• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking Intel 820 2.8 D Processor

Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a Intel 820 2.8 ghz dual core processor with a
Sapphire PC-I7RD400 Motherboard (Based on ATI RD400 model)
I cant increase the CPU multiplier (fixed at 14)
I could increase the FSB from 200 to 220 but anyting more the system locks up.
What can i do and how can i reach 3.2/3.4 cause this processor can reach like 3.6Ghz.
I am using Dual Channel Transcend 1GB X 2 (DDR 400) RAM. Total 2GB
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#2
how can is say? ROFL?
okay not every cpu is running same speeds and youre one might only reach 220 fsb.
sometimes is Cpu Cooling because of overheating while giving more volt to the cpu.

its always a matter of cooling and voltage.

you might look if you are ocing your ram too when you oc youre cpu sometimes the agp/pci pci-e lock wont work check it.
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#3
well theres ur problem right there (points to sapphire brand name)
as far as i know those motherboards dont like too high of a overclock (i am not 100% or even 50% sure) and um a model#/pic of your heatsink will help.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
9 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
I am using a Thermaltake Golden Orb II air cooling fan and i think my processor is not running that hot cause the fan is running at its medium speed at max.
Can anyone tell me of a software to monitor my processor temp (which supports my motherboard)
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#5
well mother board monitor 5 supports almost any motherboard unless your mobo doesnt come with a monitoring utility on the cdrom. odds are there is one on the cd so just check.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2005
Messages
1,807 (0.39/day)
Likes
35
Location
Hamburg
Processor Intel I7 2600k@ 4.5
Motherboard Gigabyte p67 ud4 b3
Cooling AC Cuplex kryos Hf
Memory 8096 Exceleram 1600@ 1333 Cl9 1.35v
Video Card(s) Palit Gtx570@950/1900@1.063v
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 120gb, 2tb Seagate 7200rpm s-ata3
Display(s) Asus 24inch Lcd
Case Coolermaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi with Teufel Magnum Power Edition
Power Supply Coolermaster 700W Silent Pro Gold
Software Linux?^^ ;P Windows 7 64bit
#6
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#7
I have had the luxury of hand picking chips that overclock well in two instances...

First was the Celeron (PIII variant) Tualatin 1.3 GHz chip (total of 5 of them!) in the same motherboard and everything - Abit ST6-Raid (815 based):
Best Chip - Rock stable at 1.7 GHz
Next best (two of them) at 1.6 GHz
Next at near 1.45 GHz
The worst could barely scrape 1.4 Ghz.

Second (just recently), 630 CPU (total of THREE of them!) in an ABIT AG8 (915 based)
Best two chips FSB = 247 Stock Voltages, Tried BOTH with stock HS fan and Watercooling! COULD NOT GET OVER 247, no matter what I did with voltages, even between Air and Water cooling.
Next chip 240 was the ceiling and I had to raise the Vcore to 1.44 to get there.

In short - it's usually luck of the draw.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#8
yeah... I was extemely lucky getting a P4 prescott 640 that did a 1ghz overclock With HT still enabled, temperatures not exceeding 56*c on my gigabyte cooler.

I'd RMA it, and say it's not working correctly.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#9
infrared said:
yeah... I was extemely lucky getting a P4 prescott 640 that did a 1ghz overclock With HT still enabled, temperatures not exceeding 56*c on my gigabyte cooler.

I'd RMA it, and say it's not working correctly.
Wow - you are at 300 FSB! Cool - what are your components running at? I hit that wall at 247 with two CPUs, I'm wondering if the NB is failing at that 1:1 speed. I'd say your suggestion is slightly unethical (no offense, I've considered the same thig), but chances are the next guy who gets it won't be overclocking :) Of course I read (with jealousy), reports of getting 4.5 GHz out of a 630!

One other note to the original poster - you are dealing with overclocking TWO processors... so the chances of getting results similar to one good core are much less.
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#10
WOW, 4.5ghz 630 :twitch: Thats incredible!

