• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking Q9300 on P5E

Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Location
Vancouver, Canada
#1
My system config is:

Q9300
P5E X38
4X1 GB Crucial Ballistix 8500
ASUS 4850
Arctic Cooling 7 Pro

I'm hoping to get 3.5 GHZ.

Right now, I have the Q9300 clocked at 430X7.5 at 333 strap.


I bumped up the FSB to 430, I can't pass Prime95 further than this. Edit: This configuration is longer be prime stable. Maybe the AUTO function just changed the voltage.
Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 7.5
FSB Frequency : 430
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
PCI-E Frequency: 100
DRAM Frequency: 1033
DRAM Command Rate : 2t
DRAM Timing Control: Manual
CAS# Latency : 5
RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
RAS# Precharge : 5
RAS# ActivateTime : 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
Row Refresh Cycle Time : AUTO
Write Recovery Time : AUTO
Read to Precharge Time : AUTO

Read to Write Delay (S/D) : AUTO
Write to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
Write to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
Read to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
Read to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
Write to Write Delay (S) : AUTO
Write to Write Delay (D) : AUTO
DRAM Static Read Control: AUTO
Ai Clock Twister : AUTO
Transaction Booster : AUTO
Boost Level :0
CPU Voltage : 1.300(highest I've tried)
CPU PLL Voltage : AUTO
North Bridge Voltage : AUTO
DRAM Voltage : 2.2v
FSB Termination Voltage : AUTO
South Bridge Voltage : AUTO
Loadline Calibration : Enabled
CPU GTL Reference : .AUTO
North Bridge GTL Reference : AUTO
SB 1.5V Voltage : AUTO

CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

CPUID 1.275 idle and 1.24V load on CPU-Z.

When I try to increase Nbridge voltage or PLL, I can't boot at all. I read in a review once that this board got up to 500FSB on a quad without increasing any other voltages except CPU.


I helped my friend get to 3.5GHZ on a P35 DS3R before, so I'm hoping to get the same or even better.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E (modded to Rampage Formula)
Cooling Zerotherm Nirvana NV120
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX (2x2 GB) @ 445 MHZ 5-5-5-12
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GTX @ 800-2000-1200
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 750 GB
Display(s) Samsung 245BW
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST75F
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06: 16812
#2
I have same board, can you post the rest of your settings include RAM timings and other voltage settings as well. I have gotten a Q9450 stable 3.53 GHz at 445 FSB but it was very difficult.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E (modded to Rampage Formula)
Cooling Zerotherm Nirvana NV120
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX (2x2 GB) @ 445 MHZ 5-5-5-12
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GTX @ 800-2000-1200
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 750 GB
Display(s) Samsung 245BW
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST75F
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06: 16812
#4
Yeah I flashed my BIOS to Rampage but kept getting BSOD's. If you plan to take that route I suggest a fresh install of Windows will most likely save you the headache of lookin at BSOD's. But, now I flashed back to original BIOS and was able to get up to 440 FSB. I change CPU GTL Reference to .63 and NB Reference to .67. Try givin it a little bit more voltage on the Vcore, try to stay under 1.38 though. Try settin strap to auto and run RAM with 5-5-5-12 timings in 1:1 Ratio with FSB for now. See how that works then work on oc'ing RAM cuz that is very easy to do once you are Prime stable
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Location
Vancouver, Canada
#5
Wierd. Last night the above configuration with the AUTOs was still prime stable. When I reboot again, it fails Prime95 first second. Maybe the AUTO function just changed the voltage.

