• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking E7200 2.53GHz with an unbranded 500W PSU?

Joined
Jul 24, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I know my system is really outdated but until I get a new system I want to get the most out of this one. So I've been reading around the web and understood that unbranded PSU's are a hit or miss most of the time and are unstable. What should I do? if so, can you direct me to an overclocking guide?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
849 (0.63/day)
Likes
266
Location
Grunn, Holland
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor i7 4790k Delid 4.7@1.28
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x8GB 1866MHz C10
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW
Storage MX100 256GB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, LG 24 inch LED IPS thing
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win7 x64/Ubuntu
#2
I assume these are not parts you are using in a rig that you need to have running and you are just toying around with old hardware. I doubt you will have trouble with the PSU as long as you don't use some high end GPU and push it to its limit.

What board are you using? Usually you want to look at overclocking guides per board.

Here's a quick rundown.

FSB clock is the main thing you are going to adjust, the CPU multiplier is locked at 9.5. Default FSB on the E7200 is 266MHz and FSB x CPU Multi = CPU Clock. I have an E7200 that went to around 3.3 GHz on stock volts, after that I needed to push up mainly the CPU core voltage. Some boards might need more FSB voltage too. Keep in mind that FSB also determines memory clock, so if you leave your memory divider at default you might see instability quite early on. If you are already using the lowest memory divider setting you will need to start turning up the voltage and increasing the memory timings to keep stability.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2014
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Thanks for answering! This is just my current system, I don't have anything else at the moment, so I want to get it to do it's maximum, at least on stock volts.
My board is a Gigabyte G41M Combo and my GPU is 9500GT(VERY low-end, OC'd a bit). So am I good to go?
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.47/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#4
i much prefered overclocking on the older system.
its basically increase the boards front side bus speed. change the memory ratios so they are at stock speeds.. try to keep the fsb speeds at around the mother boards maximum supported fsb. and then see if it boots.
(you obviously start with lower fsb incriments untill you get to instability. and then tweak voltages)
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2014
Messages
849 (0.63/day)
Likes
266
Location
Grunn, Holland
System Name Indis the Fair
Processor i7 4790k Delid 4.7@1.28
Motherboard Asus Z97I-PLUS
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Kingston HyperX 2x8GB 1866MHz C10
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW
Storage MX100 256GB, WD Red 3TB, and other stuff
Display(s) BenQ XL2430T, LG 24 inch LED IPS thing
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Behringer Xenyx Q1002USB, ATH-M50x
Power Supply Seasonic 860w Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70 (MX Blues, dying blue lights)
Software Win7 x64/Ubuntu
#5
I have an Asus P5KPL that was in a prebuilt I got my E7200 from. That got to around 343MHz FSB stable, there were no voltage options and the memory controls were also very limited. I expect your board will be similar, just find the FSB speed in the BIOS and start turning it up in 10-20 MHz increments. Once it becomes unstable you will need to back it off to the last one and make a smaller increment.

The two Asus boards I have (other one is a Maximus II Formula) both have a handy little feature that automatically resets the Overclock if the board doesn't POST. I don't know what the Gigabyte boards have as far as this goes, it might be harder or more time consuming to reset the board after failing POST.
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,188 (2.11/day)
Likes
8,947
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i5 6500 / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + Scythe 1200rpm + 4 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#6
Last edited: