• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking the PCI Express bus on NForce 4 chipset

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#1
I have a DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra board and a 8800GTS 512 graphics card. The Graphics card is PCI Express 2.0 but the motherboard isn't. The bios indicates clocks possible from 100 to 145 mhz. I have upped my setting there from 100 to 120. I know that overclocking the PCI-X becare standardized from the NForce 590 series and up, but what should I expect from my DFI board? At 120, I noticed the PWMIC and NF4 chipset is about 2 degrees hotter than before, standing at 56 and 54 respectively.

Any ideas and comments welcome.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,007 (3.99/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#2
Whenever I overclock, I really don't change the PCI express slot until it is needed. Needed is whenever the picture of windows, or your os, is screwy once you get in there..
Also, I won't go above 115 at the most... I don't oc it more then 110 myself. I've heard that on some mobo's at and after 120 you can start to lose your South bridge or display...
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#3
I found personally that the PCI express clocks did very little to help until 3.0GHz or better was needed to be stable. I saw no ill effects from doing so, but it can go too high as Cold Storm mentioned above!

Also keep an eye on that PWM temp. I had found at around 60*C stability was lost.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,580 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,194
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#4
I went to 125MHz before. It worked for a while, then I got dator corruption. I wouldn't go any higher than 110 myself. I like to stay at 103.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,007 (3.99/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#5
I found personally that the PCI express clocks did very little to help until 3.0GHz or better was needed to be stable. I saw no ill effects from doing so, but it can go too high as Cold Storm mentioned above!
Yeah, your right there my friend :toast:. There really isn't any change in your display till you go higher then say 40% oc.. Then you see the difference in speed and so forth. I'd say the last thing to ever change when your ocing is that.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Yeah, your right there my friend :toast:. There really isn't any change in your display till you go higher then say 40% oc.. Then you see the difference in speed and so forth. I'd say the last thing to ever change when your ocing is that.
Well I remember in my early OCing days, I used Ntune to tweak my rig once. It sets the PCIe at 117 IIRC on most of the NF4 mobo's, altho I dont know why?!?!
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,007 (3.99/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#7
Well I remember in my early OCing days, I used Ntune to tweak my rig once. It sets the PCIe at 117 IIRC on most of the NF4 mobo's, altho I dont know why?!?!
I've also seen with my asus board, I tried the Tweaker... it just for some reason didn't like to use the most extreme oc.. but if you went into bios, and tweaked it a little, you where able to fix it to boot.. But it was the same for me. PCIe that was crazy numbers
 

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#8
So it really affects the southbridge then if I overclock the PCI-E lines? Because, I'm thinking, I have a RAID0 setup using the Nforce RAID. So if the overclock is too much to handle, then I could have RAID issues??? :(
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,724 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,497
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
It will drop a HDD on boot most likely causing a boot error. Usually dropping the PCIe speed will bring it back, but there is a chance of corruption, leading to a need to rewrite the OS!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,467 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,138
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#10
Indeed, plus it won't bring enough performance gain to really matter. It's been found that slightly overclocking the pci-e bus with dual gpu cards helps with performance. 120 really is too much and at that speed can deffinitely lead to HDD and raid problems.
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#11
Back in 2006 I had a DFI nF4 LP Ultra and I used to bump the PCIe bus upto around 160MHz when benching graphics. It did allow a higher video card OC - my Radeon X800 went from 615MHz to 660MHz after bump in PCIe. I didn't have any HDD problems.
So it really affects the southbridge then if I overclock the PCI-E lines
Since HDD/RAID controller is in the nF4 chipset (southbridge) and not some chip connected to it, there's a lower risk in OC'ing the PCIe. Essentially, on nF4 AMD chipsets PCIe freq only affects devices in PCIe slots and things connected to the SB via PCIe lanes (NICs, Realtek HD audio). HDD controller will be none the wiser about PCIe clock rate.
But I wouldn't recommend to go overboard with it...
:)


PS.
_33,
Hmm... How come we haven't seen you for the past year? Where have you been?
:)
 
Last edited:

_33

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2006
Messages
1,248 (0.29/day)
Likes
31
Location
Quebec
System Name BEAST
Processor Intel Core i7 920 C0 Quad Core Processor LGA1366 2.66GHZ Bloomfield 8MB LGA batch 3844A509
Motherboard ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 X58 ATX LGA1366 DDR3
Cooling CoolIt ECO A.L.C. 120mm radiator
Memory G.SKILL F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI PC3-12800 6GB 3X2GB DDR3-1600 CL8-8-8-21
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon HD 4890 1GB 850MHZ 1GB 3.9GHZ GDDR5 PCI-E 2XDVI HDTV
Storage SAMSUNG SPINPOINT F1 750GB X 2, WD2500KS 250GB, WD15EARS 1.5TB, WD20EARS 2.0TB
Display(s) LG W2361V-PF Monitors 23” Widescreen LCD Monitor (23.0” diagonal)
Case Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 600W Power Supply ATX V2.2 20/24PIN EPS12V Qfan 140MM Fan Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Pro 64bit
#12
Back in 2006 I had a DFI nF4 LP Ultra and I used to bump the PCIe bus upto around 160MHz when benching graphics. It did allow a higher video card OC - my Radeon X800 went from 615MHz to 660MHz after bump in PCIe. I didn't have any HDD problems.
Since HDD/RAID controller is in the nF4 chipset (southbridge) and not some chip connected to it, there's a lower risk in OC'ing the PCIe. Essentially, on nF4 AMD chipsets PCIe freq only affects devices in PCIe slots and things connected to the SB via PCIe lanes (NICs, Realtek HD audio). HDD controller will be none the wiser about PCIe clock rate.
But I wouldn't recommend to go overboard with it...
:)


PS.
_33,
Hmm... How come we haven't seen you for the past year? Where have you been?
:)
160 for the PCI-E ??? Are you sure because on mine it only goes up to 145 on the BIOS. Unless you had a special one!?

Yes it's me, but I haven't been around because I wasn't much into tweaking my PC at some time. But I am still interested. Plus, INTEL gave a kick in the nuts of AMD with the C2D, and since I didn't have a C2D, I wasn't too thrilled about AMD either... Anyhow, I'm glad to step foot in TECHPOWERUP once more :p
 
Joined
May 6, 2005
Messages
2,786 (0.60/day)
Likes
435
Location
Tre, Suomi Finland
Processor i7 4770K Haswell, watercooled
Motherboard Asus Z87-C2 Maximus VI Formula
Cooling Fuzion V1, MCW60/R2, DDC1/DDCT-01s top, PA120.3, EK200, 3× D12SL-12, liquid metal TIM
Memory 2× 8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical LP DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) between GPUs
Storage Samsung 840Pro 256@178GB + 4× WD Red 2TB in RAID10 + LaCie Blade Runner 4TB
Display(s) HP ZR30w 30" 2560×1600 (WQXGA) H2-IPS
Case Lian Li PC-A16B
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech PM MX / Contour RollerMouse Red+
Keyboard Logitech diNovo Edge / Logitech Elite Keyboard from 2006
Software W10 x64
Benchmark Scores yes
#13
_33,
Yup. I'm sure.
Maybe it depends on BIOS revision?