Its really tricky stabilising my system @ 14x multi, it's a lot easier on it's normal 16x multi since then it's only 263mhz *16. I have to loosen the RAM timings up a lot to get to 4.2 with the 14x multi.

It was completely tested... I used 2 instances of prime 95 for 10 hours, then used the burn-in wizard on sandra and it's completely fine. I'm too scared to go above 4.2 though... Besides, i'd only probably have another 50mhz or so.

I use 3.85 to 4ghz for normal use, and keep the last 200mhz in reserve for if i need to do some video or music encoding.

I know what you mean though, it's one hell of an overclock! But on the other hand, i've seen P4 640s only getting up to 3.6ghz and no further :shadedshu So i definalty have a lucky chip.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
hey im almost if you have a sata hard drive and its locking up thats the reason , your mobo doesnt have a pci lock, so pop in a ide and OC away
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#12
infrared said:
WOW, 4.5ghz 630 :twitch: Thats incredible!
Its really tricky stabilising my system @ 14x multi, it's a lot easier on it's normal 16x multi since then it's only 263mhz *16. I have to loosen the RAM timings up a lot to get to 4.2 with the 14x multi.
I would imagine you'd have to tweak quit a bit - Does your ASUS motherboard allow multiplier changes on all 6xx processors?
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#13
yep, just to the x14 though. I'd like to have it lower.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#14
infrared said:
yep, just to the x14 though. I'd like to have it lower.
damn, I'm tempted to get one just to try a 16x or 17x multiplier. AKA CPU higher, components the same. I'd have to buy some DDR2 memory though!
 

infrared

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
4,241 (0.93/day)
Likes
1,855
Location
Southampton, UK
System Name Raisin
Processor Ryzen 7 1800X (binned silicon lottery chip, good for 4.2GHz)
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero - bios 1401
Cooling 240mm rad with corsair ML fans, EK D5 pump/res, XSPC raystorm pro, lapped.
Memory G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-4266 16GB @ 3466MHz CL14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1080Ti FE - waterblock pending.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB + Corsair 120GB ssd (linux)
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG278QR 165hz 1440P
Case Lian Li test bench (can't decide on a case!)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750W G3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
Software Win 10 & Linux Mint 18.1
#15
it's very good stuff, benches high and overclocks fairly well. i went for 4 sticks of cheap 512, 522mhz stuff, and it gets 6500mb/s + with Sandra! It's great!
 

Amdguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
144 (0.03/day)
Likes
42
Location
Miami, Fl
Processor Phenom II 940
Motherboard DFI 790FX
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Gskill DDR 2 1066 8 Gigs
Video Card(s) 5870 1 GB
Storage 300 gig veloci raptor, two 2.0 terrabyte hd's (all WD)
Display(s) 1080p LED TV
Case Antec p182
Audio Device(s) X-fi Fatality with Logitec Z-5500 Digital Speakers
Power Supply Silverstone 750
Software Windows 7 Signature Edition
#16
I got the pentium d 820 with the intel 945psn mobo, the mobo is not overclockable :(, but anyways i think it will be a prety cool system so far i just got the mobo cpu and 500 antec power supply, i am planing on buying more stuff tomorrow for it. If anyone knows any way around the it to overclock it please let me know.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,796 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,785
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#17
Amdguy said:
I got the pentium d 820 with the intel 945psn mobo, the mobo is not overclockable :(, but anyways i think it will be a prety cool system so far i just got the mobo cpu and 500 antec power supply, i am planing on buying more stuff tomorrow for it. If anyone knows any way around the it to overclock it please let me know.
Intel boards are notoriously solid, but overclocking is not an option on any that I know of. That's where ASUS, ABIT, MSI, DFI, etc. come in to the game and are usually cheaper for te same chipset and typically more features/goodies but quality is sometimes the sacrifice. Interestingly - vendors like Dell also ship boards that are not clockable, but there are exceptions, like certain XPS models.