• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Overclocking X2 comparisons

Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
631 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Media PC
Processor Intel Core-i5 4460
Motherboard Asus H97i plus
Cooling Noctua LH-9i with upgraded NF-A9, x2 Noctua NF-F12
Memory 8GB x2 Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz kit
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Super clocked GTX970 itx
Storage 1TB western digital black 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung 55" Plasma
Case Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Onboard DSP, sound forwarded to Onkyo receiver in 2.1 mode
Power Supply Fractal Design 430w itx PSU
Mouse Logitech Wireless gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wireless, Xbox One S controller
Software Windows 10 pro
#1
just wondering what kind of clocks people are getting on A64 X2 with air cooling! specifically people with 4200+ and similar system specs as myself. What kind of voltages are you using, HTT multiplier settings? Gimme lots of specifics or if you could, refer me to a site that has these.
 

Katana

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Amd Athlon 4200+ X2@2706Mhz 1.53v
Motherboard Dfi Lanparty NF4 Ultra
Cooling Gigabyte 3D
Memory 1Gb Kingston DDR 400
Video Card(s) Powercolor X1800XT
Storage 2 X WD740 Raptors In Raid 0
Display(s) Hyundai Imagequest L72D+
Case Thermaltake Tsunami
Power Supply Akasa Paxpower 460w
Software Winxp Pro Sp2
#2
Hya AsphyxiA

4200+ running at 2706mhz@1.536 volts:D ...no probs here
temps around 28c idle 45c load...
could prob push further but im waitng till i upgrade my crappy memory:banghead:
for some nice gskill:D ..

hope this helps

Katana
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Saskatoon, SK
Processor FX-8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme lapped & shimmed
Memory Patriot Viper Extreme 8GB DDR3-1866 9-11-9-27 1.65V
Video Card(s) MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 6970 875/1375
Storage Crucial M4 0309 64GB
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows [8] Developer Preview
#3
I have a 4400+ that does 2500MHz (250x10) at 1.45V (max voltage allowed by A8N-SLI Premium with latest BIOS) with the XP-120 and a really slow fan, 55-60C max load. One core is stable at higher overclocks like 2600MHz but the one core simply will not go past 2500 and pass OCCT and dual Prime95.
 

zOaib

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
977 (0.22/day)
Likes
32
Location
FL
System Name BabaJinn's U.F.O
Processor Intel Core i7 975 Extreme @ 3.8 ghz (for now)
Motherboard Asus Rampage Xtreme II X58
Cooling ZALMAN 9900 CPU COOLER Led
Memory 12GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers (Blue Led) 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5 GB DDR5 384-BIT
Storage 2 x WD Velociraptor 10k rpm 300GB sata + 2x 500GB WD Caviar Sata + 320 GB Seagate Barracuda Sata
Display(s) DELL U2711 27inch Goodness @ 2560 x 1440
Case Mountain-Mods U2-UFO Custom Case (Made in USA)
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi MB (Creative)
Power Supply ZALMAN 1000W PSU MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (Retail Version)
#4
Poisonsnak said:
I have a 4400+ that does 2500MHz (250x10) at 1.45V (max voltage allowed by A8N-SLI Premium with latest BIOS) with the XP-120 and a really slow fan, 55-60C max load. One core is stable at higher overclocks like 2600MHz but the one core simply will not go past 2500 and pass OCCT and dual Prime95.

my next cpu will be a 4400 , give ems pecs on how your games a re running , and can u really burn a dvd and play onlien games at the same time ??? :D
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
362 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
Location
Saskatoon, SK
Processor FX-8150
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme lapped & shimmed
Memory Patriot Viper Extreme 8GB DDR3-1866 9-11-9-27 1.65V
Video Card(s) MSI 6950 2GB Twin Frozr II @ 6970 875/1375
Storage Crucial M4 0309 64GB
Display(s) Dell U2410
Case Corsair 650D
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX750
Software Windows [8] Developer Preview
#5
Well, I went from a 3000+ to a 4400+ with an X850XT-PE helping both CPUs out and I have to say the X850 pretty much does all the work because my Doom 3 / BF2 framerates did not really improve much after the switch. Unfortunately I don't have any hard numbers but my playable setting of 1280x1024 with 2xAA did not change after I upgraded the CPU.

