• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking EVGA GeForce Superclocked 8600GTS 256MB

cagedvr6

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz
Motherboard EVGA nForce 650i Ultra 775 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce Superclocked 8600GTS 256MB
Storage WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 22" L226WTQ-BF "2 ms response time cheaa"
Case Some Junker
Audio Device(s) None
Software XP Pro
#1
So i loaded the ati tool, and i clicked find max core "figured it would find the maximum safe setting for the graphics card" well it went up until the screen when hay-wire then the computer restarted and its back to defaults. What is find max core and how do i safely overclock this card with the stock cooling?
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#2
It's already superclocked...I think that's as high as you're going to get it lol. Evga is usually pretty good about finding the max stable clocks for a card and making them the superclocked versions.
 

cagedvr6

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz
Motherboard EVGA nForce 650i Ultra 775 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce Superclocked 8600GTS 256MB
Storage WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 22" L226WTQ-BF "2 ms response time cheaa"
Case Some Junker
Audio Device(s) None
Software XP Pro
#3
Theres gotta be more i can get :]
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#4
Well you probably won't on stock cooling and without voltmodding it
 

cagedvr6

New Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz
Motherboard EVGA nForce 650i Ultra 775 ATX
Cooling Stock
Memory CORSAIR XMS2 2GB DDR2 SDRAM
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce Superclocked 8600GTS 256MB
Storage WD 160GB
Display(s) LG 22" L226WTQ-BF "2 ms response time cheaa"
Case Some Junker
Audio Device(s) None
Software XP Pro
#5
Whats voltmodding?
 

pbmaster

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2006
Messages
2,588 (0.62/day)
Likes
288
Location
Savannah, GA
Processor AMD Phenom II 955
Motherboard Asus Crosshair III Formula
Cooling Cooler Master V8 CPU cooler, 120 mm and 200 mm exhaust, 3 x 120 mm intake
Memory 4 GB OCZ DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890
Storage Western Digital 500 GB Blacks in RAID 0/ Wesdtern Digital SE16 250 GB
Display(s) Acer 19" widescreen
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Supreme X-Fi
Power Supply Seasonic M12 SS-700HM
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x64 SP2
Benchmark Scores 3dMark 03-~62k 3dMark 05-~22k 3dMark 06-18268
#6
It's when you raise the volts going to the GPU of memory to allow for more overclocking..it also produces more heat though, so like I said before you do anything you will probably want to get another cooler.