• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

OVerclocking

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#1
hey, im new to overclocking and ive spent all week reading about overclocking and keeping safe/stable.

i have been trying to get 4.2Ghz on my 960 but i can never get stable no matter what i do, the cpu allways wants 1.4v+ so i dont even bother with it same with 4.1Ghz.

so i tried 4Ghz, i can get completely stable with 4Ghz with voltages in the 1.36-1.38 (still testing a bit so i could possibly go lower) but my question is



should i do 20x200


or should i do 25x160 - when i do 25x160 i do have to have turbo enabled to get the 25 multiplier though, so should i find a mix where i dont have to use turbo to get 4ghz while keeping a low block and a multiplier above 20?


which one is faster?, i do know that higher block causes more heat
anyone that can help thatd be great :cool:
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#2
May I ask you which temperatures are you reaching?

That'd be better to know to give you an advice ;)

Anyway I'd use the turbo multiplier, just disable power savings and throttling on the multiplier over 80c and you should be fine, going over 200 MHz on BCLK on socket 1366 wasn't that easy.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#3
Don't use Turbo, certainly not to start with as it adds a couple of extra variables you can do without. Always select an odd number multiplier so in your case I would suggest 23x so set BClk at 183, and to start with manually setting your memory divider at 2:8, make sure Uncore is set at twice your memory speed to start with and keep QPI multi on auto. You should easily get 4.2gig, start with 1.4V on VCore and 1.4V on Qpi then ease them down incrementally once you get initial stability, you can then go on to tweak memory etc.

I run 4.3gig 24/7 on a 21x multi with both VCore and Qpi voltages below 1.4V so hopefully unless you have a "dog" you should do at least that.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,121 (1.39/day)
Likes
892
Processor Ci7 5960X
Motherboard RVE
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS 840 with D5
Memory Some random DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage 960 EVO
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Dimastech Bench EasyXL
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Software Win10
#4
I stand corrected then ;) What did turbo add on LGA1366 which I do not remember?

I had an unlocked chip though, all I did was bump the multiplier and voltage.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#5
I stand corrected then ;) What did turbo add on LGA1366 which I do not remember?

I had an unlocked chip though, all I did was bump the multiplier and voltage.
No don't stand corrected, in some circumstances Turbo can improve performance, not just in the obvious single threaded apps but some do perform better with turbo it's just easier when your starting out (IMO) to "test" the potential without it, he can always go back and experiment later.
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,435 (2.31/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#6
Don't use Turbo, certainly not to start with as it adds a couple of extra variables you can do without. Always select an odd number multiplier so in your case I would suggest 23x so set BClk at 183, and to start with manually setting your memory divider at 2:8, make sure Uncore is set at twice your memory speed to start with and keep QPI multi on auto. You should easily get 4.2gig, start with 1.4V on VCore and 1.4V on Qpi then ease them down incrementally once you get initial stability, you can then go on to tweak memory etc.

I run 4.3gig 24/7 on a 21x multi with both VCore and Qpi voltages below 1.4V so hopefully unless you have a "dog" you should do at least that.
Yep - do not use Turbo. As Tatty stated use a odd number multiplier.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.81/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
#7
Going to need a really good cpu cooler to make any use of that overclock. :)
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
734 (0.23/day)
Likes
121
Location
Golden, Colorado
System Name KAREN / EVA / GHOST
Processor Intel Core i7-950 / AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE / Core i5 3570k
Motherboard ASUS TUF Sabertooth X58 / DFI LP DK 790FXB-M2RSH / Asrock z77e-itx
Cooling Thermaltake Frio / Corsair Cooling™ Hydro Series H50 / Corsair Hydro Series H60
Memory Corsair Dominator 6GB DDR3 1600 / Corsair Dominator Quad2X4096-8500C5DF / G.SKILL Ripjaws Serie 1600
Video Card(s) XFX HD6950 CF unlocked /XFX HD5770 CF/ MSI R4890 Cyclone
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60 WD Raptor X WD1500AHFD / Seagate Barracuda /Western Digital 80gb, Toshiba 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer P215H 21.5 Widescreen / Acer S211HL 21.5 / HP 2009F 20inch
Case SILVERSTONE RAVEN RV02-BW / NZXT Phantom /Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) On board / Philips MMS 321 - PC multimedia speakers
Power Supply Ultra X3 ULT40311 1000W / Cosair CMPSU-750TX 750W/ CORSAIR Gaming Series GS700 700W
Software Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit / Windows 7 64 bit
#8
You should try 21X191 = 4030 / QPI 18 = 6908 / Uncore 16 = 3071 / Mem Multi 8 = 1535. The reason why I would use that is because you have all your memory slots filled that alone could be holding your overclock back. You may not be able to get it any higher just cause of your memory.
 
