• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking E6600 on EP45-UD3P

-Spanky-

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
135 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
In my bunker complex, well below the Saskatchewan
System Name Go here for updated specs & more info: http://natescomp.com/?page_id=7
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
Cooling 5x 80mm Case Fans, 120x38mm Delta on CPU
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1720MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 720/1476/1260MHz
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung HD103SJ in RAID0
Display(s) 1x Acer AL2016W & a 22"
Case Chieftec Alumnium Dragon
Audio Device(s) Audio-GD NFB-12 > Sony 55ES Amp > JBL L19A Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Benchmark Scores Not into benchmarking.
#1
The overclocking bug has bitten again. I'm at 3.2GHz on my E6600 (400x8) and I was hoping to bump the multiplier up to 9 to get 3.6GHz.

My current settings in the bios:
400x8
1.425v (VCore)
1.050v (MCH)
2.060v (RAM)
Beyond that, everything is pretty much default. I pushed the VCore all the way up to 1.4875v and the MCH up to 1.3v also upping the ram to 2.080v in the bios to get that 400x9. I did get it to boot but when it came time for windows to load I would randomly get a weird "TRAP EXCEPTION 00005F59" or "000AC44" and just a black screen. I could CTRL+ALT+DEL at the TRAP EXCEPTION but I would have to hold the power button down for the black screen. What's going on here? I appreciate anyone who helps :)

*EDIT* Fixed nonsense number for RAM :D
 
Last edited:

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,945 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,055
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#2
I run my P45 with a Q6600 @ 400FSB using closer to 1.26v on the NB, around 1.050 on mch (iirc), are you sure you're running 2.6v to your memory?! That's pretty damn high unless it's DDR1. I run my 2x2gb DDRII 1066 on 2.0v (rated for 2.0-2.1v). My MB might be an Asus, but P45's are pretty easy to work with, and so are conroe's. What other settings do you have, have you changed? I wonder if your bios is similar to my fiance's P35-DS3L bios-menu-wise...

What does your vcore read in CPU-z and OCCT under load? The crashes I'm sure have something to do with some serious instability, hopefully either your ram is meant for that kind of voltage or you need to fix that asap...toasting your ram could cause massive issues and system failure (though probably just limited to damaged/failed memory).
 

-Spanky-

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
135 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
In my bunker complex, well below the Saskatchewan
System Name Go here for updated specs & more info: http://natescomp.com/?page_id=7
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
Cooling 5x 80mm Case Fans, 120x38mm Delta on CPU
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1720MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 720/1476/1260MHz
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung HD103SJ in RAID0
Display(s) 1x Acer AL2016W & a 22"
Case Chieftec Alumnium Dragon
Audio Device(s) Audio-GD NFB-12 > Sony 55ES Amp > JBL L19A Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Benchmark Scores Not into benchmarking.
#3
lol I saw my mistake on the ram. Edited original post :D My system specs should work but if not, I'm running a total of 8gb (4x2) of G.Skill 1066MHz. I know this is a stress on the northbridge but I think I should be able to hit 3.6GHz. I do have load line calibration enabled. Right now my voltage is 1.425 in the bios and CPU-Z reads it as 1.392v.
 
Joined
Aug 6, 2009
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Motherboard MSI X370 Xpower Gaming Titanium
Cooling NH-U12S SE-AM4
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Gigabyte G1 Gaming RX 470 4GB
Storage ADATA SU800 256GB SSD + WD 4TB SSHD
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T
Case Cooler Master MasterCase Maker 5t
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower Grand 650W
Mouse Cooler Master MasterKeys Pro S
Keyboard Cooler Master Xornet II
#4
if you're running 1:1 FSB:RAM then I don't see the need for you to adjust the vdimm voltage since a 1066 would be able to run 800 with ease. :)

perhaps you just reached your processor limitation. how's the heat like at your 3.2ghz 1.4vcore?
 

-Spanky-

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Messages
135 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
In my bunker complex, well below the Saskatchewan
System Name Go here for updated specs & more info: http://natescomp.com/?page_id=7
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5
Cooling 5x 80mm Case Fans, 120x38mm Delta on CPU
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3 @ 1720MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 275 720/1476/1260MHz
Storage 2x 1TB Samsung HD103SJ in RAID0
Display(s) 1x Acer AL2016W & a 22"
Case Chieftec Alumnium Dragon
Audio Device(s) Audio-GD NFB-12 > Sony 55ES Amp > JBL L19A Speakers
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Benchmark Scores Not into benchmarking.
#5
if you're running 1:1 FSB:RAM then I don't see the need for you to adjust the vdimm voltage since a 1066 would be able to run 800 with ease. :)

perhaps you just reached your processor limitation. how's the heat like at your 3.2ghz 1.4vcore?
I'm actually not running a 1:1 I have it set to 2.66 in the bios. I COULD run 800MHz but I paid for 1066MHz RAM :D It's pretty cold outside and I have the windo open but it looks to be about 69F in my room. I was playing GTA4 and paused to check some stuff including this thread so after an hour of GTA4 and 5 minuts of ORTHOS, my cores are at 44 & 43. They might get a bit warmer but not with all this cool air rushing in my window :D