I'll try giving CPU GTL Reference to .63 and NB Reference to .67. I'll let you know how it goes..
Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2007
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
5
Location
Vancouver, Canada
#7
I bumped up the FSB to 430, I can't pass Prime95 further than this.
Ai Overclock Tuner : Manual
CPU Ratio Control : Manual
- Ratio CMOS Setting : 7.5
FSB Frequency : 430
FSB Strap to North Bridge : 333
PCI-E Frequency: 100
DRAM Frequency: 1033
DRAM Command Rate : 2t
DRAM Timing Control: Manual
CAS# Latency : 5
RAS# to CAS# Delay : 5
RAS# Precharge : 5
RAS# ActivateTime : 15
RAS# to RAS# Delay : AUTO
Row Refresh Cycle Time : AUTO
Write Recovery Time : AUTO
Read to Precharge Time : AUTO

Read to Write Delay (S/D) : AUTO
Write to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
Write to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
Read to Read Delay (S) : AUTO
Read to Read Delay (D) : AUTO
Write to Write Delay (S) : AUTO
Write to Write Delay (D) : AUTO
DRAM Static Read Control: AUTO
Ai Clock Twister : AUTO
Transaction Booster : AUTO
Boost Level :0
CPU Voltage : 1.300(highest I've tried)
CPU PLL Voltage : 1.56
North Bridge Voltage : 1.45
DRAM Voltage : 2.2v
FSB Termination Voltage : 1.32
South Bridge Voltage : AUTO
Loadline Calibration : Disabled
CPU GTL Reference : .0.63X
North Bridge GTL Reference : 0.67X
SB 1.5V Voltage : AUTO

CPU Spread Spectrum : Disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum : Disabled

CPUID 1.275 idle and 1.24V load on CPU-Z.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2008
Messages
84 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
Processor Intel Q9450 @ 3.53 GHz
Motherboard Asus P5E (modded to Rampage Formula)
Cooling Zerotherm Nirvana NV120
Memory Corsair XMS2 DHX (2x2 GB) @ 445 MHZ 5-5-5-12
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Geforce 9800 GTX @ 800-2000-1200
Storage Samsung Spinpoint F1 750 GB
Display(s) Samsung 245BW
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Silverstone Strider ST75F
Benchmark Scores 3dMark06: 16812
#8
Did you try keeping strap to auto and running RAM at 1:1 speed. It will give you lower RAM speeds but try it and keep timings at 5-5-5-12. Try to give it a little more voltage see what 1.33 will give you. Increase FSB termination voltage about .4 more then CPU PLL voltage also by like .4 and try increasing NB voltage to 1.5. If the cooling in your case os good you need not worry about NB and FSB termination voltages that much. But as i said before dont go overboard.
 

i_dog_69

New Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2007
Messages
72 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Tacoma, WA USA
System Name Alienware m11x Core i7// Custom Build Desktop
Processor Intel Core i7 640UM @ 1.2Ghz (2.26Ghz /w Intel Turbo-Boost)// Intel Core-i7 930@ 4.01GhZ
Motherboard MSI Big Bang X-Power (X58 Chipset)
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory 8GB DDR3@ 1066Mhz/// 12GB Triple Channel Corsair Dominator DDR3@ 1528Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 335m GT-1Gb// 2x Nvidia GTX 670 in SLI
Storage 320GB Hitachi 7200rpm// Kingston 128GB SSD; 1TB Hitachi Deskstar// 3TB Seagate Momentus
Display(s) 11.6" Glossy 1366x768 Widescreen// 30"Dell Ultrasharp u3011 IPS Pan
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
Power Supply XFX PRO750W XXX Black Edition Semi-Modular 80Plus
Software MS Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11-P 13540
#9
just saw the post, i have had similar problems when OC'ing my q9300 past 400FSB on my maximus formula, which is a similar board. i will try the settings you showed, but my ram is haveing a hard tim OC i will check my settings and pst when i get home tonight.
 

amajmon

New Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
19 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#10
I have Q9300 on DFI X48 T2R but I overclock it only on 3000 Mhz without increase voltage default is 1,2200V just put fsb on 400 mhz whit mem 1:1 ratio. I wait for water cooling for higher clock. Something overclock depends about cpu itself.