I just basically bought it because I wanted to go to a 1MB cache CPU and the 4400+ was not much more than the 3700+ and it's 2 of them on one chip! Also in the future more apps will be written with dual core in mind (hopefully).

But yeah it multi-tasks like a dream, my computer is never slow to do anything, games load fast (except BF2 but that's because I only have 1GB of RAM), it boots fast and I just never have to wait for it. It really has spoiled me though because the computers at work with a Sempron 2400+ (socket A) with 512MB of RAM seem really slow by comparison.
 

zOaib

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
977 (0.22/day)
Likes
32
Location
FL
System Name BabaJinn's U.F.O
Processor Intel Core i7 975 Extreme @ 3.8 ghz (for now)
Motherboard Asus Rampage Xtreme II X58
Cooling ZALMAN 9900 CPU COOLER Led
Memory 12GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers (Blue Led) 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5 GB DDR5 384-BIT
Storage 2 x WD Velociraptor 10k rpm 300GB sata + 2x 500GB WD Caviar Sata + 320 GB Seagate Barracuda Sata
Display(s) DELL U2711 27inch Goodness @ 2560 x 1440
Case Mountain-Mods U2-UFO Custom Case (Made in USA)
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi MB (Creative)
Power Supply ZALMAN 1000W PSU MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (Retail Version)
#6
Poisonsnak said:
Well, I went from a 3000+ to a 4400+ with an X850XT-PE helping both CPUs out and I have to say the X850 pretty much does all the work because my Doom 3 / BF2 framerates did not really improve much after the switch. Unfortunately I don't have any hard numbers but my playable setting of 1280x1024 with 2xAA did not change after I upgraded the CPU.

I just basically bought it because I wanted to go to a 1MB cache CPU and the 4400+ was not much more than the 3700+ and it's 2 of them on one chip! Also in the future more apps will be written with dual core in mind (hopefully).

But yeah it multi-tasks like a dream, my computer is never slow to do anything, games load fast (except BF2 but that's because I only have 1GB of RAM), it boots fast and I just never have to wait for it. It really has spoiled me though because the computers at work with a Sempron 2400+ (socket A) with 512MB of RAM seem really slow by comparison.
sweet , i think if u increased your ram , your dual core output would definately increase ! ;)
 

Amdguy

New Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2005
Messages
144 (0.03/day)
Likes
42
Location
Miami, Fl
Processor Phenom II 940
Motherboard DFI 790FX
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Gskill DDR 2 1066 8 Gigs
Video Card(s) 5870 1 GB
Storage 300 gig veloci raptor, two 2.0 terrabyte hd's (all WD)
Display(s) 1080p LED TV
Case Antec p182
Audio Device(s) X-fi Fatality with Logitec Z-5500 Digital Speakers
Power Supply Silverstone 750
Software Windows 7 Signature Edition
#7
I have an x2 with the stock cooler, what do you guys think i could achieve with that ?`
 

Katana

New Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Amd Athlon 4200+ X2@2706Mhz 1.53v
Motherboard Dfi Lanparty NF4 Ultra
Cooling Gigabyte 3D
Memory 1Gb Kingston DDR 400
Video Card(s) Powercolor X1800XT
Storage 2 X WD740 Raptors In Raid 0
Display(s) Hyundai Imagequest L72D+
Case Thermaltake Tsunami
Power Supply Akasa Paxpower 460w
Software Winxp Pro Sp2
#8
Should prob reach 2.5 ish at the very least maybe even 2.6:D
although the 4400 is not the most renowned overclocking chip around,
a few peeps on the dfi-street forums have encountered probs with them...
try n see how far u can overclock with upto 1.55 vcore n post back here...

cya

Katana