
Cooling [Cooler Master] Hyper 212 EVO
Memory [Corsair] 8 GB (2 X 4 GB) Vengeance Low Profile
Video Card(s) [ASUS] GTX 670 OC 2GB (GTX670-DC2OG-2GD5)
Storage [WD] Caviar Blue 1TB SATA III 7200RPM
Display(s) [Dell] UltraSharp 2407WFP (24" 1200x1920)
Case [CM Storm] Scout 2 Black
Power Supply [OCZ] ZT Series 750W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate,
#15
My main problem here was that BF: Hardline was the only game I had which would've maxed the CPU, but then it was also the only beta. This problem is absent in all my other game so I will experiment as advised when the issue re-occurs.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#16
1.28 is load vcore BTW. I am using an offset. My main concern is it may not be a CPU thing as it has done multi-hpur Prime95 tests. So you are saying too little voltage causes instability just like with a GPU?

jumping right in with a bit of wisdom i dont see mentioned anywhere else.


CPU testing programs are completely useless on their own, because a game will add a lot more power draw to your PSU, *and* up the heat in your system considerably. add on top higher RAM usage, and all sorts of instabilities can be exposed in a game, that wouldnt show up in a pure CPU stress test.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,645
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#17
I use ...intel burn test/linpack , cinebench, then real game test (bf4 in my case)for stability/oc.

nothing beats that
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
I use ...intel burn test/linpack , cinebench, then real game test (bf4 in my case)for stability/oc.

nothing beats that

i use Wprime and furmark together. fast to load, and unless your drivers throttle it, stupidly high power consumption measured at the wall. if its stable there, its stable for everything.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
4,484 (2.09/day)
Likes
3,645
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Phenom II X6 1100T @ 3.7 GHz - NB 3.0 GHz | Xeon E3-1290
Motherboard MSI 970 Gaming | Asus Sabertooth Z77
Cooling TRUE 120 |Deep Cool Assassin
Memory Gskill Ripjaws X - 16GB DDR3 (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI 7970 Twin Frozr III BE OC - 1100/1500
Storage Crucial MX300 525GB + Multiple Mechs
Display(s) SyncMaster 2343BWX 23" 2048x1152 / Dell 1909W 19" 1440x900
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver - frame is built like a tank
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Extreme Music | X-Fi Titanium - Bookshelf system
Power Supply Corsair TX650 v1
Software Windows XP/7/8.1/10
Benchmark Scores Xeon E3-1290 cpuz world record
#19
i use Wprime and furmark together. fast to load, and unless your drivers throttle it, stupidly high power consumption measured at the wall. if its stable there, its stable for everything.

I was using wprime for a while and would pass yet ibt would fail oddly. I put my trust in ibt for now.

Though that is a quick test method indeed.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
I was using wprime for a while and would pass yet ibt would fail oddly. I put my trust in ibt for now.

Though that is a quick test method indeed.

primarily for quick testing, yeah.

OCing is one of those things that is just too dynamic to rely on one test alone - you gotta test heat, max power, and then stability of each part. one game may load the CPU insanely and crash out due to ram errors, another may make your GPU overheat, and so on.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2006
Messages
376 (0.09/day)
Likes
53
System Name Ed-PC
Processor Intel i5-3570k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77 V-Pro
Cooling CM 212 evo
Memory Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer DDR3 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Nvidia MSI 660ti PE OC
Storage WD black 500gig
Case Corsair 500R
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650TX V2
Software Win7 Pro 64bit
#21
primarily for quick testing, yeah.

OCing is one of those things that is just too dynamic to rely on one test alone - you gotta test heat, max power, and then stability of each part. one game may load the CPU insanely and crash out due to ram errors, another may make your GPU overheat, and so on.
I think one problem with using synthetic torture apps is they generally work a very heavy but stable load, so while they are taxing the CPU, memory etc it is always pretty stable load .
Real app the load is all over the place so the voltage controller and your offset (if used) need to be good and as load come on and off . So real appp is a must , for games BF4 is "pretty" stable now, don't know about Hardline .
Realbench might be good to test, it uses bunch of real app as a BM , Handbrake, gimp ,Luxmark etc .

Wprime , how much different is that then prime95 ? , I used it few times but never as stability test .
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.46/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#22
i like to use occt with psu test. it uses a lot of gpu and cpu (alternates a bit) its designed to stress the psu out as much as possible.

also if you have the full 3d mark 11 some of the extra render tests can let you find instability when the actual bench would sail through..
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
4,042 (0.91/day)
Likes
1,852
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i7 3770k @ 4.5 GHz /1.25 volt
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H with Beta Bios F20e
Cooling PHTC12DX CPU + MK-13 VGA, 1xDelta EFB1212VH, 2xYate Loon 140 PWM, 2xCorsair 120 PWM
Memory Samsung 30nm Green MV3V4G3D DDR3 16 GB (4x4GB) @ 1800 MHz CL9 1.35 volt
Video Card(s) PNY Geforce GTX 770 XLR8 2GB @ Core 1254 MHz / Ram 1800 MHz
Storage Seagate 600 240GB SSD (Boot) + 2xWD Caviar Blue WD10EZEX 1TB Data
Display(s) Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 + Asus VH242H 1920x1080
Case Lian Li PC A05 (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD USB Audio Dongle
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A, Corsair MM600, inateck 900mm x 300mm Mat
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL and Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key (Cherry Browns)
Software Win7 64 Pro
Benchmark Scores Wprime 32 5.758 http://www.wprime.net/Scores/19988/View
#23
Battlefield is very sensitive to bad overclocks. Its a good way to test an overclock actually.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,224 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,811
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
Run it stock. Saves you a headache even with not having to reinstall windows due to a crash that corrupted the files in the os/hdd

Just wondering if overclocking my CPU could cause game instability. I've experienced massive, random lag spikes when playing BF: Hardline. I know the game is in beta but i can't help but feel that a CPU intensive game such as the latest battlefield releases are suffering from my CPU overclocking. I've followed this guide over at OC.net and I am getting 4.5Ghz with 1.28V. I've ran an over 4 hour prime95 small fft test without BSOD. Benchmarks show improved performance. BF: Hardline crashed occasionally. Could this instability be caused something else?
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
1,319 (0.64/day)
Likes
686
Location
78°55' N, 11°56' E
System Name -aLiEn beaTs-
Processor Intel i7 4770k OC 4.7GHz @ 1.28v | Cache 4.2GHz
Motherboard Asus Z87-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H90 custom p|p fans
Memory G.skill TridentX 2x8GB DDR3 2400MHz CL10|1T
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980TI AMP!Omega Factory OC 1420MHz
Storage Intel SSD
Display(s) EIZO FS2333
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932 USB3.0
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium HD @ 2.1 Bose acoustimass 5
Power Supply Chieftec Ntro88+ 650W [52A]
Mouse oldschool Razer Copperhead blu
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro RS2
Benchmark Scores ► ♪♫♪♩♬♫♪♭
#25
If it passes prime etc, keep it as it is and double check cpu system agent voltage - vccsa.

If you're using vccsa- auto, readjust it and set at least 0.030 - 0.050v+ offset.


btw occasional stutter can happen from wrong cpuv too, usually too low.. small 0.005v is enough.

Ie 1.230v stuttered, 1.234v was fixed. But do pay attention to vccsa, this can be crucial at times.