1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking Intel Pentium 4 3.0...

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Cja123, Mar 30, 2009.

  1. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Hey folks,

    I'm bored as hell today and I think I'm going to shove my old Pentium 4 3.0 prescott into my semi-old EVGA 780i sli board. You guys think I'll be able to overclock it at all? I don't know if it's even compatible haha but like I said, I'm bored. :rockout:
     
  2. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Should be fine. I've never owned one, but I hear that those old P4 chips are capable of OCing up to 8+ghz on DICE and LN2
     
  3. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    What?! 8+Ghz? Jesus man, that's crazy. I don't have any LN2 sitting around hah, but I do got an old crappy mascool 775 fan I'll pop on there. I've seen this processor run stable at about 78*c for 5 years now. I just wanna see how far it'll go for kicks before I hit 80*c.
     
  4. R-Type New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'd say it should be fun

    I remember reading a while back about how modern chipsets and cooling have allowed overclocks much more in line with the 8-10ghz that netburst was originally supposed to deliver.

    That 780i is usually stable to around 480fsb and with a modern heatpipe or water cooler should be impressive
     
  5. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well I'll get it to it. I fill you guys in if your interested.
     
  6. infrared

    infrared

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,397 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    If it's a P4 630 it should overclock very well. I doubt you'll be able to hit anywhere near 8ghz.

    Air - 4.5-5ghz
    water - 5.5ghz maybe
    ln2 - 7ghz if you voltmod it to 1.8-1.9v ish.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,375 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    Good luck. My S478 Prescott is running happily at 4.2Ghz/1.375v on an old P4P800-E Deluxe mobo (Ninja II cooler with a pair of Thermaltake Cyclo 120mm fans). I wish you higher clocks ! :toast:
     
  8. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Alright guys so it's not the single core, its the Pentium 4 531 and its a dual core. It's currently in my computer running really hot. 3 mins into OCCT and it's at 65*c. The multi is stuck at 15X so I don't know how far I'm going to be able to push this. 1066 rated FSB already puts me at 4 GHZ lol.
     
  9. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,375 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    The Pentium 4 531 is a single core processor with HyperThreading, but it is not a dual core CPU.
     
  10. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Really? My Bios has it read as dual-core.
     
  11. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Your right though, it is a single core. Just opened CPU-z.
     
  12. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,375 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    It should show in CPU-Z as "1 Core" but "2 Threads".
     
  13. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Yep Yep. It sure does. What do you guys think this thing is capable of? When I loaded defaults in BIOS it already had 1.37v pumping into the chip.
     
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,353 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,908
    I tried this with a older P4 on an X38. What I ran into was it would boot and read correctly, but comming from an 200 FSB I was only able to boot 220. The newer boards dont really know what to do with the older chips.

    Just my 2 pennies, it could end up a total waste of time like when I did it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well I've already booted in and tested 250 FSB and it was stable. Trying for 3.5 GHz right now.
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,353 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,908
    Well shit, Congrats to you so far then. I hope it keeps running up for you!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    10 mins OCCT stable @ 3.5 Ghz
     
  18. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    bump it up then:)
     
  19. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    failed OCCT after 8 mins @ 3.75 Ghz. I think it was due to low NB voltage. Bumped up NB to 1.6v and I'm gonna try again.

    update- unfortunately, it failed again. I bumped up some other voltages and I'm trying to leave the CPU voltage alone. So far I keep getting bsod during OCCT.
    -what voltages do you guys think I should bump up? NB is at 1.625v CPU is at 1.39v SB is at 1.35 and the NB<-->SB transfer voltages is at 1.35 I believe.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2009
  20. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Alright peeps, 3.75Ghz OCCT ten minutes stable after some voltage adjustments.
     
  21. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Whats wrong with 3.0ghz?
     
  22. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    now 4 ghz:D
     
  23. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    more is always better:D
     
  24. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Had to raise CPU voltage to get it into windows. I'm going to try and get some stability here. This could take awhile heh.
     
  25. Cja123

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Alright well hit the end of the road. Had to pump 1.48 volts into the chip to get it to even get to the welcome screen. It was idling at around 65* c :p. Guess I'm going to keep it here at 3.75 and use it till it poops. Strange that it can run 3.75 with stock voltage but can't hit 4.0 with all that voltage into it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)