• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking my quadcore

Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#27
you could try 375x8 for 3Ghz
 

Kongol

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#28
would i still need NB at 1.45 for 375 * 8?

This is the current summary of what i am goign to do.

375 * 8

Ram divider, closest to 800 mhz preferably over

NB 1.45

everything else leave as is?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#29
yes it would help for stability. Looks good, remember to run a OCCT or some sort of stability program when you get into windows to make sure its stable, and keep those temps below 65c. Although Intel says 70, i have a 5c buffer.

Set ram voltage to 1.9
 
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.56/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
#30
where is the fsb option located, and how much should i raise it?
I don't want to sound like a jerk but if you're asking where to change your FSB you should be reading guides first about what everything does before attempting to overclock...you're setting yourself up for failure.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#31
I don't want to sound like a jerk but if you're asking where to change your FSB you should be reading guides first about what everything does before attempting to overclock...you're setting yourself up for failure.
that is very true, Kongol you should go and read some guides or become familiar with your bios first before you start overclocking, Overclocking is more of an art then a science.
 

Kongol

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#32
i know, i did read a few guides and i learned alot, i learn from doing things not reading them lol i read so many guides for building my first computer, but when i actually started doing it, i forgot everything, i just had to read directions and do it from scratch.

it was worth it in the end, i learned a ton.


Another question, ram dividers, do u have to do math to see if you reach 800mhz or should it say somewhere?
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#33
on my blood iron board it shows up in the bios screen like one or two rows above the ram divider selector. it changes as you change the divider, you have to hit enter on the divider page if you want to see it change.
 

Kongol

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#35
I just finished evrything and it booted but i dont know if its setup correctly. I did this

375 * 8

the ram divider is 900

but on the stress test it says

2250MHz FSB: 375MHz [375MHz x 6.0 est.]
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#36
it will say weird things, that is most likely because it didn't throttle up yet. If you get a Program called CPU-Z, it will say the same thing, until your stress the cpu or something and then it will kick it up to a 8x multi. Your ram at 900 seems good, should be stable. my computer idles with a 6x multi, and when i put a demand on the cpu then it will rise to 8x.
 

Kongol

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#37
oh thats good news! the temperature seems to be running the same as before too, and stress test is fine.
 

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.79/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#38
you could try 375x8 for 3Ghz
Hey Im back :p you can use 1.45v for the NB I just prefer not to for everyday use. you can touch the NB with your finger while the comp is running it shouldnt be to hot but quite warm (make sure to touch the metal on your case or somewhere else b4 doing that though).

I dont think you should try 2.2v for your ram its supposed to work at 1.8-1.9v, if it does not and your running stock timing and speed than you should return the sticks since they do not do as thier supposed to.


I just got up so Ill brb to read alll the posts.

dont worry about what the stress test software says your clocks at, its at what you set it. Sometimes they give you wrong speeds but atleast coretemp always has given the right temperate
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#39
what are your temps at on each core?

I dont think you should try 2.2v for your ram its supposed to work at 1.8-1.9v, if it does not and your running stock timing and speed than you should return the sticks since they do not do as thier supposed to.
I did go back and read through the posts and i did correct myself on that.
 

Kongol

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#40
stress test

core 1 = 61C
core 2 = 60C
core 3 = 54C
core 4 = 52C

Non stress test

core 1 = 46C
core 2 = 45C
core 3 = 42C
core 4 = 42C
 

Chewy

New Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
3,287 (0.79/day)
Likes
147
Location
Halifax, Canada
Processor Q6600 G0 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus p5k-Premium/Black Pearl
Cooling Luna Block, 240mm rad
Memory Patriot Extreme PC2-6400 2x2GB
Video Card(s) Saphire 5850 1GB
Storage 60GB SSD + 2x500GB/1TB/2TB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW and 50" Panasonic S2
Case Silverstone TJ-09
Audio Device(s) X-fi Prelude
Power Supply Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850watt
Software Windows7 32Bit
Benchmark Scores Super Pi 1M 14.333
#41
looks good man you using 1.25v on the NB or 1.45? try for 1.25, if it dont boot just reset CMOS and set it to 1.45.. but 1.25 should work. than run stress test on your cpu and ram (I use Orthos) let that run for a couple hours atleast.

if you have a printer you should print off the OC'ing Guide, you should be using that to fine tune your overclock and such. Print it off than you can take your time and read it and highlight important stuff.
 

Kongol

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
#42
im using the 1.45 for nb. Everything seems nice :) thanks for everyones help, i really appreciate it!
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2007
Messages
1,471 (0.40/day)
Likes
124
Location
The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
System Name The Grand Phoenix Clusterflop
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb @3.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock 870 EXTREME3
Cooling Xigmatec S1284 (Lapped)1x200mm, 4x120mm
Memory Muskin Silverline 4GB DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) eVGA GTX 470 SC Edition 1280mb RAM (C/S/M)(640/1280/1705)
Storage 2x500GB Seagate, 32MB Cache 1xWD 40GB UMD IDE Hdd.
Display(s) SAMSUNG 22" LCDTV HD Monitor and Samsung 24"
Case COOLER MASTER RC-690
Audio Device(s) USB 2.0 Sound (USB out to my Stero System)
Power Supply Thermaltake XT TPX-775M 775W
Software Windows XP Home SP3
#43
looks good man you using 1.25v on the NB or 1.45? try for 1.25, if it dont boot just reset CMOS and set it to 1.45.. but 1.25 should work. than run stress test on your cpu and ram (I use Orthos) let that run for a couple hours atleast.

if you have a printer you should print off the OC'ing Guide, you should be using that to fine tune your overclock and such. Print it off than you can take your time and read it and highlight important stuff.
he will need around 1.4 for the NB with a 400ish FSB, if he has 1.37 he could try but i needed 1.45 to be stable.

EDIT: Good luck Kongol with your new OC,
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.49/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#44
did you psu is prand name or not , just check cuz the q6600 is easy overclock cpu