1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

overclocking on stock heatsink

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by adcom32, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    ok here's a cap of my cooling with stock clocks, and was wondering can i overclock with these temps or do i have to get a better cooler?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    45nm runs pretty cool i think youll get a little out of it. but id recommend an after market considering how far 45nm will go. and of course remember always watch your temps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    i might wait till my B-day which is on the 24th and i might can afford a v8
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    wise choice
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,778 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    E4300 is 65nm
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    how do yall know this stuff?:confused:
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    woops misread good point. carry on gentlemen carry on.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,154 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,722
    google, and years of living, breathing, and eating TPU
     
    t77snapshot and brandonwh64 say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,778 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Basically ^ :laugh: In my experience with my E2200 I would run no more than 1.5vcore (MAX) and keep the core temp under 70C. If your desired OC results in temps under 70C (mid 60s preferred) on the cooler you have you will be ok. I think you are using one of the Q series coolers with the copper core and full height, no? If so that is fine for a mild OC- I gave Xazax one and he took my old E2180 to 3ghz on it I believe.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    I...and then the entire mysql database
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    +1


    From a bit of googling, I'm seeing 3.3-3.4GHz at around 1.45ish using the stock cooler. I don't know what temps are like, but I assume they were good enough for those people to call them stable. So you have plenty of room. Just do it. If your temps hit 80c, get another cooler. Helpful link.
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,027 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,984
    You should be able to get some decent clocks with the stock cooler on that E4300. I hope you are lucky enough to get one of the stock coolers with the copper base though. What are your load temps, that is going to be the important part? I was able to run my E4300 on the stock cooler, with the copper base, at 2.4GHz all day long. I could push it to 3.0GHz, but temps were in the 75°C+ range.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  13. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    yes it does.
     
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    hm well that looks short like an E7200 HS instead of tall like a E6400 you could give it a go though.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,778 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    Its either a Q9x50 (if not full height) or a Q6x00 (if full height). I am pretty sure that its the Q9 though since I saw someone offer that HS to him in a thread he made some time ago in the BST.

    The heatsink that came with my E7400 was half height and had an aluminum core for reference.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,509 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,944
    Location:
    Florida
    im just judging by mine. both my E7200 HS and E6400HS had copper cores but my E7200 HS was half the hight of my E6400 HS
     
    theonedub says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    I got to 3.2 (stock 2.66) on a 65nm with stock cooler, temps in the 60's on load, 40'ish idle.
     
  20. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,778 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,978
    I see, must be more variations that I thought :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    ok i'v desided to overclock my cpu so i restarted my computer went into bios then went to cpu configuration and cant find out how to overclock it, so once again i need yalls help.
     
  22. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    220
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Find this:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    First off I would say raise only your voltage to about 1.325ish and change nothing else. Then report back here with your temps.
     
  23. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    ok this is what i got
    i went to "CPU CONFIGURATION" and dont know what to do
    [​IMG]
     
  24. jellyrole

    jellyrole

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    220
    Location:
    Manhattan
    Hit me up on AIM and I'll help you out quicker.
     
  25. adcom32

    adcom32 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    547 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    macon,GA
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)