• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Overclocking Temps 2500K

Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
304 (0.12/day)
Likes
96
Location
St. Louis, MO
System Name Alienware 17R4
Processor Intel Core i7-6820HK @ 3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Alienware 17R4
Cooling Laptop Cooling
Memory 32GB Crucial Ballistix LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 1070 GTX (Internal)/ASUS Geforce GTX 1080 Ti (in AMP)
Storage 500GB RD400 RevoDrive m2/ 1TB Cruical BX200
Display(s) ASUS Swift PG279
Case Alienware 17R4
Audio Device(s) Sennhesier GSX1000
Power Supply 330W Dell PSU
Mouse Razer Mamba TE Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
#1
Now that I have my LCS up and running, I started playing with the OCing a bit more and so far here is where I am at.

I have my 2500K at 4.5GHz @ 1.375V and CPU-Z/AIDA64 reports as high as 1.432V when running a stress test like IBT.

While running IBT I am hitting load temps of 71C and idling around 35C. I have 2x 570 GTXs all in a single loop and the room temperature is 24C. I have an 800D chassis as noted in other posts with a single Aerocool Shark on the bottom of the chassis with the pump sits pulling air into the main chamber aka Cooling Zone 1. I have 4 Scythe Kaze fans on my radiators that run at 1800RPM and push 88CFM. I could possibly put some more in for a Push/Pull as right now I am just in a push.

Thoughts on temps and possibly improving airflow.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,626 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#2
Why such high vcore as 4.5ghz should be doable on a lot less, I run 4.5ghz 24/7 constant 1.32vcore

I can hit 4.8 on 1.375 vcore, also what are your other settings/voltages?

Btw at the above OC on air I max 60c running IBT
 

LordJummy

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
1,403 (0.58/day)
Likes
246
Location
US of A
System Name Workstation1 | Asus G55VW-DS71
Processor i7 970 3.8GHz | i7 3610QM
Motherboard RIII Formula
Cooling EK 360 Supreme HF | Asus G55VW
Memory 24GB Dominator | 12GB DDR3
Video Card(s) 2x Diamond HD 6970 | GTX 660M
Storage 2x Vertex4 256GB | 256GB Vertex4 & 750GB HDD
Display(s) 3x Crossover 27" LED S-IPS + 30" DELL IPS
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro + Gigaworks G550W
Power Supply HX1000 + NZXT Black Sleeved Extensions
Software Win7Ult64Bit
Benchmark Scores ballz
#3
I don't have an SB chip in my personal computer, but in our servers they don't usually take that much core voltage.

Although some chips are just power hungry (ie: my 950 is very power hungry while my 970 takes very little power).

The temps look pretty high for water cooling.

Are you running with hyperthreading on? What are your specific OC settings?

Your water loop is handling the CPU and TWO 570's? That's probably the answer right there...
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
304 (0.12/day)
Likes
96
Location
St. Louis, MO
System Name Alienware 17R4
Processor Intel Core i7-6820HK @ 3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Alienware 17R4
Cooling Laptop Cooling
Memory 32GB Crucial Ballistix LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 1070 GTX (Internal)/ASUS Geforce GTX 1080 Ti (in AMP)
Storage 500GB RD400 RevoDrive m2/ 1TB Cruical BX200
Display(s) ASUS Swift PG279
Case Alienware 17R4
Audio Device(s) Sennhesier GSX1000
Power Supply 330W Dell PSU
Mouse Razer Mamba TE Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
#4
I believe I have solved my issue. I did drop my Vcore down to 1.32V and I picked up another 3 fans for my triple radiator. I now have a push pull running on my triple radiator and I turned the rear exhaust fan into an intake fan.

I had fan grill and filters on all six of my fans for the triple radiator so I thought that might be restrictive.

So after switching the rear fan and removing the grill/filters on the bottom of the radiator, I noticed a nice 15C drop in temperatures. Under IBT I never get above 55C and it is usually around 50C. In games I am sitting at about 45C and my video cards are now at about 40C.

I am guessing I was just really starving my case of intake air and then restricting the airflow with all those filters.

Thanks for the input fellas and your patience.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#5
Sounds like MSI still hasn't fixed the huge amount of negative vdroop with loadline. It shocks me how many review sites don't seem to mention this. I know that the P55GD65 did the same thing with loadline calibration. You would think that voltage regulation would be a priority in a review of a motherboard marketed to overclockers. To make things worse according to my DMM the vcore was actually a bit higher under load than was listed in cpu-z.

I have one other question, what does vdroop look like without loadline enabled? I know that was also very high with my P55.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,147 (4.40/day)
Likes
5,299
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#6
I expected better. I get the same temps with my frio in push/pull config with the fans around 1300RPM when doing 10 runs of ibt.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
304 (0.12/day)
Likes
96
Location
St. Louis, MO
System Name Alienware 17R4
Processor Intel Core i7-6820HK @ 3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Alienware 17R4
Cooling Laptop Cooling
Memory 32GB Crucial Ballistix LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia Geforce 1070 GTX (Internal)/ASUS Geforce GTX 1080 Ti (in AMP)
Storage 500GB RD400 RevoDrive m2/ 1TB Cruical BX200
Display(s) ASUS Swift PG279
Case Alienware 17R4
Audio Device(s) Sennhesier GSX1000
Power Supply 330W Dell PSU
Mouse Razer Mamba TE Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
#7
When you are talking about Vdroop and loadline calibration, what exactly is that? I see options for Vdroop in my BIOS but I have never seen it before so I do not know what that means. I leave it on auto.

Could you elaborate for me please??

I know having 2 570s in a single loop with the CPU will put some extra heat on the CPU now. Had to do it again, I would've done two separate loops.

I think I keep everything pretty cool though all things considered. I love not having the noise of my GPUs roaring in my room.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
907 (0.29/day)
Likes
85
Processor i5 3570k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5h
Cooling XSPC Raystrom
Memory 4x4GB DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) 7950 crossfire
Storage a few
Display(s) 27" Catleap
Case Xigmatek Elysium
Audio Device(s) Xonar STX
Power Supply Seasonic X1050
Software Windows 7 X64
#8
I'm no electrical engineer so bear with me. Vdroop is as per Intel spec is when the core voltage going to the cpu falls a bit under load, normally 0.08v from idle to load. Motherboard manufacturers have a way around vdroop. With Asus and Gigabyte it is called loadline calibration. MSI calls it vdroop control, iirc. It is supposed to reduce or eliminate the amount of vdroop. With my current board there are different options. Anandtech has a good explanation of loadline calibration. There are downsides to loadline, I try not to use it. You shouldn't need it unless you are shooting for high clocks anyways.

What my MSI P55GD65 and what your current motherboard does is instead of keeping core voltage the same it raises vcore when under load which is not good. That should cause more overshoot and since you also probably need the idle vcore under lower loads to stay stable the higher vcore that you don't need under load will just draw more power and unnecessarily heat up your cpu.

To make things worse with my P55 normal vdroop was also higher than I saw with my Gigabyte P55. Both issues were mentioned in the bit-tech review. I don't know how some sites seem to miss stuff like this, [H] for example.