Last edited:

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#9
Okay so I have decided to stick with 4ghz. Don't pay attention my voltage setting in my system spec I'll update that later, got a question though. 20x200

If I have my ram set at 1.660V (1.65 isn't an option) should I have my qpi/vtt half my ram voltage at 1.355V?

Or can I go lower?, I heard about the .5v rule or something like that. Needing to be at least half
I also took out 3 sticks of ram so my over clock should be cooler and easyer
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,202 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,390
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#10
200*20 ftw
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#11
Using 20x200 on my 4ghz i7 930 but as other stated odd multipliers do better in OCing. Its weird that you need so much Vcore for 4Ghz since I only use 1.34-1.36v.

For me as well anything above 4Ghz is unstable, but i got a lower model than yours. Turbo is nice if you get it stable but don't start by having it enabled. Let it disabled and reach higher frequencies, its more important...

I also found my system was only stable if running my DominatorGT ram at v1.665 and I couldnt set it to 2000mhz (for which it is rated) since the 2:10 ratio would freeze my PC, had to keep 2:8 and go for lower CAS and 1T. Still gives 19GB/s so its nice.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#12
Using 20x200 on my 4ghz i7 930 but as other stated odd multipliers do better in OCing. Its weird that you need so much Vcore for 4Ghz since I only use 1.34-1.36v.

For me as well anything above 4Ghz is unstable, but i got a lower model than yours. Turbo is nice if you get it stable but don't start by having it enabled. Let it disabled and reach higher frequencies, its more important...

I also found my system was only stable if running my DominatorGT ram at v1.665 and I couldnt set it to 2000mhz (for which it is rated) since the 2:10 ratio would freeze my PC, had to keep 2:8 and go for lower CAS and 1T. Still gives 19GB/s so its nice.
I would be interested to know all your major bios settings, I have not come across a 930 that will not do more than 4gig unless you have a setting out so to speak, whil;st no doubt there are "dog" 930 CPU's out there, 8 out of 10 OC failures with these chips tend to be Bios settings..... mine is in fact a 930 which runs 4.3gig 24/7 but it took me a lot of tweaking to get it there stable.

Incidentally, the 2:8 memory divider stability thing is fairly commonplace to gigabyte x58 boards.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#13
I would be interested to know all your major bios settings, I have not come across a 930 that will not do more than 4gig unless you have a setting out so to speak, whil;st no doubt there are "dog" 930 CPU's out there, 8 out of 10 OC failures with these chips tend to be Bios settings..... mine is in fact a 930 which runs 4.3gig 24/7 but it took me a lot of tweaking to get it there stable.

Incidentally, the 2:8 memory divider stability thing is fairly commonplace to gigabyte x58 boards.
Whilst I had 3.6Ghz manual OC on an older X58-UD5 board, on my current X58A-OC I initially used the auto-4Ghz OC of the mobo, noted down the BIOS options, then set manual OC and slightly decreased voltages and until I got BSOD while stability testing. Before that I tried going higher than 4Ghz but never managed to, though I always kept 200blck and tried 21+ multi. Currently the CPU doesnt go above 73c in Prime95 with H100 and low speed fans, so its all ok. As you understand I didnt spend more than a day on it and I'm fine like that. Also, thanks for letting me know the 2:10+ ratio issue is a Gigabyte thing, I thought my RAM was just not a good sample...

Update: My current BIOS stats:
-LLC Level 2
-Vcore 1.35v (I am using only 1 out of two 8pin EPS connectors for power on the cpu)
-QPI/VTT 1.38v
-CPU PLL 1.86v
-QPI PLL 1.2v
-DRAM 1.66v (and not 1.665 as I said in my previous post)
-other voltage settings on Auto
-200 blck, 20multiplier
-uncore ratio x16
-ram SPD = 8
-ram 1600mhz 7-7-7-21-1T (quick settings)
-turbo enabled
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#14
Have you simply tried raising your multi to 21x, raise VCore and Qpi to 1.4V, leave ram as is to start with and test when/if it boots, assuming that your x16 uncore gives you the exact double memory speed. That should give you 4.22gig and fairly similar to my settings.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2012
Messages
751 (0.35/day)
Likes
218
System Name My PC
Processor i7 4790k @4.4ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte z97m-d3h
Cooling Corsair H105
Memory 4x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133-9-11-11-31-1T
Video Card(s) GTX970 Stric oc
Storage Samsung 840Pro 512GB
Display(s) Asus ROG SWIFT
Case Lian Li 359
Audio Device(s) Denon DA-300USB / Denon AH-D5000
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win10 64-bit home
#15
just as the OP, I dont want to go at 1.4v Vcore or more... I'm fine at 1.35v. Plus my mobo's temps go near 60c and I dont know what is the limit for that. Raising the QPI = mobo higher temps, right?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#16
just as the OP, I dont want to go at 1.4v Vcore or more... I'm fine at 1.35v. Plus my mobo's temps go near 60c and I dont know what is the limit for that. Raising the QPI = mobo higher temps, right?
I understand the voltage thing totally, mine at 4.2Gig runs under load at 1.36V (but I may have got lucky), as for temps..... 90C is OK with these, 60 or 70 is not even breaking them into a sweat, although I don't ever hit 70C under full load at those speeds...... when you say Mobo temps what specifically do you mean?
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#17
I understand the voltage thing totally, mine at 4.2Gig runs under load at 1.36V (but I may have got lucky), as for temps..... 90C is OK with these, 60 or 70 is not even breaking them into a sweat, although I don't ever hit 70C under full load at those speeds...... when you say Mobo temps what specifically do you mean?
4.3Ghz? whatr your temps on what cooler?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#18
4.3Ghz? whatr your temps on what cooler?
The newer Corsair H80i water.... (about the same performance as the previous generation H100) and in normal gaming use I don't go higher than 70's C, if I use Intel burn test it can hit about 82C. That is with a "balanced" fan setting which is pretty quiet, If I were to set it on "performance" I doubt I would even hit 70C.
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#19
The newer Corsair H80i water.... (about the same performance as the previous generation H100) and in normal gaming use I don't go higher than 70's C, if I use Intel burn test it can hit about 82C. That is with a "balanced" fan setting which is pretty quiet, If I were to set it on "performance" I doubt I would even hit 70C.
any power saving features? and are you using hyper threading?

im comparing my cooling and overclock heat
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#20

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#21
damn. 1366 must run very hot than, i see other platforms overclock much higher than me with lower voltages and some with lower idle
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#22
damn. 1366 must run very hot than, i see other platforms overclock much higher than me with lower voltages and some with lower idle
lol, you only need to look as far as 135W TDP and that should give you some indication! Overclock to 4gig and your probably pushing out 200W of heat, all that coupled with Hyperthreadding and BClk overclocking (as opposed to multi's) and you have a recipe for heat :D
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#23
haha yeah, man if you know a way of getting a higher multi and lower BCLK while keeping 1600Mhz or within 1600Mhz ill totally go for the higher multi.


but like i said, i can use the max multi of 25 with BCLK of 160 but the only way x25 will stick is with turbo enabled

EDIT: i lowerd to 24x167, ram is at 1670
 
Last edited:

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,764 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,033
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#24
Use 23x, keep to odd numbers for long term stability, just overclock more to give you the ram speed!
 

Bunchies

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2012
Messages
133 (0.06/day)
Likes
5
System Name Bunchies
Processor Intel i7-960 D0 @4Ghz (1.368v in bios)
Motherboard Gigabyte G1. Guerrilla ,On the latest beta bios
Cooling Corsair H60 (2013), Prolimatech Pro-Pk1 Thermel
Memory Kingston HyperX Blu (3x4GB) = 12GB @ 1400Mhz 8-8-8-22
Video Card(s) Evga Gtx 660 Ti 2Gb
Storage 1 Ocz Agility 3 Sata III SSD , 2x1 1TB Hardrive's , 1 80GB Hardrive
Display(s) 23.5" Lg Flatron E2341
Case Thermaltake V3 Black Edition Mid Tower (Moded)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound Chip, X-Fi Xtreme Fidelity and EAX 5.0
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 700W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#25
okay, i bumped it to 23x175 even though the ram is at 1400mhz i may just have to deal with that because if i overclock anymore i think i may have some major heat issues

EDIT: i dont think the 200mhz would hurt performance
 
Last edited: