• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking my Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X

Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
37
Likes
6
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) NVidia EVGA Classified 780 ACX Cooler
Storage 1tb Barracuda + 2tb WD C.Black + 250gb Samsung SSD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG + Audio Technica M50's + Infinity bookshelves with receiver
Power Supply 850w Corsair
#1
I've had the card a couple months and am just started playing with overclocking it.

Right now I have it at 1150/1450 stable but each time I bump it to 1500 memory clock it crashes. So from here do I need to increase my voltage, the VDDC option in Trixx?

So far I've been running tests with the Heaven Benchmark on custom settings,

Quality: High
Tessellation: Normal
AA: x4
1920 x 1080
DX11

This is my first time toying with a gpu so I just want to be sure I don't fry something haha.

Temps have sat around mid 60's only jumping up to 66+ now that I've bumped by memory up to 1450. I'm curious as to what would be better to have raise higher now, the memory to that 1500 that I read of many people reaching or the core clock to 1200+.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#2
The HD7950 has a 384 bit bus the memory is less important than core speed. Though if you want you could get after burner and use the VRAM voltage increase option to get a little more VRAM speed using 1.6-1.65v but it's riskier than pushing 1200mhz on the core using 1.2-1.3v because you can inflict permanent damage on the VRAM.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
37
Likes
6
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) NVidia EVGA Classified 780 ACX Cooler
Storage 1tb Barracuda + 2tb WD C.Black + 250gb Samsung SSD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG + Audio Technica M50's + Infinity bookshelves with receiver
Power Supply 850w Corsair
#3
The HD7950 has a 384 bit bus the memory is less important than core speed. Though if you want you could get after burner and use the VRAM voltage increase option to get a little more VRAM speed using 1.6-1.65v but it's riskier than pushing 1200mhz on the core using 1.2-1.3v because you can inflict permanent damage on the VRAM.
As far as I've read 1500 memory clock seems to be the max you can get on air so is the memory clock what is requiring a voltage jump or the core clock.

I used CCC's overdrive to set my power at +20% and the max volts I've seen is only 1.28 - 1.29 on GPU-Z and that's at 1400 memory clock. Will another bump of 50 really require that big of a voltage increase?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#4
Send me a screenshot of GPU-z voltage readings. Because if that's voltage on the memory that it's reading then you have some really low power GDDR5 or GPU-z is reading it wrong as most cards have voltage between 1.5-1.6v on the VRAM at stock
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
37
Likes
6
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) NVidia EVGA Classified 780 ACX Cooler
Storage 1tb Barracuda + 2tb WD C.Black + 250gb Samsung SSD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG + Audio Technica M50's + Infinity bookshelves with receiver
Power Supply 850w Corsair
#5
Send me a screenshot of GPU-z voltage readings. Because if that's voltage on the memory that it's reading then you have some really low power GDDR5 or GPU-z is reading it wrong as most cards have voltage between 1.5-1.6v on the VRAM at stock
Ok then I assume that the voltage is the MVDDC which reads a steady 1.602 V both idle and under load. I was thinking that the voltage was just the VDDC which under load is reading 1.238 as the max reading at 1150/1450. The only option available to change in trixx is the VDDC so I'll check out afterburner and see if that gives me anything.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1,888
Likes
742
Location
CZ
System Name TITAN Slayer / CPUCannon / MassFX
Processor i7 5960X @ 4.6Ghz / i7 3960x @5.0Ghz / FX6350 @ 4.?Ghz
Motherboard Rampage V Extreme / Rampage IV Extreme / MSI 970 Gaming
Cooling Phanteks PHTC14PE 2.5K 145mm TRs / Custom waterloop / Phanteks PHTC14PE + 3K 140mm Noctuas
Memory Crucial 2666 11-13-13-25 1.45V / G.skill RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34 1.7V / Crucial 2133 9-9-9-27 1.7V
Video Card(s) 3 Fury X in CF / R9 Fury 3840 cores 1145/570 1.3V / Nothing ATM
Storage 500GB Crucial SSD and 3TB WD Black / WD 1TB Black(OS) + WD 3TB Green / WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) LG 29UM67 80Hz/Asus mx299q 2560x1080 @ 84Hz / Asus VX239 1920x1080 @60hz
Case Dismatech easy v3.0 / Xigmatek Alfar (Open side panel)
Audio Device(s) M-audio M-track / realtek ALC 1150
Power Supply EVGA G2 1600W / CoolerMaster V1000 / Seasonic 620 M12-II
Mouse Mouse in review process/Razer Naga Epic 2011/Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Keyboard in review process / Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014/Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2011
Software Windows 7 Ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate / Windows 7 ultimate
Benchmark Scores cinebench 15.41 3960x @ 5.3ghz Wprime32m 3.352 3960x @ 5.25ghz Super PI 32m: 6m 42s 472ms @5.25ghz
#6
Ok good. Set the MVDDC to 1.65v and no more. If it doesn't help put it back down to 1.6. So I if read right you're already pushing 1.3v on the core because that is about as far as I would push it. So if the MVDDC increase does nothing for mem clocks give up as 1200/1500mhz isn't much faster than 1150/1450.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2012
Messages
37
Likes
6
Processor AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 2 x 4gb G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) NVidia EVGA Classified 780 ACX Cooler
Storage 1tb Barracuda + 2tb WD C.Black + 250gb Samsung SSD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG + Audio Technica M50's + Infinity bookshelves with receiver
Power Supply 850w Corsair
#7
Now when I'm toying with Afterburner I'm able to change the voltage settings both core and memory.

Core Voltage: 1125
Memory Voltage: 1600

Now when I change the mV there is no voltage change on gpu-z it remains to show 1.602 instead of 1.625 which is what I try setting it to. I've read about this card being possibly volt locked or is it just the BIOs.

Edit: After a bit more toying with it all I think 1200/1400 is my max. I have my VDDC set to 1275 rather than 1300 and it ran fine on the tests I ran. I was able to bump my VDDC to 1300 and run my core up from 1210 - 1250 but the higher it got the more artifacts were showing up in Heaven Bench so I just dropped it back down.

These Heaven scores were all run with the same settings I showed in the beginning of the thread.

Windowed 1200/1400: 1402
Fullscreen 1200/1400: 1344
Fullscreen 1225/1400: 1354


The performance increase from the core after 1200 just isn't much unfortunately. My temps sat fine in the high 60's as well once I bumped the VDDC. 71 being max card temp and 73 being the VRM 1 and 2 temps.

The 1250/1400 test I stopped early because the artifacts were very noticeable.

I guess I can just overclock my cpu now at some point and to get further performance.

Edit 2: Running the Heaven Benchmark on Extreme,

Ultra Quality
Extreme Tessellation
8x AA

I managed a score of 887, max fps 77, min 14. So not bad I suppose. No crashes or problems so far but I'll see how long that holds while gaming.

I assume its just fine to keep it at normal boost settings, 950/1200 and bump it to my OC whenever I'm going to play a graphically intensive game?
 
Last edited: